Priceline.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Priceline.com CEO Brett Keller (no image)
Brett Keller
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work-life balance and cutting edge technology(in 44 reviews)

  • "Additionally, Priceline has a Great Culture w/ excellent work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Priceline prides itself on being lean, unfortunately this also extends to how it compensates its employees(in 15 reviews)

  • "It’s nice that everyone is dedicated, but the work/life balance can get overwhelming at times(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company with Smart People

      Jan 11, 2021 - Associate Account Manager in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very intelligent people. Hard working environment that sets you up to excel at all aspects. No “hippo” (highest paid persons opinion) rule helps everyone have a say and back up their arguments with data.

      Cons

      Some times the environment is too serious. It’s nice that everyone is dedicated, but the work/life balance can get overwhelming at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for this thoughtful review. The backbone of Priceline is our people, and we take great pride in having a culture that attracts intelligent and hardworking people who are a pleasure to be around. That being said, we are sorry that you experienced an overwhelming environment at times. During the current pandemic, it has been difficult for people to transition into the working from home, which can lead to an ever changing and sometimes overwhelming lifestyle. Rest assured, we believe in the importance of balance and want our employees to take care of themselves. We encourage employees to work directly with their managers to balance their workload and personal obligations.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A regular big company with lower pay but good W/L balance

      Jan 19, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good people The people you work closely with are friendly and generally pleasant. * Ok benefits * Good work/life balance I've rarely felt overworked. If you're green engineer, when joining you can learn a lot for up to a period.

      Cons

      * Below market pay Priceline prides itself on being lean, unfortunately this also extends to how it compensates its employees. I've talked to others who've felt the same. *No meritocracy *Lack of passion I truly get the feeling that many IC's and managers lack passion/ownership in their work, possibly due to being undercompensated, or underrecognized or its a vicious circle where they lose interest because the people around them have already lost it. * Lack of technical product management Product managers have narrow views for features as they're not technical enough to see more feature possibilities which leads to lack of growth.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for submitting this thoughtful review. We take pride in treating all employees fairly and equitably, most especially as it relates to compensation. We regularly benchmark externally to assess our competitiveness in the market for talent and adjust if warranted. We differentiate pay based on performance each year during our compensation planning process. In turn, we have an incredibly dedicated, talented and passionate group of employees that are driven daily by our collective desire to bring the very best deals to our customers - so they can experience the moments that matter most to them. We wish you well in this next step in your career and trust you’ve found a place that best suits your personal passions.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jan 14, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      talented workforce, great location, good benefits, good culture, good work life balance

      Cons

      slow to update tech, too much testing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for sharing this review. We are glad to hear that your experience with Priceline has been an overall positive one. We pride ourselves on being on the forefront of the latest, cutting-edge technology. For example, we have made a substantial investment in new data infrastructures and technologies. Our customers are at the center of everything that we do as an organization. We heavily rely on testing to ensure that changes in functionality and product enhancements are yielding the best possible user experience for our customers. We want any changes to be strategic and yield value for the customer. All the best to you in your future endeavors!

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place

      Jan 8, 2021 - Technical Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance and cutting edge technology

      Cons

      nothing to mention. but sense politics in some dept.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We are happy to hear that you have had a mostly positive experience with Priceline! We wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Former Priceline Employee

      Nov 20, 2020 - Senior Business Analyst in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance and culture

      Cons

      Salary not competitive, and stock option has a 3 year vesting period

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priceline.com Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. It is important to us that we provide a competitive salary to our employees. We regularly benchmark externally to assess our competitiveness in the market for talent and adjust if warranted.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Provides self motivated individuals with a diverse work experience and growth opportunities

      Oct 22, 2020 - Director of Technology in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Decent benefits * Good work life balance * Strong technology oriented culture

      Cons

      * Some part of the organization have older tech stacks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to grow with the company

      Dec 31, 2019 - Senior Data Scientist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great work life balance resulted from the scientific management system (Agile and Quarterly goals) 2. Great benefits 3. Friendly environment to learn new technology and knowledge 4. As the company is still growing per business and technology, the business requirements will push you to jump outside comfort zone and learn continuously 5. Strong supports from Booking Holdings sibling companies which makes the company have great potentials 6. People are friendly, company structure is kind of flat, and offices doors are all open, so your voice will be heard by any level if you want

      Cons

      1. Company does not have formal program to cultivate fresh graduates, so most of the new blood of the company comes from other companies. 2. As most of the positions empty after people left are filled with experienced people from outside(both individual contributor and management tracks), so the culture of the company is a mixture as different team leaders are having different cultures inside teams. 3. As management positions are not filled from inside, during the management change, there will be contradictory plans showing up especially in details (the same direction from high level, but different opinions of how to achieve the goals). 4. All of the reasons above make the career development path inside the company not very clear, especially for management track

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work and amazing culture

      Feb 21, 2020 - Talent Acquisition in Norwalk, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      THE PEOPLE by far! Additionally, Priceline has a Great Culture w/ excellent work life balance

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Associate Software Engineer

      Mar 18, 2020 - Associate Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment, good work life balance

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good workplace, but the place needs some work

      Jul 1, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mostly great people, fun events, challenging work. The transparency from leadership is refreshing, and constructive criticism is encouraged at all levels. Company culture is important.

      Cons

      Lack of communication between product and marketing teams. This creates a feeling that we are not all working as a team, but all have different agendas and compete against each other. Way too many meetings, and meetings that last too long. Much like I pointed out above, communication is essential whether it be between different teams within the same department or different departments, but there is a point in which the amount of time spent in meetings can be detrimental to workload, work-life balance, and morale. The Design Team is in shambles which is most likely a temporary status, but they seem to be overwhelmed even when fully staffed and without a stable process in place in terms of working with different teams. We seem to be taking on too many new projects before perfecting old ones.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 51 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Priceline.com Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior IT Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Priceline.com? Share Your Experiences

    Priceline.com logo
    or