KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Primerica

Is this your company?

Primerica

Add a Review

Primerica Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Dec 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 of over 1,557 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Primerica Chief Executive Officer Glen Williams (no image)
Glen Williams
577 Ratings
Pros
  • "Access to study material for all licenses online(in 131 reviews)

  • "You can work part-time and transition to full-time(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "May possibly be a pyramid scheme(in 59 reviews)

  • "Small con would be 100% commission based(in 58 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Primerica

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    10m

    a 

    Media Associate

    I had a second round interview for an entry-level Investment Analyst position with OMG exactly 2 weeks ago. Today I got a call from a woman with Primerica (financial services) saying she was given my info & that they were interested in me. We had a mini chat & we set up a longer one for tomorrow. Do you think OMG gave my info out instead of a direct no? Is it a good sign she reached out to me so fast? Is she a headhunter or just a recruiter? Sorry for the all the Qs, I'm just excited lmao

    18

    12 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Primerica and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      All Jobs Are a Pyramid Scheme..

      Dec 4, 2020 - Division Leader in Homewood, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Environment, Long Lasting Relationships, and Everyone wants to see you win..Great Part Time Income

      Cons

      Its not hourly ..just commision.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Your work ethic and attitude will MAKE you or BREAK you!

      Sep 27, 2020 - District Leader in Lafayette, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When you have GOOD leadership this is the best opportunity in the world. Access to study material for all licenses online! (Life License, SIE, Series 6/63, etc) I’m manager at a Billion Dollar Company making over “$60,000” in salary, and recently I’ve made MORE biweekly with Primerica PART-TIME. The results you get as an agent are a direct reflection of YOUR work ethic, mind set, maturity, Coach ability, and attitude! If this business doesn’t work for you it’s because you refused to tap out of the “Corporate America mentality “ where you get paid to BE there but not to DO productive work. People say this business is a “Pyramid Scheme” in my opinion 9-5 jobs ARE PYRAMID SCHEMES! At a 9-5 the manager will never make more than the owner, and you’re pod by your position, not your work ethic. Primerica at LEAST gives you a shot to learn the business and eventually work your way up to ownership (Regional Vice President)

      Cons

      I emphasized GOOD leadership. Be mindful of the agents with piss-poor leadership skills or who lack ethics. I’ve ran across tons of people in this business who recruit to make money off of you and dump you, instead of with the intent to train and develop you. The few bad apples are why there are so many bad reviews, and high turnover out there. Trainings are ALWAYS at a bad time. This business is geared towards part-time people transitioning into full-time. They have trainings in the middle of the day when most people are at work. Accepting agents with ill intentions for clients and other agents makes a GOOD agents job harder.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Multi-level Marketing

      Oct 13, 2020 - Insurance Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It seemed like a good opportunity for a little extra cash.

      Cons

      I was trying to make a little extra cash on the side, and I thought it would be a good idea. I was wrong. The entire scheme is a pyramid scheme, but the agents will say anything to get you to sign the papers. I wanted some additional life insurance and when we got into the financials I told him that I'd like to make some extra money on the side. The agent told me that I could work part time and make my own schedule and bring in 500 to 1000 dollars a month. I decided to give it a shot because why not it’s selling insurance right? Wrong. The only reason the agent wanted to meet with me was to get my network or “leads” if I worked under him he would get a piece of my sales, which I was still ok with. When we went to a friend’s house to pitch the deal the trainer got very pushy about getting people who want to work for the company. I told him that I was just trying to sell some insurance and make a few extra dollar, and he flat our told me that I wouldn’t make any money and I needed to recruit people if I wanted to stay with the company. I decided that before I lose any money with this I’m out. I also knew someone who was working for them and ruined friendships because of it.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Your results are a direct relationship to your effort (work smart not hard)

      Sep 16, 2020 - Division Leader in Doral, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work part-time and transition to full-time. They paid for $5,000 worth of licenses (214, SIE, S6, S63, S65, S26) for a $99 registration fee plus a $25 monthly subscription which includes a fully fleshed CRM and quoting tools for both Insurance and Investments. It seems too good to be true and that can be a problem if the new agent doesn't appreciate what they are getting and they don't take advantage of it.

      Cons

      You need to let go of the corporate mentality and treat this as your own business or it won't work. You gotta be willing to let go of the notion you get paid just to do tasks, this is a people's business. You need to learn how to lead people, not by fear or pressure but by example and persuation. You need to keep laser focus and constantly remind the new agents their goal is to get field train and licensed within a month or they don't make money, get discouraged and leave. Whoever complains in here is because they didn't adapt or were not willing to do the work it takes to learn the craft and get results. This is a commission based work that requires you learn how to sell, and then teach others how to sell so you can earn overrides on top of the commisions for your own sales. But if you build a team of enough trained produces you can make a decent living with $50K to $200K a year depending on the size of your team and your book of business.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      Opinion from a Skeptic

      Sep 13, 2020 - Regional Leader in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping others, training tools, earning opportunity, no earning caps, licensing sponsorships, ownership, no micromanagement. If you are a self starter that is entrepreneurial and doesn't want to have to worry about high overhead or start up costs, this might be a good opportunity to explore. I had some exposure to financial services in a previous work role for several years and came to the realization that the commercials other firms put out were not truly how their sales representatives were being trained and compensation for the company and advisors was taking a front seat to taking care of clients. The mission of Primerica attracted me to contracting with them to support my practice. I have been working approximately 2 years full time in this business and it was attractive to be able to work part time to learn the skills and earn the licenses that I needed to serve my clients properly. I would recommend this to people interested in helping others, money and finance that are not in a position to leave a full time job to start a new career right away and want to avoid being forced to sell products to meet sales quotas.

      Cons

      May not make a lot in first year, learning curve, must be willing to be creative and learn new skills. After being in the business for several years the consistent complaint that I hear revolves around the group or person that was training a new rep. Make sure your beliefs and expectations are clear and in alignment with the group you decide to work with. If they are, you will likely have a great experience and even a great career and own something that you and your family can be proud of. If they are not, you will not have the same experience. That being said, one group should not be a general characterization of the company or all their representatives as a whole. Come into the opportunity with an open mind and the questions that you need answered to make sure that it is the right fit!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tremendous Company, Great People, You Have to be the Right Person

      Nov 24, 2019 - Division Leader in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Offers excellent part-time / full-time income opportunities while having an ethical approach - NOT a pyramid-scheme (I have a MBA from an accredited university), everyone that calls this a "pyramid-scheme" instantly shows me they have no idea what they are talking about - Pays for all the licensing required to be a fully-licensed agent - Become a legitimate financial educator/advisor - YOU CAN SUCCEED WITHOUT RECRUITING - Allows you to be flexible and conduct your business how you please (within the parameters of the Primerica business model) - Get a great financial education - Help others obtain financial success/freedom

      Cons

      - Must be willing to "Run & Gun" in terms of driving your own production - Must be internally driven by the ability to help others rather than self success - The company has "loose" hiring standards (obviously not financial felons or such) so you may deal with agents that are behind the curve until they are properly trained - Not the easiest profession to succeed in (financial advising). - Since the company is willing to initially hire employees that may seem to have an inability to understand how to be a good financial advisor, some clients (or even other agents) may experience agents acting unethically and only push recruiting rather than the great services Primerica offers.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Part-Time flexible & family-friendly

      Jun 26, 2019 - Financial Advisor in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Ability to work part-time flexible hours around family obligations like raising children and caring for aging relatives while getting paid fairly for hours worked. 2) Company culture is more supportive of women and other minorities compared to financial industry average. Over 50% women and over 25% minority run offices also helps with success in serving clients in under-served communities and where women are household decision makers. 3) Excellent paperless tools that help streamline business transactions and allow working virtually on-the-go with great apps on any device + amazing tech support department based in GA home office that actually answers calls and is open late hours.

      Cons

      Time management is up to you, although the company supports healthy work/life balance and has family-friendly offices where babies & children are welcome. Since there are no quotas or time minimums, it is up to oneself to manage schedule and many people are not used to this and just do not work well without a time-clock.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      BEST AMERICAN COMPANY

      Jan 31, 2019 - District Sales Leader in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited Growth Self development workshop Career opportunity Part time income opportunity Business/ Ownership opportunity Financial education PRIMERICA BRINGS WALL STREET TO MAIN STREET

      Cons

      NONE ! Still thinking, none. Just work. Businesses make income purely off commission.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Literally the best opportunity to grow a business in America today

      Jan 16, 2019 - District Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      How anyone can call this company that does SO much good for people a scam is beyond me. I've seen clients brought to tears when we were able to double and triple their retirement income. I've seen reps brought to tears when promoted to RVP based on their RESULTS they brought to the company. I've seen people with almost nothing grow multi-million dollar businesses. I began part time and was able to quit my full-time job as a sales rep for Verizon because I made more money in Primerica PART TIME than I did FULL TIME at my "normal" job. This is a legitimate and remarkable opportunity to grow a business or earn some extra money part-time, whichever you want to make of it. Those who fail don't believe in themselves, are closed minded and have an employee mindset, not a self-employed or business owner mindset and will never succeed in financial freedom because of that. Funny that when I show Primerica to other business owners they LOVE it because they understand BUSINESS. Primerica checks all the boxes of a great business opportunity: virtually no startup cost, over 4300 offices and a corporate headquarters for support, ability to grow and develop a team WITHOUT taking away from their pay, fulfilling a TREMENDOUS need in helping people get out of debt, become properly protected and financially independent, massive credibility with the BBB, Forbes, NYSE, Dalbar, you name it, proven track record of 40+ years, ability to ALWAYS do the right thing for the client without having to be a shady salesman, an incredibly positive environment, having a MENTOR RVP who has done it themselves, high ticket sales, no cap on your growth and income opportunity, FREEDOM to live and work when and how you want, ability to OWN your business outright and pass it on to your family, ability to LEVERAGE your time and efforts through production of others and receive PASSIVE INCOME through bonuses/overrides, etc etc etc.

      Cons

      There are so many people out there who don't understand how to think like a business owner instead of an employee and it can be frustrating when people can't distinguish between a wonderful and legitimate opportunity and a scam/scheme. Some people who don't believe in themselves so they quit on you. People who are lazy/unmotivated and post reviews that aren't the truth about the company, making my job harder. Society has brainwashed people into thinking that the only way to be successful is to get a J.O.B. but you get to help them overcome that

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Honesty

      Jan 31, 2019 - Division Leader in Gulfport, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the part time opp, making my own schedule, building a team, you have the chance to start from the bottom as a janitor so to speak but become a Regional Vice President

      Cons

      If your lazy or uncoachable, this business WILL NOT work for you. People give bad reviews to the company because they are lazy and rather put down a company to not be honest in their work ethic

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Primerica Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Primerica? Share Your Experiences

    or