Presbyterian Healthcare Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Presbyterian Healthcare Services Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Presbyterian Healthcare Services CEO Dale Maxwell
Dale Maxwell
54 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Presbyterian Healthcare Services for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great Leadership at the top

      Cons

      Politics gets in the way

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-11-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Well meaning but chaotic organization."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      People there work really hard and genuinely care about their customers.

      Cons

      Way too much work for the amount of staff they have. Constantly in emergency mode. Difficult to take the time to concentrate on any one thing for very long.

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-12-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Silo culture with some cliques. But, overall, acceptable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - HCC Risk Analyst in Albuquerque, NM
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly employees at face value. Relatively competitive pay for the area

      Cons

      Culture very much has a CYA mentality. Hard to innovate, contribute, etc when new ideas can quickly become pointed fingers

      Advice to Management

      Add team-building with multi departmental teams.

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-11-16
    • Helpful (4)

      "Former analytics consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time

      Pros

      Teammates and boss are supportive and friendly CoPay Plus health insurance plan was reasonable given the great level of coverage

      Cons

      Senior clinical leadership in Quality are too stuck in their old ways and are downright mean. They will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat. Politics are rampant. High turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Get in some new blood at the VP and Director levels in the Quality Institute.

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-10-17
    • "Clinic LPN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Clinical Nurse in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Presbyterian Healthcare Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Coworkers, benefits, no blame atmosphere

      Cons

      As with most health systems, big wigs like to hand down new processes without ever having done hands on work. Mostly making things more difficult for front line folks.

      Advice to Management

      Ask front line employees input before implementing new processes. When implementing these processes, make sure it functions.

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-10-07
    • "Cash Research Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albuquerque, NM

      I have been working at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The pay was very good,

      Cons

      Too much politics in the office.

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-10-08
    • "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time

      Pros

      Benefits are acceptable. Room for growth with the nursing industry.

      Cons

      Management needs work. PAY

      Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-10-01
    • "Good place to work depending on unit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Presbyterian Healthcare Services part-time

        Pros

        The staff in my unit is amazing and so is our manager, pay us good compared to other hospitals in town. It seems like the hospital cares about it’s nurses and tries to do right by them

        Cons

        On my previous unit the management and staff morale was terrible. Benefits are okay, a little expensive now with the changes made last year to the high deductible plan. PTO is used as part of your sick call ins and census managed shifts so it’s hard to save up.

        Advice to Management

        Make sure your managers are actually doing performance evaluations, my former unit I got one eval done and we never even talked about my nursing performance.

        Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-09-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Company, but very hard to get employed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Patient Access Advocate I in Albuquerque, NM
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Benefits- 401k, PTO starts on your first day, competitive health insurance starts on your first day, paid training Their story from where they started which spills into their values is beautiful! I lived by the CARES values.

        Cons

        During my training on EPIC software, I was required after 2 weeks to pass a "Skills Check" test with an 85% or higher. If you did not pass, you were terminated. The test itself was on every department that has registration (ER, L&D, Front Desk, GI Surgery,etc) even if it wasn't your department you were hired for. I felt like that's a lot of unnecessary pressure for an entry level job that barely pays over the minimum...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Second chances should be given to those who barely miss the skills check by 3 points instead of making them feel less than their worth because they failed after two weeks of training.

        Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-09-01
      • Helpful (3)

        "Training is minimal, massive expectations"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Care Coordinator in Albuquerque, NM
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Presbyterian Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Money good, insurance ridiculous expensive

        Cons

        Management unsupportive, demanding, expectations huge

        Advice to Management

        Learn how to supervise and be a LEADER not a corporate robot. The training was inadequate and brief, too much time was spent in webinars and live seminars that had nothing to do with convoluted and intricate software system that trainees are expected to learn virtually overnight. The "mentors" were not adequately trained to TEACH trainees how to navigate the software, and there was a condescending attitude of "it just...

        Show More
        Presbyterian Healthcare Services2018-10-02
      Found 181 reviews