Premera Blue Cross Reviews | Glassdoor

Premera Blue Cross Reviews

Updated February 28, 2017
106 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Jeff Roe
38 Ratings

106 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Premera is a great place to work if you would like a job where you can provide impact but also have work/life balance (in 65 reviews)

  • Good benefits (above avg for area) (in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (7)

    "Healthcare transformation"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Healthcare and health insurance are in the midst of massive changes. This means exciting opportunities for reinvention and an appetite for new ways of thinking. Great people to work with and work-life balance. Free parking (which you'll appreciate if you're used to working in downtown Seattle or Bellevue) and food services on site.

    Cons

    Anytime an organization goes through disruption to old ways of doing business, it puts some stress on employees. Some people are resistant to change and others are unhappy with the way leadership implemented restructuring. Corporate structure makes some things move too slowly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing opportunities to break down silos and collaborate across the company. Emphasize communication to help changes go more smoothly and ensure employees buy in.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Aug 12, 2016 – Director, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. You hit on some important messages. Change can be very difficult and we are working to continue communication and the sharing of ... More


  2. "EDI SPECIALIST 2"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EDI SPECIALIST II in Spokane, WA
    Former Employee - EDI SPECIALIST II in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits including pension, comfortable atmosphere, great coworkers, clear corporate values, great individual training and career enhancement tools

    Cons

    If you are not at the corporate headquarters, your chances of growth are very limited. There is an inexcusable preference for people at the corporate headquarters over more experienced personnel at other company locations.

    Advice to Management

    Do not limit management opportunities only to those who work at, or will move to MLT. The company has the resources to make video conferencing readily available along with the ability to fly people to MLT on an as needed basis.


  3. "Overall a good experience. Sometimes challenging working interdepatmentally"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager
    Current Employee - Case Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great health benefits! Allows telecommuting. Competitive salary. Nice campus. Opportunities to learn and develop. Industry leader. Communicates well their strategic plan.

    Cons

    Slow to change. Slow to adopt new technology. Some of their customer facing web tools are pretty bad. Not industry leading in Net Promoter score.

    Advice to Management

    Adopt new technology quickly to keep pace.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Director, Clinical Programs Management

    Premera's focus on listening to our customers and employees is continuous. We use this valuable feedback to make changes that ultimately improve the experience for all our customers. We recognize how ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly bosses and management staff, onsite cafeteria, telecommuting options

    Cons

    I had to move or I would still be there

    Advice to Management

    Thanks - great management

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – Director, Clinical Programs Management

    We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with Premera. We couldn't agree with your comments more, our Leaders and employees are the best around.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good Pay Management Little Disjointed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Communications & Marketing in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Manager of Communications & Marketing in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is good to great. Benefits are really good. Great health insurance and yearly bonus if you meet goals and you usually meet the goals. People you work with are great and typically want you to succeed.

    Cons

    Project management and manager support is sometimes lacking with competing agendas. most people care more about their goals and what they are working on rather than your project. Hard to get buy in sometimes and the project is not always efficient or effective with implementation. When a request for proposal comes in especially for large company it's all hands in and any project you are currently working on gets put on hold. This can be very difficult if you have momentum on a big project and timelines are pushed back. Manager talent is very hit and miss then tend to promote within and it is a popularity contest not who deserves the job. I got lucky and had a great boss that everyone wanted but that is not the case with other managers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people more when they are overwhelmed and have too many projects. Support them more visible and help others see the value in your work. Communications from top down is lacking. Sometimes staff need help pushing projects forward as others are working on their own projects.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    Thank you for the thoughtful feedback. With valuable input from many sources – most notably the 2016 employee survey, all-employee calls and the recently launched employee forums – we keep pushing to ... More


  7. "Premera is finally figuring out who they want to be"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Respectful and incredibly nice business culture with opportunity to move around different areas of the company. Healthy habits promoted with incentives tied to tracking fitness activities. A lot of people work out at lunch, go running on the Inter Urban trail + Cross Fit does programs on campus during summer months. Work life balance is respected at all levels of management- with very few people working (at least on campus) outside designated business hours. Health benefits are very generous as you would expect working in the industry- and its very affordable to cover your whole family.

    Cons

    Working in the suburbs can be kind of a drag if you're a city person. There's really no good restaurants nearby and the cafeteria food on campus is not great (it used to be - but food vendors changed and it's now only so-so.) The work itself can happen slowly which can be frustrating to those moving from other industries- especially high tech. Because the business is regulated and subject to public policy (federal, states, + insurance commissioners) you need to be flexible in approach and thinking.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to modernize the culture, including work space, and flexible schedules. Great work doesn't need to happen in a cubicle. Find ways for people to connect themselves and their work to the mission.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Director, HR

    Thank you for your response. We are proud of the healthy and active lifestyle that is encouraged on our campuses and are pleased you see the importance too. Our culture continues to evolve as more ... More


  8. "Growth opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunities throughout departments

    Cons

    Nothing available at this time


  9. "Good Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Not many growth opportunities.
    No telecommute option.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Director, HR

    Work-life balance is incredibly important. Telecommute opportunities are available, but vary across the organization based on the needs of the team.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Change for the better?"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Location is great if you want to avoid a Seattle commute. They also have wonderful onsite employee wellness programs.

    Cons

    Premera is going through alot of change, with many layoffs, unfortunately this has made the working environment very tense.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 18, 2017 – Sales Director, Mid Market

    Avoiding the Seattle commute is something many are grateful for, especially on a rainy morning! As we work to respond to a rapidly changing industry, Premera has also seen a great deal of change ... More


  11. "Customer Service Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employee satisfaction was high, moral is kept healthy. They want to improve, and they do, from the inside, to be efficient and effective in a sensitive market. Many of the upper employees are former CSR's, so they know the pain.

    Being able to help people, both in the call center, and out in the real world. There are times I helped people build spreadsheets to organize their medical messes. I loved working with the public.

    Cons

    Mean people, on the outside, whom you're trying to help.

    Red tape. Changes can't happen on a whim, though they really could be, if planned for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin' on!

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Dec 29, 2016 – Vice President, Customer Service

    As a Customer Service Representative, you have the opportunity to help countless people and impact healthcare for the better. We thank you for identifying with the customer and going out of your way ... More



Showing 106 of 392 reviews
Reset Filters