KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 160 of over 1,097 reviews

3.5
50%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
90 Ratings

What people are saying about Pottery Barn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I love Pottery Barn ❤️

    Dec 22, 2021 - Associate Store Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People first. They take care of customers.

    Cons

    Not much bad to say actually.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Sad

    Nov 1, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are so many talented, smart , HARD WORKING people. People genuinely want to succeed.

    Cons

    As a manager you have no control over pay increases, and often times you are bring new people on at a much hire rate to attract talent. Then your seasoned associates are training them... these seasoned associates make at minimum $2 an hr less than the new hire. I have begged for raises for my current team only to wait over four months to be told," oh they can be full time but no pay increase." To hire people this year I have had to pay SO MUCH and I can do nothing to thank my team who has stayed with me. Corporate adds more to our plates with no support. There are no surveys done mid year to check in on the team. I also hired a POC, and this was celebrated not because of this person's merits but because of their skin color. I asked my manager to stop discussing this person's race, and acknowledge his wonderful actions, but it is still brought up. Like this person is a trophy. This is not diversity! I drown daily in CSIs, customer service issues, and see no resolve. My peers are exhausted and tired.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    No

    Jan 8, 2022 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’m trying to think of them…

    Cons

    Not getting paid, no training, no help…

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    -

    Nov 3, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a General Manger for PBK, you will have minimal oversight from your direct leader. You are empowered to run your business with a merchant mindset and manage to overall P&L profitability, and encouraged to make day to day decisions from a Customer First perspective.

    Cons

    Reductions in district leadership has resulted in poor planning, communication, and support for store teams. This also leaves little opportunity to grow beyond a GM role. Short notice and sporadic scheduling for conference calls and visits will eat into your personal time. Extremely antiquated technology makes executing simple tasks both time consuming and frustrating for team members at all levels.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Manager

    Dec 13, 2021 - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work with some great people. Great discounts on the product.

    Cons

    CEO and upper management are very cold and don't care about employees. They could care less about any of the issues the store has. During store visits we are encouraged to smile and keep our mouths shut.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Oct 21, 2021 - Associate Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are great, especially the discount. The focus on programs like sustainability, equality, equity makes us all proud as employees!

    Cons

    Expectations can be overwhelming at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Time management for work life balance

    Oct 27, 2021 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    salary is not competitive with surrounding area

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unfortunately an afterthought

    Jul 30, 2021 - Store Manager in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PB Teen does partner with some really great brands such as Junk Gypsy and Emily and Merritt. They also support the stores in embracing current trends with marketing and events that appeal to teens.

    Cons

    The PB Teen sector of the Pottery Barn brand was definitely an afterthought when I worked there. There are very few of these locations, and not a lot of effort is put into their business. They are lumped in with the Pottery Barn Kids, which they have very little in common with. Hopefully since I have left they have separated PB Teen off and invested in them more.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Nov 16, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company discount at all brands

    Cons

    a lot is expected in the assistant position

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pottery Barm ASM

    Sep 20, 2021 - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company with leadership that value you

    Cons

    bad technology and bad hub issues

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 160 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

or