Press Ganey Reviews | Glassdoor

Press Ganey Reviews

Updated June 30, 2017
203 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

203 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Flexibility to work from home (for some positions) (in 13 reviews)

  • Work-Life Balance: Great company to work for with a good (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • slightly lower starting salary than I would have preferred but worth it for the work life balance (in 7 reviews)

  • Every position does require a lot of work but you do get recognized for your hard work (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Dr. Press & Dr. Ganey would be extremely disappointed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Experience Advisor
    Former Employee - Patient Experience Advisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Press Ganey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, very intelligent. Care deeply about customers. Employees are trying to do what is right for customers.

    Cons

    VERY, VERY, TOP HEAVy with regard to overpaid executives. Lots of layers between top and the "worker bees". Expectation to work weekends and even while on vacation. COO is proud of the fact that he, nor the CEO, have ever been away from their phones or email for even a day. Management team has taken their eye off the ball and other companies are getting a leg up.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees. Listen to what they say. The award for being a top place to work is a joke.


  2. Helpful (9)

    "Looks can be deceiving...watch out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Experience Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Patient Experience Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Press Ganey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Press Ganey uses old technology for their surveys and data collection, but they are proven over time. They still have the deepest bench over all other vendors in the space. They are expensive, but their should be a premium price to pay when comparing your organization to the cream of the crop. Until more companies leave to go to other vendors, Press Ganey will have the advantage of more data.

    Cons

    When I joined this company 5+ years ago, I definitely had on rose-colored glasses. I was educated by Studer, and to me, Press Ganey was always THE PLACE TO BE. They had a great reputation of being well-educated, scientific, family-oriented, employee and customer-centric. It was like that when I first started. However, the company has grown, the management has changed and things are no longer how Drs. Press and Ganey intended for the company to be. It is sad because it really had the potential to do great things. The executive team is all about the "reduction of suffering." That seems like a good thing, right? However, what has been happening of late is that the "suffering" is being directed at the employees. The Management Team is fear-based and punitive. It is not the "collaborative" environment that we preach to our clients. It's sad because I think that the current Management Team is taking Press Ganey down and allowing the competition to get a strong foothold. There were days when I didn't have to worry that my customer was going to be here tomorrow; there just wasn't anywhere credible for them to go -- those days are over. In talking about improvement with my customers, I am finding that they have talked to our competition and they are considering moving to other vendors. They feel that PG has changed and the service level has suffered. I continue to try to provide exceptional customer service to my clients, but it gets harder and harder due to the environment that the PG Management has created. It is a very caustic culture. DON'T EVER MAKE A MISTAKE because the senior leadership does not tolerate mistakes and punishment will be forthcoming (even if it is something very small; you will be written up and put on "a plan.") NOT FUN!

    Advice to Management

    The Golden Rule should apply -- treat others as you would like to be treated. You have too many levels of management and you have lost the ability to connect with the employees and the clients. Everyone is noticing, even if you aren't.

    Press Ganey Response

    Sep 24, 2015 – Director of Internal Communications

    Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you are frustrated with your experience at Press Ganey. I’d like to clarify a few points included in your review. This year, there have been a... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Layoff happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Bend, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Press Ganey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    This company offers good, very specialized, experience in the short-term.

    Cons

    Likes to layoff entire departments at a time. A lot of people's jobs just up and disappear. Would not recommend for long-term career paths. The disappearance of departments also puts a strain on other departments.

    Advice to Management

    It is profitable to replace positions filled by people with technology, but I would advise such a high turnover rate among people at least be looked into.

    Press Ganey Response

    Mar 17, 2016 – VP, Human Resources and Org Development

    Thank you for your feedback and especially for your service over the past 3+ years. Press Ganey is committed to cultivating ongoing professional development at all levels and recognize how essential... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Could be better.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    My immediate teammates, the flexibility and PTO.

    Cons

    Complaints and concerns are not addressed, workload is beyond manageable, department heads are never seen nor heard, basically just have to keep your head down and keep quiet because nothing will change. Either have to decide to deal with it, or quit. I am dealing with it because even though the pay is low for the massive workload & expectations, it's unfortunately competitive for this area.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employees more and image less.

    Press Ganey Response

    Apr 11, 2016 – VP, Human Resources and Org Development

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased that you appreciate the flexibility and other benefits that Press Ganey provides. Benefits such as these are the direct result of listening to the voices of... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Press Ganey Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Bend, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Bend, IN
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Press Ganey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The health benefits offered to employees at Press Ganey are amazing. The health benefits as well as knowing our employment positions will contribute to I improving the quality of care patients will receive in their future visits. This responsibility is incredibly important and makes the job worthwhile.

    Cons

    However, downsides occur with any job. Lack of communication from the Management to Supervisors to Leads to associates leaves a lot to be desired and is a continual problem. The communication difficulties is a factor is every aspect of the many job responsibilities and can cause multiple unnecessary issues.


  6. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Press Ganey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    can set your own hours

    Cons

    Lots of mandatory OT, rude supervisors, company no longer cares about employees, com,pany no longer cares about getting information accurate - it's more about quantity, then quality

    Advice to Management

    close.


  7. Helpful (6)

    "RD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Press Ganey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Money but don't be fooled by the offer, you will be required to work 24/7 and that won't be enough

    Cons

    Dishonest leadership, no work life balance, punitive culture, lack of leadership accountability, lots of turnover, technology highly inferior to competitors, massive workload, highly toxic environment, need I say more?

    Advice to Management

    Gain a better understanding of what's happening at the local level, practice what you preach-implement the employee engagement strategies you teach clients at your org, it would go a long way to improving the culture

    Press Ganey Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    At Press Ganey we view our own culture with the same high level of commitment and focus as our clients. Through our own engagement solution, we regularly solicit feedback and measure our performance... More

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Slaughterhouse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Director in South Bend, IN
    Former Employee - Sales Director in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Press Ganey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Can't think of any pros.

    Cons

    Before it was bought out by an equity firm, it was a very good culture. After the buyout, many employees were let go on a regular basis for no reasons given.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to appreciate the employees that support you.

    Press Ganey Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – HR Director

    At Press Ganey, we’re proud of the culture that you referenced and that is reflected by our recognition on Becker’s list of the top places to work in healthcare, but we’re sorry you didn’t feel that... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cutthroat Sales Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive
    Former Employee - Sales Executive
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Press Ganey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Used to be a good company with realistic sales goals. Now it is full of cronies rubbing each other's backs.

    Cons

    Horrible sales leadership. They have unrealistic expectations and do not live up to them themselves. Incredibly unsupportive and hypocritical. Sales at Press Ganey is now a revolving door with good sales people leaving or "resigning" on a regular basis. All of this stems from the top sales leadership's lack of character and professionalism, all the while creating a cutthroat sales environment. If you are looking for a job in sales, I would look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Leading through intimidation is not leadership.

    Press Ganey Response

    May 4, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Press Ganey’s sales team is central to providing exceptional service and partnership with clients as they advance the delivery of patient-centered care. This commitment... More


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Unusual Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Press Ganey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits are great. There is a lot of flexibility to take time off if needed. Not much else I can say is a pro.

    Cons

    Management, inconsistencies across teams, lack of ability to move up or around in the company. Thoughts and ideas aren't too valued.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that are fit to be managers. Create some consistency throughout different teams. Work on promoting from within.

    Press Ganey Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Press Ganey is proud to foster an associate-driven culture. As reflected by our recognition on Becker’s list of the top places to work in health care for the past three... More


Showing 203 of 216 reviews
Reset Filters