KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pottery Barn

Is this your company?

Pottery Barn

Add a Review

Pottery Barn Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 1,077 reviews

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Pottery Barn President Laura J. Alber
Laura J. Alber
419 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, always very fair(in 109 reviews)

  • "The employee discount was really good(in 73 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too much pressure from upper management, makes management at the store level miserable - making the store miserable(in 48 reviews)

  • "Low pay long hours thankless job that’ll leave you in therapy(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Pottery Barn

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pottery Barn and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Full Time Position

      Apr 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your store really turns into a team and that team becomes like family. Visual merchandising for the company is fun! Great product to work with. Great benefits when you work full time. Great people on the store level from all stores.

      Cons

      A lot of cooks in the kitchen with upper management and corporate level. Many people in charge like to have their say and seem to be looking out for themselves at times. A lot of work and energy put in to run a successful store - feel like the pay is a little low for what we all put in.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Meat Grinder/Cult- All Brands under WS/PB

      Feb 7, 2020 - Assistant Site Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have a job and get a paycheck every two weeks

      Cons

      - Known toxic environment, upper management perpetuates it and has no intention of fixing - Cliques are spearheaded by upper management, you’re either in or your out, if your out you’ll eventually be pushed out of the company - NO diversity, mainly cis upper middle class blonde women - people who speak out about the environment or how they are being treated tend to end up on probation, eventually either leaving the company or are fired, being sited for things such as not smiling enough in meetings - Always hiring because people are always quitting, new roles are rarely ever created, someone will eventually quit and that’s how you move up, you stay long enough you’ll run the place, whether your capable or not - the work is not hard but never ending, most of the time your fixing your bosses mistakes or doing work someone else didn’t want to do - pay is not competitive no matter what they tell you - Company is majority women but the men there are highly protected and get away with sexual harassment, emotional manipulation, angry outbursts

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Underpaid, overworked

      Sep 30, 2020 - Financial Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good discount. People are hardworking and fun. Lots of room to develop skills quickly

      Cons

      Little to no perks. Upper management lives in their own world. Stressful environment.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The people will make or break it

      Jan 6, 2020 - Assistant Manager of Sales and Service in South Windsor, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are amazing Love the job - seeing people love their homes is amazing! I like constantly moving rather than sitting at a desk all day.

      Cons

      Too much pressure from upper management, makes management at the store level miserable - making the store miserable. The technology within the company needs a huge overhaul (why are we still faxing orders??). Not given the time or resources you need to do your job.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good company

      Apr 22, 2019 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people in the stores care about their co workers and customers. Competitive pay and benefits

      Cons

      High maintenance customers Gossip Upper management out of touch with how stores actually operate Too many promotions causes customers to not shop unless they can get a discount , bringing down the brand

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      General Manager

      Jun 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Within your own four walls you can create the atmosphere you wish!

      Cons

      If you like working for a highly micromanaged company and wasting your time on fruitless conference calls and submitting ridiculous pieces of paperwork than this is a great place for you! If you like working for a bunch of sorority girls that change their minds weekly on what we should do as a company, what you should do as a store, as a manager, than join this brand! There is no consistency and what was once important and a huge focus one week is no longer of importance the next. Flexibility and adaptability aside, it makes your head spin. Gone are the days when actual service and training were a top priority. Now it's required to solicit customers that have had great experiences in the store and request them to fill out a survey, why, so upper management can have a false sense of reality! Stores are understaffed due to payroll cuts, weighted down with their looming to-do lists and lack any support from their leadership teams. And after working tirelessly, at the end of the year you might just get a 2% raise!

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Do Not Work Here!!!

      Aug 2, 2016 - Assistant Buyer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -As an assistant buyer you get to know the product intimately and get an eye into the design/inspiration process by working with the product development team -Access to sample sales -Generous employee discount

      Cons

      -Absolutely NO corporate culture. -I had read other bad reviews saying how people do not say hi in the hallways and are unfriendly and I couldn't imagine how that could be true, but it is!!! You start to feel like a weirdo for smiling after a while because you only get frowns in return -HEAVY politics between the buying teams and the product developing teams- buyers have ideas on what they think/know will sell, but can't fully suggest ideas to PD teams without stepping on toes. Had to sit through many awkward PD meetings... -Underpaid and overworked with no recognition or thanks from upper management. I worked 15hrs of overtime regularly on a 2wk pay period. -Upper management does not now how to manage their most valuable asset - their employees/team members - which is the main reason that they have such a high turnover -Little diversity -Every quarter senior execs ask for margin improvement. Buyers already squeeze every penny they can from over seas vendors to get the lowest first costs. Buyers are left to simply increase the retail prices of the SAME and/or new items from one quarter to the next- a ridiculous and unsustainable practice. Customers have taken note of this as well (as customers are not dumb)- we would receive daily complaints online.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Does anyone in upper management even read these reviews?

      Apr 2, 2017 - Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of people to work with, and customers are usually easy to work with. I love helping them find beautiful things for their homes and gifts.

      Cons

      Because the pay is not stellar, a lot of sales people work there for the benefit of the discount. Upper management keeps changing the discount, especially on sale items, so much so that keeping up is difficult. The discount promotes loyalty, since the hourly pay is not going to make you rich. I wish they would be more consistent. Also, the entire William-Sonoma system of stores need new POS equipment. Constantly having problems with them.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great place to work

      Jun 7, 2019 - Stocker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, easy to move up in the company if you choose to, and great discount"

      Cons

      upper management has no care for store employees

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Assistant Store Manager

      Aug 30, 2017 - Assistant Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount is really good.

      Cons

      So many things! Time and energy invested does not reflect in pay or advancement. I worked there 9 years, gave my all, only to be continually looked over for someone new. The real blow came when I trained not 1, not 2, but 3 managers above me, only to have them all leave eventually, but not actually DO anything while they were there. This did not just happen to me, but associates who also had ambitions of growing with the company. The raises were a joke! In 9 years, i made $3.20 more than i did when i started, while other managers starting at my same level came in making way more. I know what you must be thinking. Bad performance reviews. Wrong! Every year, i had stellar reviews. I trained my team and other store managers, had amazing sales results, and won numerous awards while there. Little experience? Wrong again. I have a degree in business management, specializing in hr, and many years of proven leadership and sales achievement. And the last question, whu stay so long if it was horrible? It wasn't always that way. It was a lot of fun thw first few years when Howard Lester and Chuck were alive and in charge. A huge part of me was hoping that magical time come back, but alas no! The upper management now is extremely untrustworthy and a far cry from "People First", a mantra that rang true in the Howard and Chuck days.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pottery Barn Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pottery Barn? Share Your Experiences

    or