Primark "no staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Primark Employee Reviews about "no staff discount"

Updated Dec 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Primark CEO Paul Marchant
Paul Marchant
944 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay - wayyy above min wage if you under 25(in 214 reviews)

  • "a lot of overtime available if extra hours wanted/needed(in 117 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also - no discount except from in December where you get 10% off at Christmas(in 130 reviews)

  • "Pay was not great and no staff discount(in 129 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Sales Associate in Freehold, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primark for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay. ($9.50 hour) Coworkers are friendly for the most part Uniforms are awesome.

    Cons

    Supervisors are mean and spiteful. Boring and repetitive. Cant have water at the register Spot checks every hour. (they check amounts in register) HR is very bad. does not pick up phone No staff discount

    Advice to Management

    Hire HR that actually pick up the phone and dont give you the death glare when you ask them a question. Also please inform the supervisors that EVERYBODY makes mistakes. Im not just another number on payroll

    Primark2016-12-20
  2. "Staff made it bearable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Kingston upon Thames, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team of people, easy work, sales training opportunity,

    Cons

    Poor growth opportunities, no staff discount (par 10% at Christmas for *1 week),

    Primark2019-12-21
  3. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Marble Arch, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good break room No two days are the same Opportunity to work in different sectors of the ckmpany

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid No staff benefits

    Primark2019-12-04
  4. "Part time associate review london"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Good hours Good managers

    Cons

    Minimum Wage No staff discount

    Primark2019-11-09
  5. "a horrible experience but colleagues were friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the other staff that were on the same level as me were nice

    Cons

    no staff discount or incentives, bad management (multiple managers telling you to do different things, sometimes no manager on my dept), very short staffed (on some days I was the only person on the entirety of mens accessories and then on top of this I was expected to help on menswear), they would purposely make shifts 15 mins shorter than the entitled break period so we would not get adequate breaks, customers were rude and would often speak down to you and throw stuff on the floor for you to clean up, when working after closing they would turn the heating and lights off making it uncomfortable to work and by the end of my time working here I had been referred to occupational health due to it making my mental health worse and physio due to developing back problems while working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire more staff to spread the work load and don't shorten shifts i.e. 5h 15 mins.

    Primark2019-10-02
  6. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made some good friends, employ straight out of high school

    Cons

    Management on power trips, aircon broke all summer so store was like a sauna, staff not allowed drinks, no staff benefits or discount, asked to tell customers primark doesn’t use sweatshops which is untrue

    Primark2019-07-15
  7. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Primark part-time

    Pros

    It’s a fairly easy job. Staff are nice and you make good friends. It’s easy to pick up more shifts if you want to. You’re always doing something so you’re never bored

    Cons

    It’s very repetitive and the store gets very messy and due to this you often have to stay later than your shift is. Customers aren’t all that nice but it’s the same in every retail job really. There’s no staff discount other than a mere 10% during Christmas.

    Primark2019-06-24
  8. "Weekend job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short shift (4 hours) Good Pay - wayyy above min wage if you under 25

    Cons

    Work every bank holiday even Boxing Day Repetitive/boring No staff discount No time off in November/December

    Primark2019-05-26
  9. "Average retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime is always available Good group of people to work with Easy job

    Cons

    Hardly any training Bounced about from till to shop floor etc Low pay and no staff discount Customers are some of the worst

    Primark2019-05-08
  10. "It was OK."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cash Office Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, in all honesty if I needed a day off they would normally allow it as they could find cover, always something to do, guaranteed hours, progression sometimes available.

    Cons

    Management have favourites, although I was weekday staff we were definitely favoured over weekend staff which I found rather unfair, management would abuse their positions sometimes... No staff discount, only at Christmas

    Advice to Management

    Don't abuse your positions, treat staff with respect and the turnover won't be so high! Offer support when needed, we get you have a lot to do, but believe it or not if you offer proper training your employees will be able to help you with some of your workload in regards to the shop floor!

    Primark2019-04-13
Found 129 reviews