Priceline.com "priceline" Reviews | Glassdoor

Priceline.com Employee Reviews about "priceline"

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Priceline.com CEO Brett Keller (no image)
Brett Keller
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Much better work/life balance than previous companies where I was responding to email all weekend long(in 37 reviews)

  • "My experience working at Priceline has been nothing but positive(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Priceline has a long way to go to return to its glory days(in 12 reviews)

  • "Unless you are in the good graces with the upper management, your voice is not heard(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "priceline"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Apply for your next job at Priceline !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My experience working at Priceline has been nothing but positive. As a new hire, everyone has been welcoming. Collaboration across technology teams is encouraged and always welcomed, which contributes to the positive culture. Work/life balance is great. The flexibility to work from home when needed is a huge plus that other companies I worked for did not really allow. Product managers and team leads genuinely care... about your well-being and stress levels, and make an effort to ensure things are going well. Engineers are encouraged to attend tech talks and conferences to further our knowledge and to remain relevant and up-to-date in the industry. The CEO and other members of the leadership team are open to, and provide many opportunities for us to share ideas and thoughts on how things are going. Mobility within the company is also encouraged. Our managers and higher ups want us to be learning every day and to have fun while also making a meaningful impact. Bonus: snacks are a plus and are always stocked :D

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of at the moment.

    Priceline.com2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Priceline values the talent that I bring to the team, and entrusts me to get the job done. I split my time between NY and CT offices, and they both have a very laid back feel. Some people stay late and continue working, cause I guess they just love their job that much. Salary is on the top end for the industry, and what else would you expect? It's on the higher end on the Fortune 500, and they have delivered... bonuses to employees without fail for 20+ years. The Norwalk location is located at beautiful 800 Connecticut Ave, which offers an impressive array of amenities, such as a fitness center, dry cleaning, and a full cafeteria (including a grill).

    Show More

    Cons

    At the moment, I honestly can't think of any, as biased as that sounds. I'm happy with my schedule, my work to life balance, and the career path that has been laid out for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Priceline.com2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Once a powerhouse, now in the basement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice office space, fair work-life balance, pretty good benefits, making strides to right the ship.

    Cons

    Priceline has a long way to go to return to its glory days. What once used to be the innovative and disruptive brand in travel is now just another option on the long list of ways to book travel. The company has seen massive turnover at all levels of the organization, many due to poor management and leadership. If you are a "favorite" of the CEO (and by "favorite" I mean someone who has the same "beliefs" as him),... you have a decent chance at career advancement. Other than that, you're just a number.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Booking Holdings Management: Time to clean house at the top. Or speed up the plans everyone knows exist: Fold into Booking.com and be done with it.

    Priceline.com2019-07-22
  4. "Fast paced, interesting work, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Priceline is a great place to work. No workplace is without change and challenges - the people at priceline work around obstacles and adapt to change well. The company is data driven and decision making is collaborative. If you have data to support a theory, there is the freedom to test it. Casual environment, but hard workers. If there is anyone toxic in the culture, they usually don't last too long.

    Cons

    No major cons for the company itself. The industry is highly competitive so staying ahead of the competition is a constant challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the focus on technology and new product innovation. The transparency that management provides is very helpful to employees. Time off to volunteer on things that matter to people is great.

    Priceline.com2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Priceline for a short period of time now. However, I joined the company because of it's leaders, interesting work in my department and competitive benefits and pay. Those things attracted me to join, but I am now inclined to believe that the culture and opportunities for growth are at the core of why I'd like to stay and continue to develop my career here at Priceline. Great people and truly caring... leaders. Can't ask for more!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing that deserves much attention to list it here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you do!

    Priceline.com2018-10-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Priceline.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Decent pay Relatively easy work

    Cons

    I wouldn’t recommend Priceline if you’re either: 1) Someone focused on leveling up and becoming a better engineer via learning modern practices. Despite the scale the company operates at, you won’t grow here. Hacky and bad code is more than acceptable here as long as it gets the job done. 2) Someone who values collaboration and a supportive culture. Soft skills are not valued at Priceline, you’ll see engineers get... promoted who are relatively good at what they do but have zero soft skills and as such make terrible people to work with. Management is well aware of these deficiencies and yet does nothing to improve these people or promote better people. Its also hard to get help from teammates if you are struggling, there’s a strong lone wolf culture. If you’re a decent engineer and are looking for a 9-5 where you won’t be bothered too much Priceline is fine, just don’t go there to be inspired by your coworkers, the culture or the mission.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look for the right things when hiring and promoting people, culture a more supportive culture that focuses on professional growth

    Priceline.com2018-09-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A Company with Purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Priceline is a place where you have the opportunity to become the professional you want to be. The company is highly supportive of initiative and brainstorming. The work/life balance is important as management understands that people have lives and things happen - in return, employees are expected to increase productivity and effort when times demand it. Dress code, attitude and protocol are part of a relaxed... workplace while still expecting the best of everyone. The office is an open door and floor plan environment where everyone is encouraged to collaborate, idea share, and think across teams, all in the spirit of being the best travel deal makers. Period. Leadership is just as much a part of the open office and invites everyone to chat at any time with whatever the thought. I have been with the company for nearly 15 years. I have seen veterans stay and newbies come and go. The company is what you make it and has a good reputation of rewarding those who stay. Personally, I have needed the support of flexible work days, and I know that my demonstrated dedication has earned me that privilege. People looking for a place to have a long term career should consider Priceline. There are always opening for new positions in many departments.

    Show More

    Cons

    In recent years, we lost a noticeable number of veterans when upper leadership changed, changing the goals and priorities of some of the departments. Things are just starting to settle back to calm, but the change is still noticeable. We all recognize that change has good intentions, but it must be paced and accepted by those who will be physically enacting the differences. Some employees were terminated, and... some left out of frustration.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While the stock benefits and bonuses can be generous when the company is doing well, pay raises have barely kept up with cost of living increases, which in the end is not a raise. Employees need to feel valued both by not only internal praise, but with real economic and job promotion compensation.

    Priceline.com2018-07-29
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Downward spiral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Really great benefits: 401k match per pay period Different health plans with separate dental and vision options Flexible work schedule/location- come in late or leave early for an appointment. Work from home if your job allows, as needed

    Cons

    Your experience at Priceline depends on what department you work in. Some are in absolute turmoil and I’ve been working in one of those departments. You can see the physical toll that stress and the working environment has on employees. My department lacks unity, communication, and leadership. I used to enjoy my job but now it just makes me sick. My boss is an arrogant narcissist who is too busy floating his own... boat to care to understand things that are important or provide any kind of direction or mentorship for his direct reports. Parties/events were way better a few years back when planning was collaborative/inclusive. Not everything has to be a secret!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a better way to get good talent! Some of the most recent people that were hired for leadership roles in my department have driven it into the ground. They are bosses/managers but not leaders. Some have stayed for a year or 2 and then left but the turmoil they created remains. They hire friends from previous jobs for open positions so the cycle never ends. Constant turnover impacts employees and the work we are... doing. Find good people that will stay long term who know how to lead, grow, and develop their direct reports. Parties, events, and ugly swag do not make employees happy.

    Show More
    Priceline.com2018-05-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager, Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Priceline for the past 10 years, under 3 Leadership teams, and can truthfully say that the current one is exceptionally professional and changing the culture for the better. The implementation of goals and objectives, factored in with technical teams to work better together, is an improvement over the previous method of working individually and the credit goes to our CEO and the professional... P&C senior VP and her staff. There is now accountability for all of us and our targets are being met. I am thoroughly impressed with this company and its future.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no Cons. This Company, although large in size, provides many amenities not provided by competing Companies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Change is going to make this Company even better and more profitable. This Company has a "heart for its Employees"

    Priceline.com2018-04-18
  10. "Very smart, very friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Priceline.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Priceline for less than a year. In my interview process, I was told about the warm work culture and priority for work-life balance that exists at Priceline. You never know! But I have found that to be even more impressive than it was described. It is a company that is very data-focused - the data dictates the decisions that are made, in almost every instance. This means that everyone works... with a shared set of facts. Management is interpersonally very warm and there's a sense that teams are working together toward shared goals, versus in fiefdoms and competing teams. Expectations are certainly high, but the culture I am experiencing makes them more reachable. This is proving to be a very enjoyable place to work. And getting home at a normal hour is a pleasure I haven't experienced for some time.

    Show More

    Cons

    The food situation is only ok, but a small price to pay.

    Priceline.com2018-03-27
Found 28 reviews