KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Primerica

Engaged Employer

Primerica

Add a Review

Primerica Employee Reviews about "commission based"

Updated Aug 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 of over 1,830 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Primerica Chief Executive Officer Glen Williams (no image)
Glen Williams
715 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Primerica is great for people who are very out going and are good at making selling point.(in 85 reviews)
  • "Training is great!(in 69 reviews)
  • "Good money when you close with good premium and a good market to continue business(in 50 reviews)
  • "Money and flexible hours help(in 34 reviews)
  • "Very lucrative and flexible schedules.(in 33 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Primerica and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "commission based"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Primerica Review

    Aug 26, 2021 - Financial Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very lucrative and flexible schedules.

    Cons

    The pay is commission based and inconsistent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Amazing experience to develop an entrepreneur mind and develop communication and financial skills.

    Sep 8, 2012 - District Manager in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned about Finance, introduced to many successful entrepreneurs, motivational and inspirational, developed networking skills and management skills.

    Cons

    Independent and based on commission.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Services but hard to earn a living

    Sep 15, 2014 - Independent Financial Services Advisor in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You learn a lot about budgeting, getting yourself out of debt, life insurance, and investing. Overall, I am very happy that I found this company because it helped me and my family realize that we need to plan for the future and it taught us how to meet our financial goals. I would recommend this company to anyone who needs help with their financial situation and/or goals.

    Cons

    It is very hard to make a living since the pay is only commission based. I did not make a lot of money at all. To me, with the amount of work put in the pay (or lack there of) is just not worth it. I would not recommend this job/company to anyone who is trying to earn a living.

    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Great company with great mentorship

    Nov 27, 2020 - Life Insurance Agent in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Choose your own hours, compensation through tiers

    Cons

    Small con would be 100% commission based

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Financial Representative

    Oct 6, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly working environment. Encouraging and inspiring.

    Cons

    Commission based; bonuses are available

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Intern

    Primerica review

    Oct 23, 2020 - Finance Student in Estero, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Primerica is a Solid company

    Cons

    The pay is Commission based

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    FSR

    Apr 16, 2019 - Financial Services Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The appearance of "team" work The appearance of "training" The appearance of "rewards" They pay for your life license and classes . I enjoyed the classes. Events are hyped, fun, nice food, people are nice Been around for a long time You have the opportunity to get your investment license to market investments. Get it to be able to make more money or else you are stuck. There are other opportunities to market debt management, care insurance etc but you can get better elsewhere and I know this from experience

    Cons

    I was introduced to Primerica through a friend. I trusted that what he told me was the truth, but this opportunity turned out to be anything but. I was unemployed at the time and was sold on the dream he discussed with me. Working for myself, having a team, making money and signing on other people who you'd help training and you make money when they make a sale. The bulk of your earning is based on you signing on other people and having them make sales so you get a commission. This is what they DO NOT tell you. It isn't so much about selling Term Life insurance. In fact, many of the District Leaders know little about what they are selling. I know because I asked one of them for feedback to give a client who asked a question. Turns out what they told me was wrong and I had to contact the main office for clarification and what they told me what something completely different. That made me (albeit I was experienced) look totally unprofessional and stupid. They tell you only lazy people and people who don't put there all into it fail, but the truth is that is not the truth, I paid $99 plus a fee to use their online system. After being with Primerica for 2 years I left. My friendship changed and my upline was nonexistent and the so-called teamwork was barely there outside of meetings where they brainwash you into paying to go to events and selling to friends and family. They love self-starters because they know they don't need to support you. They also don't tell you when you just sign on that whatever leads you get and any sales made during the 'training period' will not go to you if you aren't licensed, but to the person who signed up if they are licensed. My friend made sales off of my leads and I didn't get one cent. When I wasn't reaching anywhere because most of my friends and family hate salespeople and especially anyone selling them life insurance, my team did nothing to help me. My'friend' just kept telling me to hang in there, keep pressing forward, don't worry, but offering no real advice on how to actually make a sale, My team didn't care about me because they never called to check on me once. I had a list of leads and I set up appointments for my friend to speak with them to help me get a foot him and what did he do...he didn't call them. I had to apologize to several people who refused to do business with me because they waited to speak with him over the phone and he did not call. I am glad I left and the customer service at Primerica is horrible as well, They sell you a dream, but times have changed and that dream is not attainable. So many people are getting out. Do your research and do not let anyone force you to do anything before doing your research. If you don't have a lot of leads and arent signing on people, nobody and I mean nobody pays any attention to you. It is all about money to your upline.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Friendly, nice people with flexible hours.

    Feb 11, 2021 - Insurance Agent in North Richland Hills, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make your own schedule and work as little or as much as you need.

    Cons

    It’s commission based only so it’s hard to know exactly what you will make and when.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing Company

    Dec 12, 2020 - Client Service Representative in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Educating Client is the best thing helping them managed there own finances and educating them what’s best Insurance that they need. Positive environment to learn Financial Education and Leadership.

    Cons

    Salary based on Commission if you don’t put into to work then you have no money.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    review

    Apr 28, 2021 - Finance Representative in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pay for licensing for you

    Cons

    commission based pay and calling

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 83 Reviews

Popular Careers with Primerica Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Primerica? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Primerica Photos

+ Add Photo
Primerica photo of: Changer RVP
Primerica photo of: Securities Champions
Primerica photo of: 2019 Get Big or Go Home
Primerica photo of: How can that be a scam? Hawaii 2015 Primerica trip
Primerica photo of: Primerica
Primerica photo of: Seminar Recruiting opportunity
Primerica photo of: Office Location (Business Park)
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Primerica Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bankers Life Logo
Bankers Life

3.5

2,222 Reviews
Compare