Premera Blue Cross Reviews

Updated May 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Premera Blue Cross President & CEO Jeff Roe (no image)
Jeff Roe
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits package, flexibility working remotely, and great work/life balance(in 94 reviews)

  • "High connection to company purpose; good benefits; transforming its business and culture to drive a lot of value for healthcare(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management can be micromanagers and not great leaders, but the upper management is excellent(in 23 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, Work Life Balance, Advancement(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Premera for 3 months now and love going to work every day. The people are amazing. Friendly and are there for one another. Tons of opportunity and leaders help employees reach their full potential to become the best version of themselves. Management is friendly and approachable. Great benefits package, flexibility working remotely, and great work/life balance. Premera does a great job valuing their employees. People who land at Premera are very lucky. :-)

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share.

    Premera Blue Cross2020-02-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall company atmosphere and moral are great! Under the new leadership of Jeff Roe the company has clear guidelines and is communicating with all employee levels. Pay is competitive, benefits including pension, 401k match, time off are all competitive with other companies in the area. Growth is really fed within the organization.

    Cons

    Some areas of the company have a higher level of expectation which can cause low morale.

    Continue reading
    Premera Blue Cross2018-04-03

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    May 23, 2018Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your comments. Regarding communications, we are continuing our focus on improving communications and appreciate your suggestions. And I agree - Premera is a great place to work! - Amanda J.

  3. "Lots of growth opportunities for employees and the company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My team is awesome. There are a lot of passionate people who care about their “customers” and want to make their experiences better. The benefits are awesome - 401k and pension!

    Cons

    Many departments are siloed, so my experience is going to contrast greatly from another’s. In order to succeed and grow, you have to do a lot of networking to understand what’s moving and shaking.

    Continue reading
    Premera Blue Cross2020-05-01
  4. "Great job if you like cubicles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing pay, friendly staff, excellent location & campus, thorough training and feedback

    Cons

    Soul sucking inbound call center

    Premera Blue Cross2020-04-27
  5. "An amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people, unparalleled culture of inclusivity and innovation

    Cons

    Healthcare is a regulated industry. You must be willing to work within, but at the same time push the guardrails in the spirit of innovation.

    Continue reading
    Premera Blue Cross2020-04-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Company With Bright Future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Experience Division 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Premera's investing in its people and culture, and trying to do things differently as a health insurance company. If you're hungry for it, lots of opportunity to grow and develop and be a part of that change.

    Cons

    Not everyone is excited for the mass amounts of change that are happening or have the appetite for it. The company seems scattered at times and is pushing for focus in the upcoming years.

    Continue reading
    Premera Blue Cross2020-02-04
  7. "Fair Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Counselor in Mountlake Terrace, WA

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair company, a lot of flexibility with working at home and schedule

    Cons

    Lifers can become comfortable and complain too much

    Premera Blue Cross2020-02-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The biggest mistake of my career"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have some great people who work for them

    Cons

    Allegedly Toxic gender biased, with a faulty moral and ethical compass. Some leaders are great, but senior leaders refuse do weed out the bad ones.

    Continue reading
    Premera Blue Cross2020-03-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Data Engineer III in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, good salary, Work for Home option 3 days a week

    Cons

    Indecisive management, lower expectations leading to hardly any work.

    Premera Blue Cross2020-02-07
  10. "Good Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits the day you start

    Cons

    Lots of changes not all for good of the member

    Premera Blue Cross2020-01-23
Found 540 reviews