Primerica Employee Reviews about "multi level marketing"

Updated Nov 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Primerica Chief Executive Officer Glen Williams (no image)
Glen Williams
536 Ratings
Pros
  • "Access to study material for all licenses online(in 131 reviews)

  • "You can work part-time and transition to full-time(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "May possibly be a pyramid scheme(in 59 reviews)

  • "Small con would be 100% commission based(in 58 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Primerica and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "multi level marketing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      learing experience for the business oriented

      Apr 27, 2012 - Sales Associate in Boynton Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was intrigued by Primerica because, having worked in banking and currently working in the brokerage industry, I understood that they were offering a valuable service to their clients. Primerica is a divison of CITI, one of the largest banks in the world. Citi offers just about every financial product under the sun and they use Primerica as a sales force of their many products.

      Cons

      They are still a multi-level marketing firm. The problem I find with many MLM’s is that many of them coerce and pressure people to join – personally, nothing turns me off quicker than when I feel like I am being pressured into something. I did not sign up with them so I don’t have a full understanding of how they get paid. My rep said something about there being four ways, but seemed to intentionally keep it vague. From what other Primerica reps have said, most money is made from recruiting people rather than selling products – and it is difficult to make much money if you don’t recruit a bunch of people.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Run far away from this company.

      Nov 26, 2020 - Financial Advisor in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Happy culture, and sweet parties

      Cons

      Everything is fake. Parties are there to sway your opinion. Multi-level Management is a pyramid/ ponzi scheme. Made $100 in a single month. Destroyed my friendships with this job. They use your friends and contacts to start you "business." To get more percentage you have to get more people into the company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Mission Driven

      Apr 26, 2020 - Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of resources, a great environment, and good people.

      Cons

      Not competitive with pay splits, limited products to offer, if you do not agree with "buy term invest the rest" you should work somewhere else. Be prepared to pay monthly fees to access these resources and peddle to your warm market. This is a multi-level marketing entity. Make sure you understand what that is before paying to start.

      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awful

      Apr 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no real pros

      Cons

      It’s a multi level marketing scam

      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Beware

      Jun 28, 2019 - Sale 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can make good money there. They do sell insurance and securities to people in need.

      Cons

      Many things you are told when entering the starting process are not true explained as so in the IBA, My fault but I took what I was being told as truth. It is multi-level marketing and even though you can make money selling Insurance and securities, your main source of income is from recruiting and having others sell for you which is highlighted by the following. You don't need to really now insurance. Upon starting the process there and stating I was having issues remembering the info needed to pass the state exam I was told repeatedly " You don't have to remember or know what you are studying, you just got to pass the test". Attending the weekly meeting was nothing more than a pep rally where very little about insurance or investing was talked about and directed to whos rich and making money. Upon passing the state exam I was still unclear on many parts of being a producer and insurance and said so where I was told by upper management "hey, you passed the test that's all that counts, So what if you don't remember the information, just forget it, you don't need to know it. We will tell you what you need to know". That's god's truth. Did I mention they wanted a list of friends, family or acquaintances and their numbers so they could "contact them for me" and try to set up appointments? I stated I was not comfortable trying to sell major life products to strangers, let alone people close to me when I got no real idea of what they do or what I am selling. Again, I was told not to worry about it and you will get it as you move forward and get experience. Sorry, I don't tell people who are trusting me to help make major decisions that will affect their lives and families to buy stuff as I try to bluff my way through the presentation I don't even understand!! They do sell life insurance but push almost exclusively term. The logic is using the extra money you would be using for whole life and investing that instead which does make sense for some. But looking closer at the policies show that if you had a 10-15 year term policy that ends when you are older, to get a new policy through them or renew in many cases will cost you at least 5x more per month. In other words, a large number of past policy owner cannot afford to renew with them later in life unless they are very comfortable. Also, their costs are anywhere from 25%+ more expensive than most other companies for the same thing. So unless you are already comfortable, you are NOT saving money over whole life to invest. After the limited list of people i gave them started getting called and if they were not interested they asked those people for possible leads which of course caused real life issues for me from the listed people. And that was about the only way i even knew they were contacted.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Jan 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment, own schedule, good

      Cons

      Pyramid scheme, multi level, bad

      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      After 30 years, the best company to work with

      Jun 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been both a client and agent for 30 years. Mostly part-time, now full-time. The major pro is that I can be honest with my clients about our products, especially our Term life insurance. I once went to a funeral home with the spouse of a deceased client. The director asked who she had her life insurance with. When I told her it was Primerica she smiled and with a breath of relaxation she said "GOOD! Primerica pays right away." She continued to say, "Even though I could get cheaper premiums elsewhere, my experience at the funeral home tells me Primerica is best for my family and everyone else!" I never have to back in the door not being smelled out by selling Cash Value, the most dishonest form of any insurance. The opportunity is what you make of it. It's not for everyone but for $99 to get your licenses, everyone should at least try it. Nothing to lose and everything to gain. I've made hundreds of thousands of dollars mostly part-time effort. You may earn millions.

      Cons

      If you need to dodge the regulatory aspect of law and order, this isn't for you. If you cheat and are dishonest, this isn't for you. If you are lazy and not teachable or coachable this isn't for you. If you are a multi-level jumpie or junkie, this isn't for you. Other than that, there have been no downside to Primerica for 30 years.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They flood glassdoor with fake positive reviews

      Mar 30, 2017 - Sales Representative in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      These people don't smell like the literal human garbage they are.

      Cons

      Multi-level Marketing at it's absolute worst. They flood glassdoor with fake positive reviews from their regional heads and up to drown out negative reviews from those they've scammed. It's 100% commission based, they make you give up your entire network of family and friends and force feed a bad product. Have witnessed them take money from the vulnerable and drop all communication. They claim this job is not for the lazy. In reality, the prey on the weak willed and bully people from their money. Their product sucks. Not all companies that have 100% commission sales positions are as deplorable as this evil company. My advice: there are plenty of sales jobs that train you and give u some salary and benefits with an open commission structure. Don't waste your life here for these succubi.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great starting point

      Apr 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Primerica was a great company to get my foot in the door with Insurance and financial services. They assist getting you licensed and educated to help families.

      Cons

      Primerica is too much of a multi-level marketing business. Recruiting people and trying sell to friends and family is bothersome. At times I felt like a used car salesman. One dimensional by only offering term life insurance for younger clients, and not caring about older potential clients who may need assistance as well. The platform they offered to clients was not suitable for everyone.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lot's of lessons learned about people, If you fit into the culture and recruit a lot you could make 100k.

      May 4, 2011 - Regional Vice President in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of people developement (leadership, motivation, family, etc) Lots of recognition Home office supports the clients well Lots of freedom (you are an independent contractor) Creative but conservative A Fair program for people who have no where else to go.

      Cons

      Too multi-level ish (lots of recruiting required to make bigger money) Product costs are higher than the market Reps are too myopic with little experience in the industry. Which why they are so dedicated, only one point of view. You are a captive agent, during and for 2 years after you leave with lots of legal pressure afterwards (they feel the own you, all your files, all your clients, and everything you have about Primerica.)

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Primerica Job Seekers

    Financial Services Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Primerica? Share Your Experiences

    or