Post University Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Post University Director Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Post University has become my second family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was a student at Post before I started to work for them. It was their positive attitude and the amount of support I received that made me decide to apply to work for them. I just thought, "Wow! If this is how they treat their students, how in the world do they treat their employees!" I have been at Post for about three years and I always feel like my voice is heard. The executive team encourages employees to think of new and innovative ways to make Post even better! I feel blessed to be part of such a great organization that does not compromise their values and continues to make it personal each and every day for both students and employees. I never feel like I have to choose between my career and my family because Post University makes me feel like I can truly have it all!

    Cons

    I have been here for about three years and still have not found a con!

    Continue reading
    Post University2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Learning &/or Retention ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Online courses , structure, content - among the best out there.

    Cons

    Teaching online: now let’s be real Leadership. Just tell Instructors “do whatever you can to engage and retain some students, regardless of learning. Failing students who don’t deserve to pass a course and meet outcomes doesn’t pay our salaries. Retaining students and the numbers do.” Mediocrity reigns supreme.

    Continue reading
    Post University2019-08-07

    Post University Response

    August 9, 2019Associate Experience

    We’re so glad to hear that you find the courses you instruct to be of such high quality. We pride ourselves on delivering courses and content that are current and relevant so that our students are prepared for the challenges faced by a 21st-century workforce. You are correct in that we are laser-focused on retention because we are committed to the success of all students who attend Post University. We take this commitment seriously and we expect all associates, including those who are instructing our courses, to do all they can to inspire, motivate, and support students in achieving their goals – and this is happening daily in our physical and online classrooms. Many of our students are adult learners and they have competing priorities, often without the personal support of family and friends that - something that is enjoyed by a recent high school graduate attending a campus-based program. We need to do all we can to make it known that we care about our students, are available to support them when they experience challenges and are with them every step of the way. We don’t, however, pass students for the sake of passing them. All courses require associate faculty to complete rubrics as part of the process when assessing student work. Those rubrics are designed to ensure students are awarded points based on the level they’ve mastered the expected learning outcomes.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (11)

    "How NOT to Succeed in Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you keep your head down, mouth shut and do your job you will not be treated with hostility and negativity. You get a paycheck every two weeks As a Director I am able to protect my team from the Executive Leadership Team and their nonsense

    Cons

    Look, this place is a hot mess. I have been here for years and at one time the leadership actually cared about the students and their success. The new team only cares about the bottom line and has even encouraged some shady practices to keep numbers up. Their expectations are unreal, their behavior is borderline abusive and 100% hostile when they don't get the results they want. This university has become a numbers game because they were hired to bring in a large profit in order to sell the business. The Executive Team and the investors simply want to make money and will do so at any expense. I have seen many high-level Directors leave or be forced out because they won't "play the money game" and actually care about students. Don't be fooled. This is a business to the Executive Team and far from an educational institution. Don't believe me? Check out some of the current lawsuits involving employees who were forced out or fired for standing up for what is right. Google it. I would not work here unless you were desperate. Almost everyone I know is looking for a new job elsewhere... It's really sad because I used to love my job and now I just want out.

    Continue reading
    Post University2019-07-11

    Post University Response

    August 1, 2019Associate Experience

    We are deeply concerned about the accusations you make in your review of Post University. The entire Executive Team is fully committed to creating a uniquely personal and memorable experience for our students that leaves them feeling happy and proud – this is the foundation of our strategic plan. All of the decisions, investments and improvements at Post are made with our students in mind. It saddens us to think that after countless examples to the contrary, one of our directors is still harboring such negative thoughts and opinions. Our commitment to regulatory excellence and student success is the reason we have high expectations. While we will not comment on any active lawsuit in a public forum, we are compelled to clarify that your statement regarding encouraging ‘shady practices’ is completely unfounded. We hold our policies and actions above the regulatory standards as evidenced by recent feedback from our accrediting bodies. Based on your allegation of “borderline abusive” behavior it is clear that you are extremely upset and something happened either recently and/or overtime to cause this upset. As a director, you are aware that we have a zero-tolerance policy for any conduct that is counterproductive to the culture in which we pride ourselves. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss what happened and have an opportunity to rectify the situation, but we need you to open the door for these conversations to occur. We strongly encourage you to reach out and speak with a member of the Associate Experience team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good place to start out, not a life-long career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residence Hall Director in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent fringe benefits; cell phone/laundry stipend, no rent/utilities, lots of opportunities for growth and development

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, comparatively low salary, upper management too concerned with bottom line

    Continue reading
    Post University2017-11-16

    Post University Response

    November 28, 2017Marketing

    Many thanks for taking the time to submit a Glassdoor.com review. Of course, we are always happy to hear what former associates have enjoyed about their Post Experience, and are glad to learn you saw the environment as one which offered opportunities for growth and development. As a former Residence Hall Director, you experienced one of the most challenging work environments found at Post. It is tough to find the correct work/life balance when you are living where you work. If you have any specific ideas as to how we might improve that situation for future Residence Directors, please share your ideas with us at AssociateExperience@post.edu. Regarding management’s concern with “the bottom line,” this is an instance where our perspective and point of view vary. Post’s Leadership team has an obligation to manage our finances with great integrity while also re-investing back into the university to improve the student experience. We wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (16)

    "Dont believe the reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Director in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Post University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No pros to add at this time.

    Cons

    As a former manager, I have sat in countless HR meetings where the VP and CEO told us to have our staff write positive reviews on this site. Plenty of times, we were told to do it during company time. They are desperate to fluff up their terrible portrayal in the education market as a school and an employer. If your looking for work or an education, your better off going elsewhere. Don't let the fake positive reviews fool you. This place looks bad on a resume for work and a degree.

    Post University2017-09-13

    Post University Response

    October 3, 2017Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. All reviews from Glassdoor.com are shared with Post’s leadership. While your comment regarding us asking associates to share their experience working at Post is correct, it seems you completely missed the point of why we ask. The reason for these requests is to hear and learn from our associates. Reviews on social media are just one way we gauge the progress of the cultural transformation at Post University. Without associate feedback, we are working in a vacuum. Reviews and comments are shared with University leaders as they are received, and our associates have come to trust that Post reads and replies to their comments and questions. Honestly, we don’t want to hear fluff. One of our core behaviors is ‘Straight Talk’ and we are genuinely interested in what our associates have to say, particularly when they have ideas for how we could be better. The process of seeking feedback builds great trust, and we will not apologize for continuing to ask for feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments here.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "All talk - they love to recreate history"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    During my 20 years I was able to do many innovative things like create the first online degrees in undergraduate and graduate courses.

    Cons

    The first time off I took in the past 10 years was a week to bury my father. When I came back they did not even let me sit at my desk I was called in and let go. I did not even get a severance package. The politics over ride any sense of right and wrong. This is the kind of people they have running that institution and working there - if it sounds good to you, then go for it.

    Continue reading
    Post University2017-04-22

    Post University Response

    May 10, 2017Marketing

    It is certainly upsetting to read your review, which chronicles what must have been a very difficult time in your life. While we certainly cannot go back and undo the past, we can express our apologies for the way in which your unique situation was managed…and learn from it moving forward. We also want you to know that “the kind of people…running the institution” you mention is changing in many ways. While some new managers and directors have infused the university with new energy and purpose, leaders and associates in all areas are embracing a more collaborative and personal approach to how we work together and communicate. We invite you to reach out again via email (humanrec@post.edu) if you would like to share any further thoughts on your experience.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "An Absolute Satan!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health benefits, and paid-time off.

    Cons

    Post is a For-Profit institution and lives up to the stigma. Executive management are buffoons. The pay is laughable. They promise raises constantly but never follow through. They didn't turn a profit in 2015 and are scrambling to save the school. No job security. Outdated systems and procedures. Poor resources for employees to do their jobs well.

    Continue reading
    Post University2016-10-28
  8. "Great Place to Start Your Career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residence Director in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get the opportunity to get your hands into as many different aspects of higher education as you could imagine. There are friendly faces wherever you go. The president is an amazing human being and I am honored to work for him. Plenty of sick time/PTO. Tons of one-on-one student interaction on main campus.

    Cons

    Being a for-profit institution, it's all about the numbers. Some, especially those in upper management, tend to forget about the importance of the individual student and focus more on the total number, thus sacrificing the quality of time for those students already present at the university.

    Continue reading
    Post University2014-05-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews