KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pressler & Pressler

Is this your company?

Pressler & Pressler

Add a Review

Pressler & Pressler Employee Reviews about "lunch break"

Updated Apr 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 74 reviews

2.0
17%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Pressler & Pressler Managing Partner Sheldon H. Pressler (no image)
Sheldon H. Pressler
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule open 8am -8pm so you can make your 40 hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "They have flexible hours so you get to choose what 8 hr shift you want to work(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management sucks, no raises, hassle you about a 20 minute lunch and get on your case about why you missed 3 hours of work(in 13 reviews)

  • "20 min paid lunch break and no other breaks (take any longer you have to stay later)(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Law

    Join the conversation on

    Law

    2m

    an 

    Associate Attorney

    It seems partners are much more flexible with associates who have kids than with those who don’t. If it’s okay for my colleague with a kid to leave at 5 pm and log on later, why isn’t that the same for me (no kids)? My obligations might be different, but I still have a life and want to be able to do certain things, like catch that evening workout class or cook dinner for my partner. As you can probably tell, my firm is operating 100% in person. There is no point here — I’m just whining.

    3,186

    396 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "lunch break"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good for young people

      May 28, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Good training. Excellent benefits. Young, focused staff.

      Cons

      No sensitivity to new mothers, breastfeeding mothers. I realize this is specific but there are 9 of us pregnant at the same time and somehow I was the only one who came back needing time to pump milk for my baby. I ended up quitting because I had to pump 4 times a day for a total of 1 hour (unpaid) in a dirty storage closet that did not lock. I was eating my lunch at my desk to try and make up for lost time since lunch breaks were also unpaid.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful experience as paralegal. Should have never given them a try.

      Apr 26, 2018 - Paralegal in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule open 8am -8pm so you can make your 40 hours. Easy interview. Decent starting pay for paralegal for $16 an hour.

      Cons

      You’re not a paralegal, you’re basically a telemarketer who is on the phone all day. It’s so easy to mess up and get fired. If you clock in and take long to log into the system, it notifies your boss. They track everywhere you are in the building. If you work 8 hours, you only get 20 min lunch break. Anything less is only 10 min lunch break. You don’t know who the attorneys are. People curse you out on the phone everyday. Terrible environment and very boring. I heard bad things about this job and decided to give them a chance. Dumb decision on my part. First few weeks are training and you learn about the process of collecting money. First week you take a 175 question test

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      A Boiler Room- Cubicle Farm

      Aug 10, 2016 - Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have your own desk and chair.

      Cons

      -Management is run by pretentious, unsophisticated and unprofessional frat boy personalities. -Management is often uninformed and uneducated in their field; a google and youtube search will laundry list this operation's numerous violations and complaints. -Nepotism and favoritism appear to determine growth potential rather than one's resume. -Unreasonably oppressive, strong arm tactics are often employed to collect against debtors. -Lunch Breaks are only 20 minutes. -No snacks allowed on the desk. -The break room is often filthy. -The company closely monitors everyone through use of surveillance cameras. -Raises are scarce, almost non-existent. -Benefits are excessively expensive. -High turnover rate. -As a result of the above, morale is extremely low.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Stay far away

      Aug 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have flexible hours so you get to choose what 8 hr shift you want to work. Comprehensive training.

      Cons

      20 minute lunch break, stressful work environment, lots of work put on one's shoulders.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Paralegal

      Jan 14, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely none. Horrible work environment no room for growth. Micromanaged to an unhealthy degree. All upper management people are so unprofessional. The women are very catty.

      Cons

      Poor pay. 20 minute lunch break. If you go over it you have to make the time up or you get in trouble.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Skiptracer

      Jun 29, 2015 - Assetloc Skiptracing in Pompton Plains, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flex hours,good benefits and paid time off

      Cons

      no radios or I phones allowed,20 minute paid lunch break instead of 30 minute unpaid,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Collections

      Apr 2, 2015 - Paralegal in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good pay and preparation for the next career move -Team environment -Possibility of bonus depending on performance -Flexible hours

      Cons

      -20 min paid lunch break and no other breaks (take any longer you have to stay later) -Getting screamed at on the phone by angry debtors -Unclear direction at times -Staring at the computer screen all day -Micromanagement (Everything is strictly monitored including number of calls/minutes away from desk/amount collected from arrangements)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok if right out of college

      Sep 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only decent thing about working there are some of the people you meet there, very casual dress code, pay is decent for young 20-something

      Cons

      20 minute lunch break, no room to grow, took bonuses away, management cares very little about employees

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The worst year of my life.

      Feb 27, 2013 - Paralegal in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are allowed to go home after you've worked exactly 8 hours. Some of the people that I met are nice. The hours are flexible... if you work 40 of them per week.

      Cons

      You aren't a real paralegal; you're a debt collector with a nicer title. You make phone calls to angry people who might be innocent, they just are unfortunate enough to have the same name as the "defendant" and that's enough to get a judgment on them, lower their credit scores and potentially ruin their lives financially. The pay is extremely low for the amount of stress you endure. Every second is monitored. Lunch breaks are exactly 20 minutes long and every second you go over you need to "make it up" by staying later. The computer system is outdated by 20 years and hurts your eyes with the black and yellow contrast.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Dishonesty in wholesale amounts

      Dec 6, 2012 - Paralegal in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays relatively well for recent grads in a time where the global economy is not in a great place A 2 week training period explaining the theoretical aspects to collections Consistent feedback, either on-the-spot or periodically Great colleagues Set your own schedule (kind of..)

      Cons

      20 minute lunch break Nit-picks on your contribution to the team in order to ensure NO raise is ever given NO advancement whatsoever unless you're very chummy with the powers that be The churn and burn rate is ridiculous -- average life expectancy is a year

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pressler & Pressler Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pressler & Pressler? Share Your Experiences

    or