Priceline.com Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Priceline.com Developer Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
28%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Priceline.com CEO Brett Keller (no image)
Brett Keller
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good environment, nice team and growth

    Cons

    sometimes people are rude to junior developers

    Priceline.com2017-04-01
  2. "Amazingly cool place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fun and there felt a sense of team.

    Cons

    It was long hours and nights

    Priceline.com2019-05-05
  3. Helpful (6)

    "One of the worst places to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on hotel rates for employees

    Cons

    -Engineers are not intelligent. -Management does not research before taking up project. Important projects end up being infeasible in the middle and its scrapped resulting in a lot of hard work going to waste. - No notion of code review in teams. - Feedback is not given on timely basis -There are teach managers of teams who have not even looked at code and spend their time with personal stuff during office hours.... -Office has no area to have fun and relax.( There is 1 ping-pong table and its outdoors, meaning no playing during winter)

    Show More
    Priceline.com2017-09-24
  4. Helpful (6)

    "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Frontend Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work life balance, I was surprised some reviewer(s) said they have to be online 24/7 because that's not the case for anyone on my team... depends on manager maybe - Modern and evolving tech stack with encouragement for devs to experiment and learn new things - NYC office has a lot of smart and nice people and a good location - Compensation is fair for the amount of work you are expected to put in

    Cons

    - Claims to award advancement and pay increases for merit, but it's hard to tell if that's the truth or not, and long-term employees are not treated as well - Too much focus on process and making the numbers look good - Norwalk office environment is not as modern as NYC

    Advice to Management

    - Chillax with the agile stuff - Treat long-term loyal employees better with more compensation/pto/snacks/advancement... I've worked here for less than a year and even I can see that new hires are treated better, which is probably one of the main reasons the turnover rate has been high in the last year - Give the Norwalk office free snacks ;)

    Priceline.com2017-03-10
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New York Office has a very start up feel to it. Foosball, ping pong, beer. Sunday work jitters is no longer a thing for me, I look forward to coming into the office. Great colleagues, department heads listen if you speak up. Wonderful benefits. Upward mobility is great here too.

    Cons

    Big company means too many meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Priceline.com2015-10-08
  6. Helpful (5)

    "In search of traction as compared its peers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    internet technologies, group companies strength makes it look good to the outside world

    Cons

    lack of internal visibility over employee growth. . Temporary solutions tends to continue for ever. Lack of courage to wake up to reality. Talents are not properly engaged...

    Advice to Management

    Recognize committed talents.

    Priceline.com2013-07-25
  7. "Winnipeg Management Needs to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere between most employees. Good perks (benefits, free gym, free drinks/food)

    Cons

    The management in the Winnipeg office is horrible. They were put into their positions because of seniority and not actual management skills. I've heard multiple stories of them lying to employees as well as saying they won't hire girls because they will get pregnant and take mat leave.

    Advice to Management

    Rethink how you promote people into places of management and make sure they are skilled at managing and not just skilled technically.

    Priceline.com2019-07-02
  8. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Development Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, work from home, travel perks, no micro-management

    Cons

    Average salary, unrealistic expectations sometimes, poor bonus plan

    Priceline.com2016-08-25
Found 8 reviews