KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn Casual Sales Associate Reviews

Updated May 31, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 1,097 reviews

2.2
25%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
8 Ratings

What people are saying about Pottery Barn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Overall a Great Place to Work

    Nov 9, 2010 - Sales Associate: Casual in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management listens and is fair, culture is fun. Though they care about sales, they really promote customer relations above the bottom line - every customer is treated as equally valued, whether they are purchasing $10 or $1000. Employee discount is fantastic.

    Cons

    If you can't handle the stress and hours of retail, don't work here. Some people thrive, others flounder, it depends on your personality.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Pottery Barn Kids

    May 31, 2015 - Casual Sales Associate in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for kids and though the GM had a lot of pressure from upper management, she also had realistic expectations and was amazing to work under. Awesome people to work with and everyone enjoyed being there. Amazing discount, 40%. Very understanding of family obligations. Great job if you just want something fun to do.

    Cons

    Training was a joke, they cut hours a lot, they avoid full time at all costs so they don't have to give you benefits. Would get a call while on my way saying corporate cut hours so not to come, then expect you to show up the next day ready to make up for what couldn't be done the day before. No way to actually count on a paycheck to budget with.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Run of the mill retail

    Jan 10, 2015 - Casual Sales Associate in Winter Park, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good discount. Well known company. Fellow employees are nice people to work with as well as managers. Beautiful products to sell.

    Cons

    They don't hire anyone except managers full time to avoid paying benefits. Low wages. They are too cost cutting to hire a cleaning crew so the employees have to clean even the restrooms. if you don't like "corporate " rules, not a good place to work.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Seasonal Sales - Pottery Barn Kids

    Feb 3, 2015 - Casual Sales Associate in Short Hills, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed working in an environment dedicated to babies and kids. The customers are in a time of life that is happy for them; with babies on the way or young children. The products are great - Organic cotton bedding and really nice cribs and furnishings for kids rooms and nurseries. Great holiday wear - Elf on the Shelf PJ's. Story Time was fun. My managers were great. They were very patient teaching the register. Most were concerned and conscientious. We were able to use iPADs on the sales floor to show customer product details and whether items were in stock. Very convenient. The register is a newer software so much easier than older products I have worked on. The user experience was much easier, applying discounts, price inquiries, etc.

    Cons

    There was NO online scheduling. The schedule is posted on paper, and you have to write your hours down. It shows shifts 2 weeks in advance, but still, it's a big pain, especially if they change the schedule. I only found out I was supposed to work 2 long weekend days because someone called in sick and I happened to see it posted by the schedule. Otherwise, I would never had known. I worked in another retail store where I could login and see our schedule for the week, block off days/hours/holidays when I can't work. I can't tell you how helpful that was. The PBK stock room is a little better under a new manager, but the process of getting merchandise quickly from the stock room downstairs was horrendous. We had to call, even if we checked the Merchandise locator, many times items were out. The stock room workers had to bring up items in an elevator that was slow. They were very responsive on the phone, it just takes a long time to get bigger items up to the sales floor. It's hard to develop relationships with customers when it takes forever to get product to them.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pottery Barn Annapolis Stinks

    Apr 1, 2013 - Casual Sales Associate in Annapolis, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great employee discount friendly staff of sales assistants and stock guys Beautiful product, pretty environment to work in

    Cons

    Poor pay No training, with increasing expectation for sales associates to exhibit product knowledge of huge range of product Inconsistent direction from management Pressure to achieve sales goals of $/hr but no reward if expectation is met, not even verbal praise False representation of sales associates as qualified 'designers' Poor IT support tools Management expects sales associates to use clientelling tools, but doesn't provide time to do so Pressure to open credit cards, sell product, clean and restock, provide decorating advice, add-on product to all sales to boost UPT numbers, help multiple customers at once, answer phones ..... constant pressure to give more, more, more with no reward for success This is a lot to expect for $9 - $10/hr Scheduling is posted only a few days before the week begins Really, really poor employee morale which is beginning to affect customer service

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great discount with flexible scheduling if you don't mind all of the games being played.

    Jul 9, 2012 - Casual Sales Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can't beat the discount and they are really flexible with scheduling. This is a second job for me to make some extra money so it works out well. I enjoy working with my guests and helping them in every way I can. Managers allow great flexibility to take care of guest issues. Product is constantly updated in addition to the staples our our companies line.

    Cons

    For a company to care about their people, they need to listen to their people. Concerns will likely not be addressed. The store manager fraternizes with employees and those employees who are the managers favorite get what they want, including promotions. It's kind of a shame when everyone knows the store manger's best friend is one of the other leaders and complaints to upper management about their inappropriate relationship go unaddressed, including fraudulent time card punches. Or when it takes three complaints of sexual harassment before a manager is removed from their position. Don't expect any confidentiality. Everyone knows everyone else's business even if you ask for confidentiality. Usually you can trace it back to the store manager who you trusted in the first place. If someone would look into why so many employees have left our store maybe they would realize who needs to be replaced. We had a leader at our store who wasn't afraid to call out what he saw as inappropriate but from what I understand he has left the company, even after going to another store and contacting upper management and HR. It doesn't surprise me that he's gone. The truly good ones don't stick around, they don't like working in an unprofessional environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A wonderful home away from home, quite literally

    Aug 19, 2014 - Casual Sales Associate in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Close knit family between managers and employees, in-depth 4 day training process, full team meetings to help with seasonal orientation, great relationship between the 3 PB brands of PB/Teen/Kids,

    Cons

    Not a huge amount of upward mobility in growth, sales goals don't necessarily seem attainable to new employees, such a large amount of merchandise is online only and many customers want to be able to see things in stores so it is possible to lose customers this way,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Loved working at Pottery Barn

    Jan 11, 2015 - Casual Sales Associate in Chandler, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people. Best place to learn about Customer Service. Wonderful discount and you learn a lot about decorating if you choose to. It was fun to work with nice people and managers. It makes the time go so fast.

    Cons

    Working holidays and weekends. That is just part of retail. There was a lot of turn-over with managers, but usually it was fine and they were nice to work for.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great experience

    Sep 12, 2013 - Casual Sales Associate in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is gorgeous and its fun to talk to guests about their projects.

    Cons

    I don't really have one.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sales/Cash Wrap/ Visual/Houskeeping/First Point of Guest Contact

    May 20, 2015 - Casual Sales Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked of Pottery Barn Outlet for 6years. The only pro is the discount, my fabulous GM & amazing manager, friendly staff.

    Cons

    6 year devotion to company and my pay rate is $9.00 an hour. Corporate is too top-heavy too much bureaucracy too much micromanagement. No matter how devoted you are to the company no matter how much you give up of your personal life to make sure the store is perfect and that the guest are getting above & beyond fabulous service you will never be compensated monetarily.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

or