KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn Design Studio Specialist Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 of over 1,097 reviews

2.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
25 Ratings

What people are saying about Pottery Barn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work.

    Jan 30, 2020 - Design Studio Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great management, friendly staff, sense of coworker camaraderie, employee discount

    Cons

    It's retail- The holidays are rough, but overall a great experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Could Be Better

    Jan 6, 2022 - Design Studio Specialist in Skokie, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive team spirit. Knowledgeable management. Nice people. Good benefits. Attractive work environment.

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours make planning difficult. Compensation is half what it should be. Work responsibilities are dependent on customers immediate needs which makes creative work process challenging as there are constant interruptions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a place to move up

    Jan 11, 2021 - Design Studio Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Coworkers with a fun environment

    Cons

    Poor Management and management style

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Team

    Jan 31, 2021 - Sales/Design Studio 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment, great product, a lot of wonderful team members to work with

    Cons

    Lower end of compensation level

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    review

    Dec 28, 2020 - Design Studio Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beautiful product, great team, fast paced, always changing

    Cons

    weak compensation and increases scant

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Nice atmosphere, nice people, lots of exercise,

    Nov 14, 2019 - Design Studio Specialist in Corte Madera, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun to work with customers and help them design their homes.

    Cons

    Low pay, work weekends, no upward mobility . This is a very time consuming job to help each customer with a variety of needs and deadlines / go to their home., do design work for free while at the same time help customers calling in and walking in who want minor decor or sheets. Expect to work every weekend.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Not what it used to be...

    Jun 19, 2019 - Design Studio Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great discount, ability to transfer to other stores under the Williams-Sonoma, Inc. umbrella. I worked for several brands in different cities and states over my 15+ years with the company.

    Cons

    Lots of quality and delivery issues plus a lack of a good internal system to address them makes giving the kind of customer service people have come to expect from PB really hard. Constant and ever-changing sales/promotions make profit margins so thin that store management is practically forced to sacrifice proper staffing. "Free design services" had no boundaries for customers but the tools offered to staff designers were antiquated or non-existent. All of the designers at my store had to use their personal computers/software and personal time in order to meet customers' expectations.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Unrealistic & Out Of Touch

    Oct 11, 2015 - Design Studio Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I meet fascinating people every day, I love my coworkers, I work in a place filled with beautiful product, and I get a 40% discount at all Williams Sonoma brand stores.

    Cons

    I am a Design Studio Specialist, and the demand for in-home design consultations is laughable. All day long we are preached "in-homes, in-homes, in-homes," but when we actually go on them managers treat us as an inconvenience (poor sales floor coverage), and press us to close sales that day (obviously, they don't understand how designing someone's home works). Sometimes consultations are worth the trip for a $10,000-$20,000 ordeal, but why do I even care, because I don't get anything for my efforts except personal satisfaction! I had a higher SPH when I wasn't doing so many in-homes. Being out of the store kills my sales per hour, and puts an ungodly amount of miles and wear and tear on my car. Management is a pathetic puppet that drinks the corporate Kool-Aid and stresses out and bullies associates to meet in-home, credit card, and customer email capture goals. The pressure is unfounded, as there is no individual incentive to meet goals, such as a livable wage, commission, or bonuses.

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    a decent place

    Jun 11, 2019 - Design Studio Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    generous discount which compensates for the lack of salary

    Cons

    work weekends and nights a must

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Customers are treated like royalty and Associates are treated like maids

    Dec 5, 2013 - Design Studio Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great discounts at all stores (Pottery Barn, Pottery Barn Kids, Pottery Barn Teens, West Elm, Williams-Sonoma, Mark and Gramham, Rejuvenation) Get to work with talented Individuals Great work flexibility

    Cons

    There are no incentives in working for this company. You forced to get credit cards, clientele (which means adding customers to their database so they can send them so much spam email and promotions), do in-home appointments (if you're a design specialist which is still low paid and no commission) and last but not least taking disrespect from customers and not being supported by management. This company also doesn't stick to any policies put in place. Customers return things past 30 days. They do not stay firm to what they believe in. Lack of diversity in upper level on retail and corporate. There is not one Black/African Descent General Manager in the entire company. None! The Executive board is all women, a girls club.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 61 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

or