Post University "module" Reviews | Glassdoor

Post University Employee Reviews about "module"

Updated May 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I've never felt that way in a work environment before(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay with no raise in 5 years with increasing demands(in 6 reviews)

  • "of students you enroll each two-month module)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "module"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Admissions counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • The people, Admissions are some of the hardest working people, willing to log in/text/email with students all hours of the day and weekend, on days off and holidays, on and off the clock. • Benefits are decent, healthcare is good but a bit expensive. 401K (would appreciate a better match though) • PTO • Flexibility of your schedule • Attempting to move in the right direction

    Cons

    • High volume call center. • Only concerned with the bottom line, not the student. • Sales mentality, given daily, weekly and monthly goals for applications and approvals. Under pressure to hit a 10 student per module goal. • PTO, even if you take a week or two off your goal does not change, having a week off is not an excuse for falling short on 10 students. • Constantly increasing the work load, work has doubled if not triple since starting and no sign of increase in pay or benefits. • New hires earn more than staff who has been loyal and committed to Post for years. • Lack of mobility. Too much security for management, Admissions is a revolving door due to performance but once you are in management you are safe. • Strong culture of nepotism in management.

    Continue reading
    Post University2018-05-12
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Undergrad Admissions Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are very nice, good pay if you have a Bachelors degree.

    Cons

    The undergrad admissions department is very unprofessional, from the moment you begin "training" to working on the team the "trainer" deems you appropriate for. The assistant directors, who are basically team managers, show favoritism to certain people and treat others unfairly if for some reason they do not like you. Feeling scared for your job due to being able to sell a degree program or not is a daily occurqnce for many admissions counselors. The managers claim they are helping you to be better sales people but they only truly help those they are friends with. This is a sales job and if you think you are actually counseling people on earning a degree, do not work here. Sales is at the core of this job and if you cannot make sales goals by getting people who can't afford college to attend even for one module then this is not a position you will enjoy. Turn over is high. Unprofessionalism is very high.

    Continue reading
    Post University2017-07-12

    Post University Response

    July 17, 2017Marketing

    Thank you for posting your review to our Glassdoor page. As an organization which thrives on constant improvement, we are grateful for the chance to read and react to the comments of our former employees. There are great strides being taken to instill all Post Associates with a new pride in what they do on a day to day basis, as they help guide students and potential students through their educational choices. The past management tone, as you describe it, certainly would not be acceptable today. Post University is taking steps to train and educate managers and associates on the most professional ways to interact and communicate. Professional development and training is the key to success here, and Post is moving forward with great programs to be on the cutting edge of professionalism in the workplace. If you would like to provide any further input, please do not hesitate to reach out via email to humanrec@post.edu. We have many associates who have found the right balance necessary to counsel students successfully toward their educational goals, and we’d love to hear more about what you learned during your time with us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Don't Stay Too Long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, good people.

    Cons

    If you like being a glorified con artist, then welcome, this is the perfect job for you! Have you ever wanted to convince someone that they can go to school, get a job, and get paid 80k a year, all while they struggled to graduate high school and you know deep down inside that they have absolutely no chance of graduating, but yet you enroll them anyway because you need to hit a certain number? Then welcome, this might be the prefect place for you. Besides enrolling people that have little to no chance of graduating, you annoy the crap out of people by calling them multiple times a day. Management has little to no clue what actually happens on the floor. AD's live in a bubble that allows them to believe that it is totally possible to get 10 students or more each module when the fact of the matter is, you cannot simply convince someone that they should go to school, let alone pick up their phone to have an hour long conversation as to why they should. If AD's did the admissions counselor's job for a week, they would realize how far fetched their goals are. Also on a side note, might we all ask why we were prompted to hide all things in our office pertaining to goals or numbers before the accrediting body came to inspect? If that doesn't scream sketchy, then I really don't know what does. Oh, and while we add fuel to the fire, can we just address the shuttle situation. I can honestly understand that there is not enough parking at the building, which is fine and dandy, but there is no reason why I should have to show up to the parking lot 30 minutes early just to ensure that I won't be late to work. There should be a shuttle (or two) that is employee use only. If not, then management cannot get mad if employees are late.

    Continue reading
    Post University2017-04-11

    Post University Response

    April 17, 2017Marketing

    Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Post University. Positive and negative reviews are always helpful, as we listen to all feedback and share each and every review with management to ensure the highest level of understanding and continuous improvement. As in all positions, we understand that there are challenging tasks within the Admissions Office. While many of our Associates enjoy the challenges of the Admissions Office and find it enriching work as they help students achieve their educational goals, we do understand that the role is not for everyone. Since your experience seems to differ from others, we would like to better understand your perspective, particularly regarding the lack of understanding of management in regards to what happens “on the floor”. I invite you to share further thoughts on the topic so we may gain additional insights. Feel free to continue the conversation by emailing our Associate Experience Office at humanrec@post.edu. We also understand that due to our growth, parking remains a challenge. Please know that our Facilities team is working on this from a number of angles. We will share your thoughts with them in regards to the shuttle service as they strive to create an extraordinary experience for all associates and students at Post. The Post University Associate Experience Office

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (22)

    "A Long Review, but Worth the Read"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OEI Admissions Counselor in Middlebury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay for an entry-level job - Great benefits for an entry-level job - Wonderful, hardworking co-workers - Competitive environment (can be fun) - I enjoyed my Human Resources class

    Cons

    - Immature, unprofessional management - Stressful like you can't imagine - Employee retention rate is unbelievably low, through firing and quitting - Online Admissions Counseling involves working mostly with students in their 40's-60's. It can be highly rewarding, but it is mostly difficult, sad and frustrating. - Your performance is entirely based on your sales (# of students you enroll each two-month module). If you do not hit the unrealistic goal, you may be at risk of losing your job. You are expected to say anything to the student in order to get them to enroll. - Primarily a call center job. Expected to make at least 85-100 calls each day, on top of emailing and harassing the same students over and over again. - Expected to work extra and work after the day has ended

    Continue reading
    Post University2017-01-23

    Post University Response

    February 17, 2017Chief Associate Experience Officer

    Thank you for the sharing these detailed thoughts with Post University management. Please know they are being read, reviewed, and discussed. The opinions of our associates (employees), past and present, are valued and appreciated. Post University, a strong advocate of lifelong learning, believes in constant improvement and feedback is a key component to that process. It is encouraging to read the positive aspects of your experience with us, and, as always, more challenging to read the negative. Both, however, are important for us to explore and understand. The newly structured Associate Experience team at the University is working to make the associate experience extraordinary. We are updating systems, training and coaching Post leaders on best practices for engaging and coaching associates. In addition, we are building new internal relationships aimed at fostering a culture of more frequent and transparent communication. This cultural transformation is already underway, and we continue to gather feedback to help guide the organization to achieve our imagined future. We invite you to reach out to us directly, if you’d care to share any additional information or discuss your experience further. You may email us at humanrec@post.edu at any time. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Thumbs Down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Post University

    Pros

    Good time off and benefits.

    Cons

    Terrible place to work. At first, you think the job is great. After a few months, the job becomes redundant and dull. It is based solely on numbers and not on accepting students who are qualified. If you don't hit your numbers for the module, your job will be on the line. The facilities are disgusting. Please, save your self some time and work for an actual company who cares about their employees and not about numbers.

    Continue reading
    Post University2016-04-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Admissions Counselor: Call Center Sales and knowingly signing up unqualified students to meet sales goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I met and worked with are some of the best friends I've had. Once a year you get free ice cream.

    Cons

    The University's main source of income is federal financial aid on overpriced credit costs for their online classes. This encourages a business model that focuses less on graduation rate and more on keeping anyone they can in their classes as long as possible and constantly recruiting more students with no screening process. In a meeting with the CEO, the question of the high price was raised. The answer was (paraphrased) "Our business model is like that of Ferrari. By having a high cost, we add perceived value to the education." The work environment for Admissions Counselors is fear-driven and based on raw sales numbers. 90+% of the leads you call don't know how you got their info and aren't looking to go to school. You are encouraged to take advantage of underqualified students and avoid talking about tuition costs/loans. The only important metrics are how many people with a pulse log into a class at the beginning of each module. No SAT or testing requirements. A 2.0 GPA requirement for the students that can be overturned with a "writing sample" of 1 page which is not seriously scrutinized or reviewed. Samples have passed with no punctuation or with obvious plagiarism. One such sample had to be re-sent to the writing center because of the obvious plagiarism that they ignored. Actual situations that happened in one module. (THESE ARE VERY COMMON) A student who was mentally disabled, but technically would have been eligible enough to push through the enrollment process. She couldn’t use her own email without tech-support level step-by-step guidance but I was rewarded for walking her through the Application process by having that one extra student number. Ultimately closed her file on my own so I could sleep at night. A student who was 20 years old and not covered by financial aid. She would have had out of pocket payments on top of her loans even for part time classes. She had no idea of those details of her financial aid, but was still approved for registration. I could easily have talked her into logging in and being in debt for something she could not complete or pay for. This would have also added a number to my registrations and Log-ins. A student with a family who was working 60+ hours a week with no internet or computer. Was instructed to tell them they could go to the library once a week to work on their classes and to help them set up an email address. They would definitely have failed after the first class as assignments often require more than one login per week. Many more.

    Continue reading
    Post University2015-11-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews