Primark Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Retail Assistant

Primark Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
167 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and fun workers

    Cons

    you stay busy all the time and there is almost no downtime

    Primark2017-10-09
  2. "Great Company but Cheap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get PTO the Schedule can be flexible Long break Great for for a first job.

    Cons

    No employee discount until Christmas Have to wear T-SHIRT

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and available to staff.

    Primark2019-06-24
  3. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    Consistent hours every week, expectations pretty clear

    Cons

    Was hard to get a hold of my manager

    Primark2019-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bad i mean really bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Freehold, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing at all they treat you like crap

    Cons

    Working with some the people

    Advice to Management

    Need to be better leaders

    Primark2019-05-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Though it was part-time, it was quite tedious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is diversity in the staff employed

    Cons

    Difficult dealing with People and Culture. They are usually rude.

    Advice to Management

    Individuals in people and culture need to be nicer

    Primark2018-11-05
  6. "Working at Primark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Assistant in Downtown Crossing, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible time, 12/hour, generous Paid-time off, relatively good upper management

    Cons

    Repetitive, tiring, fast-paced, (retail so)

    Primark2018-05-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant - Customer Services in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primark full-time

    Pros

    The only pros of working for this company is that when markdowns and shipments can in, the employees got to the merchandise first.

    Cons

    It's a horrible place to work and I wouldn't wish working there on my worst enemy. The management is HORRIBLE and doesn't care about their employees, they only promote their FAVORITES and not the people who actually deserve it, they let their employees be harassed by the higher up and do nothing and then they fire people under false pretense. This is not a company I would ever recommend to work at. Management fires... anyone who stands up to them when they're wrong or whoever they feel they can't control.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whoever does the hiring for store managers and management needs to do a better job. I've opened 3 stores with this company and all 3 store managers were horrible.

    Primark2017-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very fast paced and stressful environment .."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Willow Grove, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HR is in the building The prices Steady schedule

    Cons

    No discount Management doesnt help Too much delegation and not enough help Unorganized No real opportunity to move up

    Primark2017-02-03
  9. "20 Years of Customer Service, Primark Needs to Be More Professional!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    -Diverse and Majority of Associates are Friendly -Great Deals with Wide Variety of Merchandise -Has a European flavor.

    Cons

    Supervisors work on your people skills; not be so impatient and abrupt with the cashiers. More cashiers for long lines.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to those with experience and do not drive them away! P and C need to chill out.

    Primark2016-11-03
  10. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Willow Grove, PA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros to working at primark is having a steady job and they offer a steady schedule... There are no other pros

    Cons

    You are on your feet all day, you can't have your phone to even check the time, management is rude but P&C (HR) is even worse. Primark does not offer employee discounts.

    Advice to Management

    Being kind to your staff is key. When everyone is rude and nasty you don't really have a friendly environment.

    Primark2016-07-25
Found 541 reviews