Powell Industries Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Powell Industries Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brett Cope
1 Ratings
  1. "Powell job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Powell Industries

    Pros

    Stable Job. Good overtime pay. Good travel pay. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Travel to remote places. Management can be better.

    Powell Industries2015-11-11
  2. "Awesome Internship Experience at Powell Industries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries for more than a year

    Pros

    As an intern, everyone was very welcoming and helpful. My engineering supervisor and the VP of sales were very caring and always checked on me to see how my experience was going along and if they could do anything to make it better. Very good company culture. I am thankful for everything I was taught and the advice that was shared with me.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about Powell Industries.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to have fun events for the interns and thank you for making my experience at Powell Industries a great one.

    Powell Industries2019-04-05
  3. "Senior Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SCADA Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries

    Pros

    Generous Travel Compensation. Flexible hours and relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lack of accountability for larger engineering projects. Little to no engineering review.

    Powell Industries2017-05-30
  4. "Decent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Nice working environment and they provide good emplyee benefits.

    Cons

    Pay rate could be improved.

    Powell Industries2017-05-05
  5. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Powell Industries

    Pros

    Good benefits, regular work hours, airport adjacent.

    Cons

    Management is incompetent, irresponsible, doesn't communicate, always passing the buck and looking for a scapegoat when things go wrong. Useless training program. Low pay, nobody gets promoted. Not even the brown nosers.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house . Laziness and apathy are holding this company back.

    Powell Industries2015-07-25
  6. "It was great working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Design Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Powell Industries for more than a year

    Pros

    working environment is very friendly and all co-workers are supportive and helpful in nature. I hardly worked 3 months there but my experience working there is very great i would to go back.

    Cons

    according to me i dint find and cons either i can say according to its one of the very great company where employees and employees needs are kept at first place i never felt that i am new there every one specially the management was very supportive

    Advice to Management

    the only advice i can give to management is that you are doing very great work do keep doing it in the former years and keep hiring more employees and working with you is a very great experience.

    Powell Industries2015-04-13
  7. "The co-workers are wonderful! However, everything indicates that this division will not be around much longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in North Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Powell Industries full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with so many wonderful people

    Cons

    Little training offered Little opportunity for advancement Management is out-of-touch and incapable of making improvements Morale is terrible and has been for years with no sign of improving

    Advice to Management

    Advice to management in Houston: Make a clean sweep of the managers of every department. Especially human resources since it is their incompetence that allows them to continue to hire people who are not qualified to fill their positions.

    Powell Industries2015-01-28
  8. "Demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Powell Industries full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great, pay is decent

    Cons

    Work environment can get very stressful, disorganized, long hours

    Powell Industries2013-07-08
  9. "It was a Good beginner learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Control Systems Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Powell Industries full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    They have pretty good benefits

    Cons

    They are not well organised

    Advice to Management

    They need to get Better organisation

    Powell Industries2013-03-14
  10. "A trade-off in obtaining unique experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries

    Pros

    Competitive benefits package. Depending on the location and position, there are opportunities to obtain invaluable experience in oil and energy industries.

    Cons

    Human Resources is into everything, they practically run the place. Pay and pay raises are sub par with industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Do not allow human resources to dictate how departments are ran. Get rid of the Oracle database, or find something new that actually works.

    Powell Industries2011-10-21
Found 15 reviews