Primavera Online High School Reviews | Glassdoor

Primavera Online High School Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Primavera Online High School CEO Damian Creamer
Damian Creamer
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay, flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primavera Online High School part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get paid well for your time and your schedule is very flexible. You can also work from anywhere because you are a remote employee.

    Cons

    The only con is inconsistent scheduling (which means inconsistent pay), but it is the nature of the beast.

    Primavera Online High School2019-04-25

    Primavera Online High School Response

    June 10, 2019Executive Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for writing your review. Our Adjunct team is an important piece of our student success. Thank you for being part of our team!

  2. "Fun Employee Appreciation Activities, No Room for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Primavera Online High School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great PTO accrual rate, about 5 hours every two weeks They don't skimp on employee appreciation and treat all employees to free catered food, gift cards, food trucks, massages, etc There's also a nice gym

    Cons

    No bonuses, no promotions, no raises, management still breathes down your neck

    Advice to Management

    Give employees some actual incentive to do better work

    Primavera Online High School2019-06-06

    Primavera Online High School Response

    June 10, 2019Executive Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for writing your positive review. We are glad you enjoy the collaborative and positive culture at Primavera. Primavera's compensation is very competitive, annual performance reviews occur and with positive performance comes additional compensation and reward. There is ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Excellent Pay, Terrible Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primavera Online High School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +Pay was excellent for the work, especially as an Arizona teacher

    Cons

    -Teachers were required to work 8am-5pm at a physical location even though all students were virtual -Major micromanaging issues from all levels -HR was actively and constantly looking for people to write up and fire -Benefits were average to poor

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees more and they won't leave!

    Primavera Online High School2019-02-13

    Primavera Online High School Response

    June 10, 2019Executive Director of Human Resources

    Over the course of the past two years employees have had the opportunity to create their own measurable goals and objectives. At times, meeting or exceeding goals and objectives are challenging for some individuals. Primavera's culture is one of mutual respect with accountability. ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Online English Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Primavera Online High School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to teach course curriculum.

    Cons

    Student workload is too high for full-time instructors. Difficult to make contact with students as required. Unreasonable expectations for grading turnaround given student to teacher ratio.

    Advice to Management

    Do not overload instructors, especially to compensate for other instructors leaving.

    Primavera Online High School2018-11-08
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Looks too good to be true!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primavera Online High School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really cant think of a lot worth mentioning. They have tuition reimbursements and benefits for full time employees which is nice. Cool coffee machine too I guess.

    Cons

    Finally left my job at Prima-Hell. Starting off by saying if you're an employee currently and are thinking about leaving because of numerous reasons, just do so. I promise you'll feel so much better. Some of my coworkers on my team texted me to congratulate leaving also mentioning that I wouldn't miss it. What does that say about the company? The goal of helping students with education really attracted me. I formally...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just because your title is "manager", "supervisor", "director", "executive ", etc... doesn't mean you're good at your job. Stop focusing so much on how the media and outsiders view Primavera and fix the internal problems. Talk to your staff. We were already scared into submission, making us feel like we couldn't speak up in fear of back lash or termination.

    Primavera Online High School2018-11-05

    Primavera Online High School Response

    June 10, 2019Executive Director of Human Resources

    Over the course of the past two years employees have had the opportunity to create their own measurable goals and objectives. At times, meeting or exceeding goals and objectives are challenging for some individuals. Primavera's culture is one of mutual respect with accountability. ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I Like it Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primavera Online High School full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with, I like them. We collaborate. We help at risk students receive a quality education. It is a good environment and there are a lot of good benefits. Management is hearing what we have to say and taking it into consideration. It is challenging, management is having us create a goal and we will have to reach it.

    Cons

    some negative people seem to stay in their position too long it seems. Those of us that work end up picking up their slack.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Hopefully you are addressing the employees that don't do what they are supposed to do. Continue to be open to listen and help those of us that want to do what we can to help the student. Communicate more often.

    Primavera Online High School2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Adjunct Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Teacher in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primavera Online High School part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Pay is per class. 750 dollars for classes with students less than 14 students. 1000 dollars when there are 15-23 students. 1300 for classes over 24 students. There is good support for teachers.

    Cons

    Adjunct teachers are not guaranteed classes so you cannot predict how much money you will earn per month.

    Advice to Management

    Guarantee adjunct teachers a certain number of classes.

    Primavera Online High School2018-06-28

    Primavera Online High School Response

    July 30, 2018Executive Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Adjunct teachers are an important part of our academic team! Primavera appreciates your hard work and dedication to our students.

  8. "Great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Primavera Online High School

    Pros

    Great co-workers Great mission Hard working employees

    Cons

    No cons, good place to learn and grow

    Primavera Online High School2018-04-29

    Primavera Online High School Response

    July 30, 2018Executive Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time as a former employee to write your glowing review. We are happy you had a positive experience at Primavera. We wish you the best in your new endeavors.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "DONT WORK HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primavera Online High School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Higher pay than at district brick and mortar

    Cons

    -Low morale -Leadership micromanages and talks down to people -communication is inconsistent and ineffective -Half of the teachers at the school scored developing -Over 160 students and summer school is 4 weeks

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Recognize people for working hard. Retain good people by treated them with respect.

    Primavera Online High School2018-05-19

    Primavera Online High School Response

    July 30, 2018Executive Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Primavera turnover is low. Over the course of the past two years employees have had the opportunity to create their own measurable goals and objectives. At times, meeting or exceeding goals and objectives are challenging for some ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Needs more organization and steady leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primavera Online High School part-time

    Pros

    - Great for supplementing your income. - Flexible schedule - Gain new skills in the online environment - Meet wonderful students who want to do their best - The mentors from 2014-2015 were awesome and went out of their way to help out.

    Cons

    - High turn over in administration: 3 new "bosses/principals" in 3 years in which 2 out of the 3 "resigned." All the mentor teachers that helped me when I started left and were replaced with people who seemed to not know what they are doing. - Lack of communication: New administration/principal does not communicate needs/wants from employees. It seems they are more reacting rather than being proactive to solve the same...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication and a open mind will help the admin. Also, set clear expectations of teachers. It makes it hard to keep up when new changes to the handbook, courses, etc. change each week without explanation. High turn over of employees , especially in admin, makes it hard for all employees.

    Primavera Online High School2017-11-20
Found 41 reviews