PresenceLearning Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
PresenceLearning CEO Kate Eberle Walker
Kate Eberle Walker
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No benefits as it's a contract position only(in 13 reviews)

  • "Going through growing pains at this time(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "School Partnership Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, but never being "alone". The support here from co-workers, support people and HR has been fantastic! While some companies where I've worked are more about what can be done for them, PL is actually about helping students and schools.

    Cons

    There really aren't any to post!

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-10-28
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Company I've Worked for as a Contractor!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Psychologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PresenceLearning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes you work so many hours you get a large check. But then you're on a 1099 so you end up paying it all back at the ens of the year.

    Cons

    No loyalty to contractors, report mill and if you try to tailor reports to help and support the students you get in trouble. Minimal video-based training with no support other than people telling you to work faster. Feel bad for districts who contract with this place it's all smoke and mirrors. They snag a district then throw all the evaluations in a spreadsheet and tell all the psychs here you go . Most of the time psychs take more than they can complete and the district is left holding the bag at the end of the year. Worst untrained middle management personnel and poorly organized. Frequently make promises they cannot keep just to make a dollar. So sad how they trick districts into purchasing such an overpriced system then never deliver.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2020-04-15

    PresenceLearning Response

    April 22, 2020Recruiter

    We are sorry to hear that you’ve had a negative experience in your work with PL. We appreciate that the work we do in support of school special education teams requires supporting and prioritizing a quality experience for many important stakeholders - for our students, our school partners, our PL employees, and certainly for our clinical contractors like you. We do our best to match our school psychologist contractors with school teams that will be a great fit for their clinical approach. When there is mis-alignment we learn from it and continue improving, so thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, grounded people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PresenceLearning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best people to work with, great core values, great location, good healthcare coverage

    Cons

    Work from home flexibility could have been a little better

    PresenceLearning2020-03-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bumpy ride"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Partnership Associate in Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    motivated management that worked towards your success

    Cons

    As a start-up, direction seemed to change every couple of weeks. They seemed to keep trying new procedures and kept getting the same result. It's a tough market that takes time and patience to crack.

    PresenceLearning2020-03-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A great start out place for technicians"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work at Presence Learning: 1. A great entry place to start for technical experience, doesn't require any real previous experience with technical issues. 2. Snack bar in office is always filled to grab something when you would like to, this honestly saves you money and is very convenient, paying $10+ in snacks at the store compared to the drinks, coffee, chips etc... That are in office is very nice 3. The cases honestly are never too hard just can be time consuming, which for the pay isn't too bad 4. Office culture is pretty good , everyone usually works well together.

    Cons

    Some downsides here: 1. No real way to move up in the company as technicians, pretty much stuck at Tier 2 being your highest unless there's a possible position opening in other departments which provide no technical aspects. 2. Work load increase, no pay increase to match the increase in workload. Since starting within this position we've taken on so much more responsibility and work load that you would think may increase the wage but that isn't the case. The positions have combined work from other departments that requires more training. 3. Positions not being backfilled. When positions become vacant, upper management refuse to backfill them and force more responsibility on others.

    PresenceLearning2020-02-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Collaborative Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The leadership team listens to it's employees and makes informed decisions that benefit all stakeholders. Teams collaborate to achieve the best results for our students, providers, and clients. Everyone is positive and ready to jump in when times get busy.

    Cons

    No cons experienced at this time. Everyone does their part to make this a strong and successful organization.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-10-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Focused Leadership, Amazing Cause"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a really nice company to work for. Everyone is really driven and friendly so the days fly by. Because you're helping kids in need you can always feel your work matters. Leadership is getting much better! They have clear goals and strategies they are communicating and I get clear feedback and direction on my projects and tasks.

    Cons

    This is a national company so we work in multiple timezones. There are three offices and many remote employees so you need to manage your time well in order to get in the needed meetings and communication. Culture is a bit uneven due to past tumult in the company but it's leveling out and I have faith it will improve as the common personality trait is friendly, helpful, and driven.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-06-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Mission-driven company with great leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to do good things for kids with special ed needs. A lot of new energy from new hires including all new exec team.

    Cons

    A lot of changes have been made, I think for the better but it can be hard to go through it.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-05-31
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Love this company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - School Partnership Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PresenceLearning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and collaborative environment. What Presence Learning offers truly hits on a huge need for schools across the nation. This is a career that you can feel good about, as you are making a difference in the lives of many. Presence Learning has an exceptional culture. It's a very positive working environment.

    Cons

    Lots of internal meetings.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-05-21
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Shimmering teams, Questionable leadership"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PresenceLearning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I met working here are truly a phenomenal bunch. They are the reason I chose to stay as long as I did and I will miss them all. It was great mission based work and I will miss the passion people felt for what they were doing there.

    Cons

    The company doesn’t know how to gauge growth and the new CEO comes off as steely. She is slowly shifting most new management hires to New York, leaving the tenured teams they manage in SF and SLC, in limbo. Since she has started, she laid off the SF office manager and support for the SF office has been drastically declined. During her first all hands meeting, she announced she was writing a book. Since that didn’t go too well, she decreased those weekly meetings to one monthly meeting. With that in mind, I can’t help but feel like her “work” here is all a self promotion tactic for future books.

    Continue reading
    PresenceLearning2019-05-21

    PresenceLearning Response

    June 11, 2019Senior Leader

    PresenceLearning has evolved from an SF-headquartered startup into a distributed company with half of our employees working remotely and the balance working across 3 offices in NY, SF and Salt Lake City. While this shift away from a single headquarters has been challenging for some, including this departed employee, it has been energizing for most who have stayed with us as we’ve grown. We believe that the future of the workforce includes flexible schedules and multi-location structures that bring together a diverse pool of employees who represent a range of backgrounds and geographies.

Found 134 reviews