Post University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Post University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I've never felt that way in a work environment before(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay with no raise in 5 years with increasing demands(in 6 reviews)

  • "of students you enroll each two-month module)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I love working at Post University!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Post University full-time

    Pros

    1. Post associates make everyone feel like equals, no matter what position you have 2. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. It's an such an easy environment to make friends 3. My bosses and people higher up go out of their way to make my experience at Post a positive one. They truly care about me and value me as a colleague. 4. My opinions are valued and I am trusted with my work. I've never felt that way in a work environment before. 5. Post makes me feel important.

    Cons

    I truly don't have any cons - I love my job at Post :)

    Post University2019-06-21

    Post University Response

    September 10, 2019Associate Experience

    We’re so happy to hear that you are having an extraordinary experience as a Post associate. We work hard to create a culture based on exceptional service to our students, respect, teamwork and fun and that starts with our leadership. Our associates often tell us that what makes Post truly special is the bonds they form with their colleagues in pursuit of changing lives for countless students. We’re glad you are experiencing this too.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Integrity is not a welcome quality at Post University! Be careful... it can get you fired!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits, however, when you want to take time off you're made to feel guilty. They want to know how you're going to reach your non-negotiable numbers.

    Cons

    Where do I begin! I can probably go on for an hour... but suffice it to say that after the previous abusive management team we had in Admissions a few years ago, we all had high hopes when the new management team (the untouchables) came in and talked about a Tribal environment (it's an expensive lie), the sharing of ideas (they steal many of them and present them as their own) and bringing in only well-intended students (if you're breathing, you're getting in... as long as you can get financial aid). Instead, they created a hostile work environment whose main goal is numbers, numbers, numbers. Many directors are trained to manage by fear and bullying. It's the only way you move up at Post... unless you're friends with one of the untouchables. It's disgusting. Post Univ HR can reply to this review to tell everyone that it's a shame I feel this way, but it won't hold any water because much of the HR team is now part of the 'untouchables'. There is nobody to go to in HR since they've brought in their entire team of people and nobody can be trusted. It's like a bad movie! I've been gone for a few months, but I can still feel my anxiety when I think about Post University! There is so much more I can say, but I've wasted enough of my time trying to make things better. It's not what they want. It's not about the long term goals, it's about immediate goals so investors stay interested. I won't go down with this ship!

    Continue reading
    Post University2019-08-05

    Post University Response

    August 6, 2019Associate Experience

    Well, you are correct in that we sincerely regret the tone and feelings you share in the review of your time at Post University. Our leadership team strives daily to create a culture and environment of accountability, collaboration, and regulatory excellence. This, in turn, drives the decisions we make with the goal of instilling pride and happiness in every experience students and community members have with the University. Are we changing some of our policies and practices – absolutely. Every change we make is in our student’s best interest by removing unnecessary obstacles and barriers that take away from the learning experience. And, most of these changes originate in collaborative conversations with our associates who know our students best. Leadership is not concerned about taking credit, we are focused on our students. We are proud of the progress we’ve made over the last three-years in creating a culture of authenticity, integrity, and trust among our associates. Our managers are not trained to bully or use fear. What they are trained to do is have candid, coaching conversations with associates about their behaviors. We have said all along that our culture is not for everyone and we recognize that it is hard for some to accept candid feedback. However, any hostile and bullying behavior, whether direct or perceived, is unacceptable and not tolerated at the University and no one is untouchable. We wish you all the best as you pursue your new opportunities.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work - ADP Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ADP Admissions Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Great Work Environment, Lots of Opportunities for Growth

    Cons

    Shuttle Parking for Newer employees

    Post University2017-03-22
  5. Helpful (8)

    "OEI Admissions Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Post University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, more professional then waiting tables. Overall advice: STAY AWAY. I worked as a telemarketer, I mean, admission counselor and I had to hound the same people everyday about getting an online education.

    Cons

    Telemarking call-center, Favoritism, high turnover and big egos. I worked at Post for less then a year. In that time they had at least 5 rounds of "new hires" start after me. They also made it a habit to fire one person every week. The work environment was very "cat-y" and certain team leads and reps formed alliances to protect their positions. Also, they made it a habit not to be up front about a lot of details about the position and the company.

    Continue reading
    Post University2016-12-22
  6. "Academic Success Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, friendly work environment, supportive management

    Cons

    Pay is okay, not awesome

    Post University2016-08-16
  7. "Academic Affairs Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging but Friendly, collaborative, fun work environment. Flexible schedule, good time-off. Great opportunities for advancement. I began as a part-time employee almost 10 years ago and now run a very large dept. Work hard, work smart, it pays off. You must believe in wanting to help change people's lives. Those who are not committed, fail. Many who have stayed, get it!!!

    Cons

    Pay can be better. If you are looking for just a paycheck, go elsewhere. Work is not easy but very rewarding.

    Post University2016-07-27
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Admissions Counselor: Call Center Sales and knowingly signing up unqualified students to meet sales goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I met and worked with are some of the best friends I've had. Once a year you get free ice cream.

    Cons

    The University's main source of income is federal financial aid on overpriced credit costs for their online classes. This encourages a business model that focuses less on graduation rate and more on keeping anyone they can in their classes as long as possible and constantly recruiting more students with no screening process. In a meeting with the CEO, the question of the high price was raised. The answer was (paraphrased) "Our business model is like that of Ferrari. By having a high cost, we add perceived value to the education." The work environment for Admissions Counselors is fear-driven and based on raw sales numbers. 90+% of the leads you call don't know how you got their info and aren't looking to go to school. You are encouraged to take advantage of underqualified students and avoid talking about tuition costs/loans. The only important metrics are how many people with a pulse log into a class at the beginning of each module. No SAT or testing requirements. A 2.0 GPA requirement for the students that can be overturned with a "writing sample" of 1 page which is not seriously scrutinized or reviewed. Samples have passed with no punctuation or with obvious plagiarism. One such sample had to be re-sent to the writing center because of the obvious plagiarism that they ignored. Actual situations that happened in one module. (THESE ARE VERY COMMON) A student who was mentally disabled, but technically would have been eligible enough to push through the enrollment process. She couldn’t use her own email without tech-support level step-by-step guidance but I was rewarded for walking her through the Application process by having that one extra student number. Ultimately closed her file on my own so I could sleep at night. A student who was 20 years old and not covered by financial aid. She would have had out of pocket payments on top of her loans even for part time classes. She had no idea of those details of her financial aid, but was still approved for registration. I could easily have talked her into logging in and being in debt for something she could not complete or pay for. This would have also added a number to my registrations and Log-ins. A student with a family who was working 60+ hours a week with no internet or computer. Was instructed to tell them they could go to the library once a week to work on their classes and to help them set up an email address. They would definitely have failed after the first class as assignments often require more than one login per week. Many more.

    Continue reading
    Post University2015-11-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Overworks employees with insignificant raises, stressful work environment, very low pay for the work volume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Post University

    Pros

    A very up-to-date, user-friendly student database for which you use all day. good phones, which you also use all day. Great benefits package, although you will find that it is almost impossible to put money into the retirement savings account they offer because income is not high enough to pay for living expenses. Health insurance was great. In a lovely location with places to walk and get food during break.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for the insanely high volume of work. Extremely stressful, sometimes hostile work environment when taking orders from sales management over the phone, in person, and via chat online. Little to no support from management. Required to work over time a couple weeks each month which means you stay later and work Saturdays. Corporate owners and shareholders are only interested in money and how to get more and pay you less.

    Continue reading
    Post University2015-10-04
  10. Helpful (7)

    "I wouldn't send my own children here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterbury, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Post University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People who care. Friendly work environment.

    Cons

    This is not a college experience. Not worth the price. Very very small campus. School is run by adjuncts. Biggest focus is in growing online school. Too much pressure to sell students on the school. Nothing to do in the area. Very poor leadership and very political. Students are encouraged to play sports and not attend class.

    Continue reading
    Post University2015-06-03
  11. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Admission Counselor in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Post University

    Pros

    great management and everyone here are friendly. The work environment is overall very fun. The company is growing, lots of new hire.

    Cons

    working some late nights if you want the weekends off. Working for the online department makes you feel detached from campus life sometimes

    Continue reading
    Post University2012-01-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews