Pressley Ridge Reviews | Glassdoor

Pressley Ridge Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
53%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Pressley Ridge CEO Susanne L. Cole, MA (no image)
Susanne L. Cole, MA
21 Ratings
  1. "Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pressley Ridge full-time

    Pros

    Made some lifelong friends with co-workers

    Cons

    Little to no training - you just get thrown into the fire. No substitute teachers if main teacher calls off - the other classrooms staff and aides have to cover.

    Pressley Ridge2018-10-03
  2. "“ Doing whatever it takes”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers are the best people I have worked with and we have a transparent and direct way of communication ; we’re a tight-knit group and they are always willing to support. This is the only place I’ve ever felt appreciated and have a director willing to sit down and come up with plans to help you succeed. Consistently growing program needed for the community. Benefits are decent considering the size of the... company. Opportunities for training and supervision. Opportunities for overtime for hourly employees. Flexibility in schedule and pretty solid PTO. I can see myself professionally growing and personally succeeding since working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Bad review from sinking/poorly ran programs will deter anyone to work here. With a growing program, there comes a slow change to keep up and it’s easy to drown in paperwork. Lots of employees beign here for 10+ years not doing a thing...and they’re not going anywhere...so job grown will be tight. Feels like while other depts/programs struggle, we must struggle with them. Company wide communication is lacking,... some dept/ programs are great with communication, others not so much. Micromanaging. Safety on campus for employees and visitors. Not enough office space/environment to comfortably house employees and clients...we’re basically working on top of each other.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut lose senior management from poor preforming programs, start from scratch or close the programs...you’re putting other programs at risk by holding them up-float.

    Pressley Ridge2018-08-09
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pennsylvania in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great training.

    Cons

    Can be very stressful and challenging

    Advice to Management

    Communication is important!

    Pressley Ridge2018-06-30
  4. "Focus on money not children and families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pressley Ridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the schools and children Pay Coworkers- opportunities to get to know great coworkers and build connections that way.

    Cons

    Management- lots of turn over and little training, told “look at packet” when asked a question- trained myself. Director unreachable, favoritism is HIGH. Will express it’s a safe place to express your concerns, and you will be turned on and thrown under the bus. Does not follow their own policies- they are not sure what their policies are. Set unrealistic expectations and reprimanding you for not achieving them-... have case load of 40 clients and see them weekly Unethical practices, such as backdating, predating, and presigning clinical documents are typical, supported and expected. EXTREMELY toxic atmosphere if you do not follow through with unethical practices.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what people are telling you, train your employees, when a concern is brought to your attention listen to their concern, don’t brush it off or assume it’s not truthful. Examine your employees including supervisors.

    Pressley Ridge2018-05-29
  5. "Too Many Managers not enough worker bees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher/Counselor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pressley Ridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a job—-pretty sure you could make more $$$ doing Anything else and be happier, healthier, and better off

    Cons

    Intrinsic motivation only goes so far. Pressley Ridge offers poor pay, poor benefits— healthcare is poor (which isn’t good cause with this employer you’ll need it!) and retirement 403b is horrendous. Plus, they don’t contribute to employee retirement unless you have even been there I believe a min. two years. For Most employers in this hot job market, it is 1 yr. I assume the main reason is because turnover is... very high. Overall, the social service field use to attract talent due to benefits but these benefits appear to be gone—it encourages the talented employees to seek better paying jobs in the private sector. The organization values don’t align with the way they treat employees—there is Zero work life balance so don’t apply if you want to see your family like ever!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In order to create a true culture change it would require a complete organization overhaul/restructure. Organization needs to learn how to create revenue and stop relying on government for $$$$ to fund programs. As boomers retire, prepare your gen x managers and leaders via better training. I actually feel bad for millennials who take jobs here for the practical experience. Millennials you’ll be fed to the... wolves. Talent will leave in a year or so like everyone under the age of 30. An MBA would look at Pressley Ridge and go how many managers and directors does an organization this size need? It is so top heavy, it makes liberals question the costs. It is 2018, go lean! What is missing in education/healthcare? Pay for performance not for employees who just show up! Your high performers will resent it and leave. Additionally, spread the nepotism hires around —don’t make it look so obvious on how they got the job.

    Show More
    Pressley Ridge2018-05-02
  6. "Treatment Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Treatment Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, trainings, location, some of the staff

    Cons

    Case loads may exceed the max

    Advice to Management

    Pay more momey

    Pressley Ridge2018-02-20
  7. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great vision for Children and Families

    Cons

    Policy changes occur too often

    Pressley Ridge2018-02-14
  8. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Counselor in Clarksburg, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to help kids Good medical, vision, and dental benefits 401b the company matches A lot of overtime available Somewhat Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Underpaid Unorganized Some days are Mentally and emotionally exhausting High turnover which causes a lack of consistency Several supervisors so it is confusing to know who to report to

    Pressley Ridge2018-02-02
  9. "Stay away from this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Counselor in Morgantown, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pressley Ridge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Medical Benefits... That is about it. Unless you like to have overtime, there is plenty of that with the horrible turn over rate. They do sign on bonuses, but good luck getting those because no one lasts long enough to get them.

    Cons

    The pay is worth as much as dirt. Lowest paid in the field. The company finds shady ways to not pay their employees the correct amount. They will "force" you to take up positions at other facilities without any compensation. Unless you are willing to truly follow orders without thinking for yourself, you will eventually be phased out. "Drink to the kool-aid" mentality. This life / work balance will drain you till... you can no longer bring anything to the table and then that's when they will find a way to replace you. The employee turn around is awful, one moment you are greeting your co-worker next thing its someone new fresh out of college with no experience because its cheaper. Promotions are a joke, you literally have to wait till someone gets fired / dies and let the trickle down effect happen to even have a chance, but even that is corrupted based on supervisor's personal approval of you. This would literally go on and on, but you by now have read enough to know this is not worth your time. You could get a better job from anything else: Academy, Golden Girls, Stepping Stones, etc. etc. etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your frontline staff, stop making decisions based on how easy it would make your own job, and finally bring up the quality of life for residential employees.

    Pressley Ridge2018-02-24
  10. "Do not work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pressley Ridge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch at school cafeteria

    Cons

    I never write online reviews, but this time I just had to. Employers at Pressley left me feeling underappreciated, undervalued, and overworked...as most employees would agree. Criticism is dished out freely while positive feedback is deeply lacking. These and many other issues create an uncomfortable work environment with extremely high turnover; I witnessed SIX coworkers quit within the span of only a few months.... People were dropping like flies and office morale was painfully low. Not to mention the awful salaries, stingy pay raises, expensive health insurance, and limited upward mobility. I could say a lot more, but I think you catch my drift. I genuinely advise against working for Pressley Ridge unless you're ok with scrambling to find a new job in under a year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers with respect and dignity.

    Pressley Ridge2018-02-01
Found 53 reviews