KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn General Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 1,097 reviews

3.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
20 Ratings

What people are saying about Pottery Barn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Time management for work life balance

    Oct 27, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    salary is not competitive with surrounding area

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No

    Jan 8, 2022 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’m trying to think of them…

    Cons

    Not getting paid, no training, no help…

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    -

    Nov 3, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a General Manger for PBK, you will have minimal oversight from your direct leader. You are empowered to run your business with a merchant mindset and manage to overall P&L profitability, and encouraged to make day to day decisions from a Customer First perspective.

    Cons

    Reductions in district leadership has resulted in poor planning, communication, and support for store teams. This also leaves little opportunity to grow beyond a GM role. Short notice and sporadic scheduling for conference calls and visits will eat into your personal time. Extremely antiquated technology makes executing simple tasks both time consuming and frustrating for team members at all levels.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Sad

    Nov 1, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many talented, smart , HARD WORKING people. People genuinely want to succeed.

    Cons

    As a manager you have no control over pay increases, and often times you are bring new people on at a much hire rate to attract talent. Then your seasoned associates are training them... these seasoned associates make at minimum $2 an hr less than the new hire. I have begged for raises for my current team only to wait over four months to be told," oh they can be full time but no pay increase." To hire people this year I have had to pay SO MUCH and I can do nothing to thank my team who has stayed with me. Corporate adds more to our plates with no support. There are no surveys done mid year to check in on the team. I also hired a POC, and this was celebrated not because of this person's merits but because of their skin color. I asked my manager to stop discussing this person's race, and acknowledge his wonderful actions, but it is still brought up. Like this person is a trophy. This is not diversity! I drown daily in CSIs, customer service issues, and see no resolve. My peers are exhausted and tired.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work!

    Jul 6, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growth opportunities Stability Competitive pay Awesome benefits (Including huge employee discount at all company brands)

    Cons

    There is a lot to learn at the beginning, but the company provides so many resources to assist you.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The BEST people

    Jun 25, 2021 - General Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Williams Sonoma attracts and retains some of the best people in retail. Leadership is responsive to feedback and communicates well.

    Cons

    Retail requires weekends and holidays.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Actually takes care of employees

    Jun 24, 2021 - General Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, discount, culture, products

    Cons

    Loss of teams due to covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good discount

    Jan 21, 2021 - General Manager in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good discount nice pay and friendly work space

    Cons

    chain of command is a bit tough to get too

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Oct 6, 2020 - General Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    discount, work life balance, benefits

    Cons

    no real cons, loved this job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company with high expectations

    Jun 21, 2020 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was fortunate to have great leaders during my tenure with the company. The culture was wonderful.

    Cons

    Expectations for lower volume stores to operate with little payroll are unrealistic. Basic selling culture was thrown out the window when payroll was cut. It’s not feasible to provide the level of expected service expected when on 2-2 coverage.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

or