Powell Industries Welder Reviews | Glassdoor

Powell Industries Welder Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
Brett Cope
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Powell Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people and management. Co-workers are great.

    Cons

    Poor communication between engineers and manufacturers.

    Powell Industries2018-02-23
  2. "Its a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder/Fabricator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries full-time

    Pros

    There is a cafeteria on the plant

    Cons

    Hourly pay is not that great.

    Powell Industries2019-05-23
  3. "Welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in Westlake, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, good benefits,location of facility

    Cons

    oppressive, uncaring, operated like a prison system

    Advice to Management

    allow employee to see immediate family members when they are sick and dying without giving them written warnings for doing so.

    Powell Industries2016-10-23
  4. "welder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder II in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Powell Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's good for a beginner welder that doesn't have much experience.

    Cons

    No OT, doesn't pays good enough for a experience welder.

    Advice to Management

    Need to improve the pay rate for experience welders.

    Powell Industries2015-09-15
  5. "Good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in South Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Powell Industries

    Pros

    Great training program. Good benefits. On site cafeteria.

    Cons

    Upper management is conniving. Pay rate is under average. Cafeteria prices keep rising.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and commit to help them.

    Powell Industries2014-12-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Wouldn't work anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in Northlake, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Powell Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love working for Powell Delta/Unibus. During my time here I have seen many changes and I must admit it is for the better. HR at Delta are top notch, I have not ever worked for a company that HR is so involved in trying to make this a better place. They do what many HR people I worked for don't, they listen. Aggressive growth, management seems to really be trying to make us competitive in the market.

    Cons

    If your not part Houston or Canada you are forgotten.

    Advice to Management

    Remember there are other divisions outside of Houston and Canada. We also need your help to grow.

    Powell Industries2014-07-01
  7. "a big sham"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in North Canton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Powell Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great company great benefits decent pay

    Cons

    management is not honest with its employees, they talk a good game about safety but overlook serious safety issues for the sake of production. Their "tribal knowledge" makes it hard for new employees to learn quickly. IT IS EXTREMELY CLIQUE DRIVEN!

    Advice to Management

    Retool your planning because its awful, relate better to your employees because your terrible at it.

    Powell Industries2014-04-15
Found 7 reviews