Premera Blue Cross Reviews | Glassdoor

Premera Blue Cross Reviews

Updated May 19, 2017
416 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

416 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • very supportive of work-life balance (in 71 reviews)

  • They have good benefits including a pension (in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Change for the better?"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Location is great if you want to avoid a Seattle commute. They also have wonderful onsite employee wellness programs.

    Cons

    Premera is going through alot of change, with many layoffs, unfortunately this has made the working environment very tense.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 18, 2017 – Sales Director, Mid Market

    Avoiding the Seattle commute is something many are grateful for, especially on a rainy morning! As we work to respond to a rapidly changing industry, Premera has also seen a great deal of change ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good work life balance, easy commute if you living around bothell area, excellent benefits, free parking , good team mates etc.

    Cons

    Little slow moving as an overall organization, communication gap between upper management and actual working resources, this impacts good n ambitious people.

    Advice to Management

    Close the gap between the layers. Other than that we have very good and talented people working together

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Director, IT Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide thoughtful feedback. We continue to take steps to improve communication throughout all levels of the organization. Great work is being done and ensuring ... More


  3. "Great Company, great people!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Premera was a wonderful work opportunity and work experience. Very work-life balance oriented. Good collaborative working environment.

    Cons

    None. I would work for Premera again in a heartbeat!

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Director, HR

    Thank you! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience working for Premera. We couldn't agree more, the people and collaborative environment make Premera a great place to work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (7)

    "Damage Control"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This was a great job to learn about the issues and politics about the ACA, and health care. It gave me a more informed view when voting, and I was able to help people in my life understand their health insurance more and help those know which questions to ask.

    Cons

    If you don't quite fit into the corporate scene people are not very to you. There are many young people who haven't had a lot of exposure to a variety of people, and who want very much to get ahead in the company. Some people had an unexpressed jealousy of my education and went out of their way to make me look bad instead of helping me learn things like the computer system and the different policies. When I come spoke up about the specific of how contemptuous backup support was when I asked questions, I faced a lot of gas-lighting. When I asked direct questions or explained how problematic training was, trainers used to report me to management to say that I was being difficult. Really, I was standing up for my right to learn during training. It took months, emotional turmoil, and persistence on my part to help management realized how biased they were and get them to listen to both sides before making judgments. Though ultimately management did listen to me and even agreed with me, there was still a lot of covering up of past mistakes while ostracizing people with valid criticism. This dynamic was made worse by the constant worry of losing one's job and the inadequate pay offered to employees. People were obsessed with approval, so they could establish job security and move up to making more money, instead of doing the right thing. There was a huge fear of making mistakes and therefore were more interested in "looking smart" than in learning from mistakes. This happens when job expectations are unrealistic. As a side note, the job in customer service is very unhealthy. Sitting for 8 hours a day with cake and pizza rolling around created many huge people around the company. I gained 30 pounds in less than a year, all of which simply started melting away the moment I left the company and returned to my original career.

    Advice to Management

    Update your systems and information tools to be more helpful to your employees. Treat everyone fairly. Enough already with all of the surprise layoffs. Ease up on management, so you can afford to pay your reps enough money to live in King and Snohomish counties. Break up the time reps spend on the phones, and stop shoving carbohydrates and sugar into their mouths to show appreciation.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Jan 31, 2017 – Vice President, Customer Service

    It sounds like your time with Premera did not get off to the best start. We appreciate you providing that feedback in real time to ensure everyone involved could improve. Technology is a primary ... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Better than average"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Senior IT Analyst in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Mostly a good company. Standard benefits, and the pay is OK although it lags the market a bit. The work culture is relaxed in most departments; the dress code is casual. Although the company does little to encourage professional development, internal transfers are easy.

    Cons

    Senior management has too many vice presidents. They seem to lack direction, and they don't communicate with staff effectively. Instead of taking responsibility for failure they pretend it didn't happen. Raises are minimal, so negotiate a high starting pay.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie. Touting vaporware accomplishments on all-employee phone calls is not inspiring. Hold your directors accountable for accomplishing specific goals. Release of information by gossip is a sub-par communication plan, and does not contribute to a stable work environment.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Director, IT Management

    Thank for taking the time to provide honest feedback. Sharing information about the organizations direction is a top priority. Premera will continue to explore different ways to communicate our ... More


  7. "Customer Service Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employee satisfaction was high, moral is kept healthy. They want to improve, and they do, from the inside, to be efficient and effective in a sensitive market. Many of the upper employees are former CSR's, so they know the pain.

    Being able to help people, both in the call center, and out in the real world. There are times I helped people build spreadsheets to organize their medical messes. I loved working with the public.

    Cons

    Mean people, on the outside, whom you're trying to help.

    Red tape. Changes can't happen on a whim, though they really could be, if planned for.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin' on!

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Dec 29, 2016 – Vice President, Customer Service

    As a Customer Service Representative, you have the opportunity to help countless people and impact healthcare for the better. We thank you for identifying with the customer and going out of your way ... More


  8. Helpful (5)

    "IT Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good location. Flexible hours. Free parking. Good co-workers.

    Cons

    No trust in management. Said all the right things but rarely followed through. Mediocre benefits for a high tech company.

    Advice to Management

    They don't listen anyway.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Director, IT Management

    While challenging to hear that your experience with leadership was not what you'd hoped, we want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are always looking for opportunities to ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Ter, WA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mountlake Ter, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free health insurance policy, easy time off scheduling.

    Cons

    Sick and vacation time is combined, so leaves with not much if you have a planned vacation.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Dec 29, 2016 – Vice President, Customer Service

    We are pleased to offer health insurance to our employees at a greatly reduced premium. We thank you for your feedback!


  10. "Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst III in Lynnwood, WA
    Current Employee - Business Analyst III in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premera Blue Cross full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Local company with over 3,000 employees. Great Benefits! Have worked for Premera Blue Cross for over 14 years in various departments throughout the organization. On site parking and flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    Currently downsizing due to the economy. Other than that, I really don't have anything negative to say. They've been a stable organization for many, many years.

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Dec 13, 2016 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your many, many years of working at Premera. We appreciate your commitment to great work!


  11. Helpful (8)

    "Petrified Wood - Hard and needing to change"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Mountlake Terrace, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premera Blue Cross full-time

    Pros

    There are a few excellent leaders, new and old, trying to do the right things. Lead by example, try new things, admit/celebrate and learn from their mistakes. The industry is in flux and that makes things hard for all. There are however

    Cons

    A mindset and culture in flux that continues to protect, move around the chairs and tolerate behaviors that are not health. There is old school leadership, like DY, that's been intrusted and done more things negatively and to so many. Yet, for some unknown reason, these behaviors are tolerated and others are push out, asked to leave or leave due to burnout.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make more hard, and not so hard, decisions, closer to the top. Continue to be frank and share information. It's ok to admit what you don't know, but include plans to find out

    Premera Blue Cross Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Director, IT Management

    We appreciate your honest and candid feedback. Changing our culture takes time. However, we will continue to do the right things and lead by example. Your feedback will help us continue to enhance ... More


Showing 416 of 427 reviews
Reset Filters