Precision Business Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Precision Business Solutions Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Precision Business Solutions CEO Colin Campbell
Colin Campbell
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to get some SQL Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Modeler 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Precision Business Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's mostly an Excel (Data Viz, Reporting, Outputs) shop with SQL to pull data. Some Data Warehousing practices that can be learned, but most things are pretty basic. Connections are due to corporate relationships from previous work experience of upper management and the CEO.

    Cons

    It's very old school consulting (50-65 face hours in the office expected) versus production oriented. If you didn't come in from a "top 50 school" or have an MBA no room for growth into one of their "modeler" roles. If you're a Data Analyst, very little shot of moving up to the "Modeler" level, so I'd advise you go for the Modeler roles, which is just Excel reports. Not difficult at all, just tedium as nauseam.

    Advice to Management

    None. I think everyone should have a right to run their company how they want to. Just as long as people are honest about their values and hold fast to them.

    Precision Business Solutions2018-08-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Management and no future potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Precision Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Good salary is the only advantage

    Cons

    - Models are not customer oriented, numbers are moved around to pretend they are - main goal of the company is to fulfill the president's (personal) needs, pretending to fulfill the customers' needs - no career and growth perspective

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees and stick to the values you communicate, stop micromanaging and focus on the big picture

    Precision Business Solutions2018-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant in the Modeling Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Great pay. Decent work-life balance.

    Cons

    President micromanages employees. No growth prospect (the founder is happy with the current size of the company). VERY high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people you hired.

    Precision Business Solutions2018-04-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Compensation is the best thing about Precision

    Cons

    Management, Management, Management! Learn how to lead a team, not degrade them.

    Precision Business Solutions2017-11-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I think this is a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    They had some pretty good stuff.

    Cons

    I didnt like some offerings

    Precision Business Solutions2017-06-07
  6. "Only Cares about the bottom line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made good money when the industry was doing well.

    Cons

    Terrible company. Cares very little for the employees. Management out of touch with staff.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your ivory tower once and a while.

    Precision Business Solutions2016-12-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    ""Work Hard Play Hard" Environment without the "Play Hard""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Salary is the #1 pro and what keeps people from leaving.

    Cons

    They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results, but that’s exactly what Precision does. They treat their employees like crap and then act surprised each year when turnover is 50%+. They ask in exit interviews what people would do to fix the company & pretend like 90% of the problems don’t stem directly from the President. They wait until everyone understands a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites, show more respect to ALL, LISTEN to your employees before making massive changes

    Precision Business Solutions2016-08-15
  8. "Modeler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Modeler in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaches very valuable skill-set of technical and analytical skills. Benefits are wonderful. Lots of perks like working from home & bringing dogs to work.

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance. Management plays favorites. Management makes decisions out of reaction & not proactively seeking to retain high-performing employees.

    Precision Business Solutions2016-06-09
  9. "good pay & benefits, but the harsh, long hours will wear you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Modeler in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -good pay -plenty of opportunity for growth & promotion -great as a springboard

    Cons

    -very poor work-life balance. Average hours worked is 50-55. -The President and upper management are unresponsive. The poor work-life balance is the business model of the company: overwork young employees until they leave, then get new ones.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on work-life balance. Focus on building retention and developing the employees you have.

    Precision Business Solutions2015-10-17
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Loads of work to provide little service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Precision Business Solutions

    Pros

    Great place to learn SQL and data management Good pay

    Cons

    High turnover Long hours Results are "spun" to show improvement where none exists Lack of "real world" experience of most of the staff Rely too heavily on customers who don't understand what we actually do

    Advice to Management

    I'm glad I quit when I did. I couldn't take long hours, and it felt we didn't do anything to our customers besides show them flashy numbers that don't really add up. And what's with all of the similar positive reviews being written last week? Did you write them yourselves?

    Precision Business Solutions2014-12-23
Found 22 reviews