Priceline.com Employee Reviews about "priceline"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Priceline.com CEO Brett Keller (no image)
Brett Keller
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work-life balance and cutting edge technology(in 44 reviews)

  • "Additionally, Priceline has a Great Culture w/ excellent work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Priceline prides itself on being lean, unfortunately this also extends to how it compensates its employees(in 15 reviews)

  • "It’s nice that everyone is dedicated, but the work/life balance can get overwhelming at times(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "priceline"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work and amazing culture

      Feb 21, 2020 - Talent Acquisition in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      THE PEOPLE by far! Additionally, Priceline has a Great Culture w/ excellent work life balance

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A regular big company with lower pay but good W/L balance

      Jan 19, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good people The people you work closely with are friendly and generally pleasant. * Ok benefits * Good work/life balance I've rarely felt overworked. If you're green engineer, when joining you can learn a lot for up to a period.

      Cons

      * Below market pay Priceline prides itself on being lean, unfortunately this also extends to how it compensates its employees. I've talked to others who've felt the same. *No meritocracy *Lack of passion I truly get the feeling that many IC's and managers lack passion/ownership in their work, possibly due to being undercompensated, or underrecognized or its a vicious circle where they lose interest because the people around them have already lost it. * Lack of technical product management Product managers have narrow views for features as they're not technical enough to see more feature possibilities which leads to lack of growth.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for submitting this thoughtful review. We take pride in treating all employees fairly and equitably, most especially as it relates to compensation. We regularly benchmark externally to assess our competitiveness in the market for talent and adjust if warranted. We differentiate pay based on performance each year during our compensation planning process. In turn, we have an incredibly dedicated, talented and passionate group of employees that are driven daily by our collective desire to bring the very best deals to our customers - so they can experience the moments that matter most to them. We wish you well in this next step in your career and trust you’ve found a place that best suits your personal passions.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Once was great

      Aug 18, 2020 - Product Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked with many talented people over my time at Priceline and made life-long friends. Great culture in the NY office with lots of parties and events for different holidays. The CEO tries to be transparent and has regular CEO updates which can be more informative and interesting than other companies I've worked at. Have a lot of internal tools to support your work, especially on the data side. Decent benefits and PTO policy.

      Cons

      You have to tip toe around leadership. Lots of politics. No training for future leaders and managers. You only get management training once you become a manager so people in a "lead" position get no training on mentoring or coaching. Too many meetings. People would set up meetings to decide what they were going to meet about. I had to block off my calendar in 1–2 hour increments to make it look like my schedule was full in order to get a day of work in with no meetings. There are some toxic leaders from c-suite down to managers. People were hired without being interviewed because they had worked previously with a c-suite employee. There was an entire team that was having difficulty with their manager and HR did nothing about it and put the blame back on the ICs. ICs are never asked to review or give feedback on their manager. Design team was extremely under-resourced for years. Some teams had 1 designer to 3–4 PMs. The designers had to rush through their work and many times had to forgo research to move quickly. The design team has had a very high turnover rate and in 2019 about 6 designers left in a 6 month period. Design has felt under valued at Priceline for a very long time.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No growth. Certain Managers take credit for your work. Over-worked.

      Jan 31, 2020 - Analyst in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Holiday/ cultural Parties. Norwalk Gym Access. Smart colleagues. Interesting projects depending on the department you're with. Lynda access. Okay health benefits. Transportation benefits. ie: train shuttle, MTA refund ext. WFH 2x per month (may be diff depending on mgr) 401k w/ 3 % match. Parental leave. Equity (depends on position)

      Cons

      Your mgr might take credit for your work. No career growth, no plan, not many promotions. Unless you're already a manager. Backed by Booking but lacks resources so you will wear many hats but deadline is expected to be met (this depends on if you're in a scrum team or not). Agile has been accommodated to fit Priceline so you may be in a team the supports multiple scrum teams/multiple projects. Reviews do not apply to managers. Very political and very much a 'boys club'. There are a couple of women in leadership positions which is great but not enough in the 'lower ranks' and that could be better specifically in Engineering.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best place I've ever worked!

      Aug 15, 2019 - Senior Systems Engineer in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Priceline values the talent that I bring to the team, and entrusts me to get the job done. I split my time between NY and CT offices, and they both have a very laid back feel. Some people stay late and continue working, cause I guess they just love their job that much. Salary is on the top end for the industry, and what else would you expect? It's on the higher end on the Fortune 500, and they have delivered bonuses to employees without fail for 20+ years. The Norwalk location is located at beautiful 800 Connecticut Ave, which offers an impressive array of amenities, such as a fitness center, dry cleaning, and a full cafeteria (including a grill).

      Cons

      At the moment, I honestly can't think of any, as biased as that sounds. I'm happy with my schedule, my work to life balance, and the career path that has been laid out for me.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      May 2, 2020 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy working at Priceline

      Cons

      The pay is less than average

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Technology jobs shipping Offshore - name your own price - all prices accepted

      Feb 17, 2020 - Technology in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Those reasons don't exist any more.

      Cons

      IT jobs at Priceline being shipped away to India, Canada. Technology group had a major reorg and layoff in the Data department. This includes someone on H1 who was hired about 18 months back. Everyone in the IT Department feels insecure, which team is next?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fast paced, interesting work, great culture

      Jun 19, 2019 - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Priceline is a great place to work. No workplace is without change and challenges - the people at priceline work around obstacles and adapt to change well. The company is data driven and decision making is collaborative. If you have data to support a theory, there is the freedom to test it. Casual environment, but hard workers. If there is anyone toxic in the culture, they usually don't last too long.

      Cons

      No major cons for the company itself. The industry is highly competitive so staying ahead of the competition is a constant challenge.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      We appreciate this feedback. This is a pleasure to read! Thank you for the last five years, and for many more to come.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Once a powerhouse, now in the basement

      Jul 22, 2019 - Product in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office space, fair work-life balance, pretty good benefits, making strides to right the ship.

      Cons

      Priceline has a long way to go to return to its glory days. What once used to be the innovative and disruptive brand in travel is now just another option on the long list of ways to book travel. The company has seen massive turnover at all levels of the organization, many due to poor management and leadership. If you are a "favorite" of the CEO (and by "favorite" I mean someone who has the same "beliefs" as him), you have a decent chance at career advancement. Other than that, you're just a number.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      Oct 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with Priceline for a short period of time now. However, I joined the company because of it's leaders, interesting work in my department and competitive benefits and pay. Those things attracted me to join, but I am now inclined to believe that the culture and opportunities for growth are at the core of why I'd like to stay and continue to develop my career here at Priceline. Great people and truly caring leaders. Can't ask for more!

      Cons

      Nothing that deserves much attention to list it here.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      It's a great pleasure to read this feedback. Glad you are having a great experience! Thank you for your post!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Priceline.com Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior IT Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Priceline.com? Share Your Experiences

    Priceline.com logo
    or