KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Potbelly Sandwich Works

Is this your company?

Potbelly Sandwich Works

Add a Review

Potbelly Sandwich Works Employee Reviews about "training program"

Updated Oct 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 1,028 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Potbelly Sandwich Works CEO Robert D. Wright (no image)
Robert D. Wright
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team work with great people(in 41 reviews)

  • "friendly good leadership flexible hours(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management never told the shops about the sales on the app to prepare, no breaks(in 59 reviews)

  • "low pay not much room for growth(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Potbelly Sandwich Works and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "training program"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Jul 23, 2015 - Associate/Certified Trainer in Homewood, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potbelly is a great company to work for! The training program is in depth, personal, and ongoing throughout employment. This is a great place to work if you are looking for a friendly, fast-paced, team environment. There is a lot of opportunities for promotion, and the company is still growing, and able to do performance-based raises yearly!

      Cons

      The normal cons of customer service jobs, you have to be able to be diplomatic, and attend to customer concerns and complaints.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of moving parts

      Oct 23, 2020 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers and store employees are fun to work with. Employee meal. Great training program and help from Director

      Cons

      Too many moving parts. Problems staffing in the shops, and management level. Turn over in corporate.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Management needs to change big time

      May 29, 2019 - General Manager in Tauranga, Bay of Plenty
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice 401k, somewhat good bonuses, and good training program IF it's followed.

      Cons

      Extremely sexist especially with salary, no appreciation for good work, no direction or help from upper management.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      People and Customer Centered, Structured

      Mar 11, 2014 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was hired as an assistant manager and promoted to GM within a year and a half. Great training program and continued coaching leaves no uncertainty as to what to do or how to do it. Good company culture based on values. Company filled with quirky, down to earth people allowed to be themselves with each other and customers. Employees and leaders are empowered to make others happy. Lots of opportunity to express yourself creatively through art and music. Live local music during lunch keeps the energy up! Lots of time to connect with customers.

      Cons

      Workflow becomes bogged down with checklists, audits, action plans, and reports. Salary managers work 50 hours a week with 95% of that time being on the line working as an associate to meet aggressive labor cost goals. I ended up working 60-65 hours per week, taking inventory, employee reviews, and P&L reports home. Placing food and supply orders from home. Some goals and budgets just not realistic.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Supervisor/ crew

      Mar 17, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, great products, atmosphere and coworkers. Rewarding pay and skills learned on the job. Training program is comprehensive and offers valuable information to take to any job, IF executed effectively.

      Cons

      Excellent training manual, terrible execution of training. Let me explain. I came on to Potbelly as a shift lead. I had been promoted at my previous job but had been trained through coaching only. No written material. Through that coaching, I learned how to lead by example and balance inventory to demand and food costs. I started at Potbelly with potential. But when I got there, they handed me a massive training binder and said “see you in six weeks” basically... in the meantime I received only criticism, no positive reinforcement. I became so stressed out that my new boss obviously regretted hiring me that I requested a demotion. After which, I eventually learned what I needed to know on the job, even becoming an exemplary trainer and valued team member. Management was poor, GMs and DMs alike. One GM was awful, paranoid and egomaniacal. Despite many complaints he was promoted to DM. I am now a GM myself and I look back at my time at Potbelly with disappointment. I loved my pocket Ladder of Accountability and the philosophy the training is built on. If only I had been given teachers who had time to work with me and develop me. I would have LOVED to become a manager for them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Quitting was the best decision of my life

      Sep 19, 2014 - Shift Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -If you work hard and show interest and put in the hours, you'll get promoted -Made it to shift lead fro associate in a short amount of time -Grew as a person and a worker -Good training program -Flexible scheduling for associates -Probably a good first job

      Cons

      -Shift leads are never allowed to take time off, always understaffed, staff incredibly stressed due to high sales goals but not enough staff and no one is allowed to go overtime. -Not enough pay for the amount of work. -High turnover rates -High school cliquish environnment -Miserable job means you go home miserable -Unprofessional attitude from GM- possibly just my store. -Nobody was ever fired- and that can be a bad thing when they should be for missing work, harrassing customers and female coworkers, giving attitude to managers. -Good luck getting a transfer unless you threaten to quit -Not allowed to go home even if you're sick -Certain employees favored over others -work/life balance is horrible. Never had time for anything

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice job

      May 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Marcos, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The potbelly I worked at opened up in our college town and really had a great training program. They were all really played back and fun to work with.

      Cons

      There was a really bug worker turn over when I worked there and this may have been because it was a new business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of opportunity in exchange for your personal time

      Apr 19, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Many promotion opportunities Thorough training program

      Cons

      The higher you get into management the more personal time you are required to sacrifice. Required to work at least one mid-shift, and one closing shift per week, as well as complete bi-weekly inventory after closing time. If you are a training manager who helps to teach classes for the district, those hours are above and beyond your scheduled 50 hours. Required to link store e-mail to your personal cell phone.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fast paced, fun restaurant business concept with great training program and opportunity to grow

      May 22, 2014 - Shift Manager in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexibility, working environment, human approach, training program

      Cons

      stressful environment, non-professional behavior of associates, time pressure lack of communication from upper management, poor HQ help support

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      It's a job, not a career

      Dec 16, 2015 - Shift Lead in Elgin, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was a shift lead at Potbelly for almost 2.5 years. Potbelly had several pros. I liked the discount on food and the flexible hours. If I needed a particular day off, I could usually get it off. I really enjoyed the employees and other managers I worked with. I've worked a lot of food service jobs in my time and I think Potbelly was by far the best one. The customer's were generally friendly and the company makes it super easy to take care of upset customers. The training program was great and it's become more thorough since I was first hired. It wasn't the best job I've ever had but it's definitely not the worst. There is room for advancement and they do promote from within.

      Cons

      So cons, when I first started with the company, they were very employee-focused and really strived to fill the mission of Make People Happy. When the company went public, it started moving from focusing on making great employees excellent to focusing on the sub par employees. There's nothing wrong about trying to improve your employees and they have systems in place that can work but they were so focused on turnover rates they kept employees on WAY too long. Some times it's better to let the employee have the opportunity some where else. The MIT program is great except it's SO difficult to find time to work on it at the shop and when you do finish, you are stuck waiting forever. I've seen great employees get passed over for promotions and the job given to mediocre employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Potbelly Sandwich Works Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Potbelly Sandwich Works? Share Your Experiences

    or