KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn Visual Merchandiser Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 1,097 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
11 Ratings

What people are saying about Pottery Barn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    great company!!

    Oct 4, 2020 - Visual Merchandiser in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great organization and good to employees

    Cons

    not enough hours available due to covid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great environment

    Oct 2, 2021 - Sales Associate/Visual Merchandiser in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment all of the workers were nice as well!

    Cons

    The pay and long hour.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    job requirements

    Sep 6, 2021 - Visual Merchandiser in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a friendly atmosphere. You get to enhance the look and feel of the store daily. It is a great creative outlet.

    Cons

    Busy. Short staffed. Demanding client. Lots of returns. Unrealistic expectations.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The Goods and Bads

    Jan 25, 2021 - Visual Merchandiser in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management, fun job

    Cons

    Tough to get full-time hours or benefits

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Busy work for low pay

    Feb 11, 2021 - Visual Merchandiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Very friendly Sales Associates -Good discount -Gain good knowledge of products

    Cons

    -Training needs to be more thorough -Management felt unorganized/ inefficient at times -Micro-management going on for simple tasks

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun Place to Work

    Nov 24, 2019 - Visual Merchandiser in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My coworkers are fantastic. I actually look forward to work at the start of the week. Management trusts my judgement when it comes to visual displays that deviate from the official photographs. It’s great having creative freedom as well as not being micromanaged constantly. Flexible hours and schedule available. Our GM is willing to work around other part-time job schedules so we can pay our bills. Compared to other retail jobs I have had the customers generally treat you well and are friendly. The discount is a nice bonus. My apartment is full of candles and pillows from PB and West Elm.

    Cons

    Lack of adequate payroll. Covering stock, visuals, and the sales floor all in one shift is chaotic and exhausting. It frustrates customers when there are not enough associates on the floor. I dislike the amount of things corporate forces us to push at the register like the credit card, key rewards, email capture, donations, etc etc. It irritates the associates as well as the customers. Long lines take even longer when you have to ask five million questions during checkout.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good experience but needs more people in stores

    Oct 3, 2019 - Visual Merchandiser in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great visual merchandising experience, good people, good culture

    Cons

    Not enough resources to allow stores to hire sufficient amount of people, everyone spread too thin

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The service values and people first culture this company strives to uphold is waning.

    May 7, 2015 - Visual Merchandising Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been fortunate enough to work with some amazingly talented people, from sales to creative to management. It really does take a village and the right people in that village do make it worth it on those tough days.

    Cons

    Corporate management is too hard on stores. Everyone on a sure level bears the brunt of all the issue trickled down from everyone above. You're expected to constantly perform at the top of your game without compassion for the toll that takes, and your only constant reward is a bunch of "THANK YOUs" in over bearing emails and conference calls. Too much micro managing, not enough monetary compensation. We have to fight for our work life balance as opposed to it being given to us. No consideration for what working with the public can be like, just constant pressure to make your numbers and metrics.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company

    Feb 9, 2019 - Visual Merchandiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Retail is based on who you work for or can be great or opposite. Lucky for me it wasgreat. Discount is what I missed plus my team. Product is always good. Benefit for full time is good but if your n assistant you dont get the extra perks as if you were a Co or am associate which I dont approve. As an assistant you do the same if not more then expect to not get a bonus

    Cons

    It depends on who you work for if your boss is a bad leader then of course it would be bad. It's a business so hours get cut in days and times where you need it but doesn't matter to the higher up they need to reach their goal and bonus . Politics and favoritism exists

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Visual merchandiser

    Jun 4, 2016 - Visual Merchandiser in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly professional staff along with a great employee discount makes it easy to go to work everyday

    Cons

    The particular store where I work has high volume and it can get a little crazy on weekends in spring and summer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

or