PrimeSource Building Products Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Jan 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
29%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
PrimeSource Building Products President and CEO Tom Koos (no image)
Tom Koos
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good place to start a sales career, good benefits, certain locations can be lucrative(in 8 reviews)

  • "Caring company, good pay, good benefits, movement with in the company, many locations(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Building Material sales are slowing, was just bought out by a private equity firm(in 6 reviews)

  • "Disorganized to some extent, some upper management in place due to loyalty and not ability(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Micromanaged not appreciated

      Feb 26, 2015 - ISSM in North East, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Friendly people to work with

      Cons

      Upper management could care less about you. Long hours low pay

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PrimeSource Building Products Response

      PrimeSource Building Products

      Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that it took us a few days to respond. We value all feedback and that is why we have an open door policy, employee engagement surveys, and even exit interviews. We also note that you were pleased with the quality of our benefits and the coworkers. The comment on upper management is unclear to us as to who you refer to or what has caused that perception. We will point out that our tenure and high percent of internal promotions both show that employees are Highly valued. Thank you for your comments.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice place

      Jan 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits package. Lots of room to grow

      Cons

      Must be willing to relocate to really go anywhere.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Nov 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good pay -great environment -good benefits

      Cons

      Moving up in the company can be difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Territory Manager

      Nov 30, 2018 - Territory Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to start a sales career, good benefits, certain locations can be lucrative.

      Cons

      Low Pay, No Raises, Top Down Management, Bad attitudes. New Ownership doesn’t not value employees.You will have your territory “re aligned “ with promises of not losing money but it will happen anyways. One change cost me 15k with no adjustments to list of income.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      inside sales

      Jul 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring company, good pay, good benefits, movement with in the company, many locations

      Cons

      strcit work schedule, track every movement, going through change

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PrimeSource Building Products Response

      PrimeSource Building Products

      We appreciate your feedback. The Company has made recent changes to allow flexible hours where it is possible to still provide high quality service to our customers.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work for Business or Sales

      Jul 23, 2015 - Graphic Designer in Palatine, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I started working, the atmosphere was great and there was positive energy. Good benefits and decent pay.

      Cons

      Company culture changed once the company was purchased. Budget reductions, re-structuring and layoffs occurred.

      2 people found this review helpful

      PrimeSource Building Products Response

      PrimeSource Building Products

      Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with PrimeSource. We are proud of our benefits and our culture. We certainly understand that change can be difficult, but it also often creates great opportunities and growth. Thank you again, and wish you the best going forward.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst job experience of my career.

      Nov 5, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo Grove, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable, growing company with good benefits. Each of their 38 distribution centers was a separate profit center (which is both good and bad). Corporate Headquarters in Dallas. Unofficial second Corporate Headquarters in Buffalo Grove (Chicago DC). Great employees. Building materials industry.

      Cons

      No advancement opportunities in the department I worked for. Advancement opportunities within the company were limited to those willing to relocate. The job turned out to be considerably different than the job description. The VP of the department treated us as "hired help" not as team members. Immediate supervisor was new to the position and was a micro-manager more interested in her career than those working under her. Overworked, with unreasonable deadlines. Overtime for tradeshows and over weekends was not compensated.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Employees are not valued

      May 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, attractive work environment

      Cons

      Office culture, compensation, leadership, work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Work at PrimeSource Building Products? Share Your Experiences

    PrimeSource Building Products logo
    or