Pottery Barn Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
338 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much pressure from upper management, makes management at the store level miserable - making the store miserable(in 47 reviews)

  • "Low pay long hours thankless job that’ll leave you in therapy(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pottery Barn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mature coworkers and classy clientele.

    Cons

    Hard to negotiate with some issues between catalog and physical store

    Continue reading
    Pottery Barn2019-03-03
  2. "Lovely"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Miami Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and fun environment, amazing support.

    Cons

    Although there are no commissions paid, it’s a very competitive environment amongst the sales associates because they are evaluated based On their sales numbers

    Pottery Barn2020-05-18
  3. "Pottery Barn"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good pay, pretty flexible. As long as you work hard they will help you.

    Cons

    I am in school, so I worked their part-time, but it was a pretty good experience. No cons.

    Pottery Barn2020-05-12
  4. "Company good, management matters"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Specialist in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pottery Barn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for but depending on manager it can make or break your employment experience.

    Cons

    The assistant manager had it out for me for no reason at all. She made my life a living hell until a new GM came along and stood up to her.

    Continue reading
    Pottery Barn2020-05-01
  5. "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pottery Barn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to learn, the customers are great and so is the team I work with.

    Cons

    Part time hours vary quite a bit.

    Pottery Barn2020-04-30
  6. "Great first job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time

    Pros

    Great training, Great support from coworkers

    Cons

    Sometimes the work is boring

    Pottery Barn2020-04-27
  7. "Sales Associate"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great resume builder experience flexible part time hours convenient locations

    Cons

    poor management lack of training expensive merchandise for employee even with a discount

    Continue reading
    Pottery Barn2020-05-12
  8. "Visual Associate"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Visual Associate 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a great manager that was very reasonable and fair. Very diverse working environment at my store.

    Cons

    Retail in general can be tough especially when so many people contact the store on the phone. Challenging to handle volume of phone sales/issues while helping guests in the store

    Pottery Barn2020-02-19
  9. "Eh"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pottery Barn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schedule is ok and stuff

    Cons

    Everything else is the problem

    Pottery Barn2020-02-16
  10. "PB Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pottery Barn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super awesome people to work with and awesome brand.

    Cons

    Not enough pay for the work

    Pottery Barn2020-02-04
Found 850 reviews