Primrose Schools Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
30%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Primrose Schools CEO Jo Kirchner
Jo Kirchner
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "The kids are great to work with(in 16 reviews)

  • "Rewarding, Free Meals, Discounted Childcare, Great People(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "No sick days or health benefits, low pay, favoritism(in 49 reviews)

  • "The compensation is low and with such high turnover there is no time to get work done because you are always trying to help a new person learn the job(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Primrose fan!"

    5.0
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools

    Pros

    The owners and management team really cared about the staff and the families. I can relate to the Primrose promise and have found that the Balanced curriculum is a great way for children to learn while having fun.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Primrose Schools2019-12-17
  2. "High Turnover"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Haslet, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very clean and uniform school

    Cons

    High turnover rate so there were long hours. My particular primrose doesn't pay overtime so they would make us take 2 hour unpaid lunches at times

    Continue reading
    Primrose Schools2020-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Okay Experience, Depends on the school"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time

    Pros

    Small Class Sizes Nice parents Easy to get job for Early Childhood Educator

    Cons

    Low salary Disorganized Management High turnover rate Not a high level of professionalism among coworkers

    Primrose Schools2020-05-06
  4. "Not bad, strict rules for teachers but good community"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant 

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time

    Pros

    Community, professional learning, curriculum is good

    Cons

    Rules for teachers, low pay

    Primrose Schools2020-05-08
  5. "Run far far away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You don't have to make lesson plans. They force you to do theirs

    Cons

    Owner doesn't know what she's doing at all. Its a franchise Owner has a background in engineering All the teachers are recruited from kindergarten including the director

    Continue reading
    Primrose Schools2020-05-19
  6. "Owners only care about the money in their pockets."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Teacher, Kindergarten 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having Assistant, food was edible, the events like the spring hat parade or winter fundraiser. The people you meet and the kids! Other then that run!

    Cons

    I am a certified teacher, with my bachelors degree. I was paid 12$ an hour to teach kindergarten, I was hired mid year and just graduated college with no job. So I took it but 12$ an hour for having a degree and being certified is ridiculous. I wasnt allowed to put up anchor charts or have a word wall or have up student work. (As a teacher especially of these age group visuals are soooo important) None of the items listed on the curriculum exist be prepared to put all your money into this place. Because they expect you to do this for parents. Because it’s all about pleasing the parents. Always. The fake ness or the owners and the directors. If you have to use the restroom be prepared to never go because your assistant director is laying on the floor of the directors office just talking away. It’s a shame this is a nice place but the way staff are treated, I was warned on day 1 from an employee who had just been hired and already had one foot out the door. Also don’t go on vacation and expect your stuff to still be there. I went on vacation I left a lot of my items there but took most home as I never had my own class but shared. And all the things I had left had been thrown away. So much more to be said. But if I were you I’d look elsewhere. Daycares are pretty horrible to employees everywhere. But this place was the absolutely worst the last few weeks of work I cried every day having to go in. Work for a public school now and I get there an hour early and I’m excited. It’s all about how you are treated. And for primrose it’s not about that they just care that the amount of money in their pockets grows.

    Continue reading
    Primrose Schools2020-05-10
  7. "Like being in high school"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Glen Mills, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids are great and you get healthy food.

    Cons

    Lots of drama and gossip between coworkers

    Continue reading
    Primrose Schools2020-03-09
  8. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Short Pump, VA

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time

    Pros

    Pay was fine, there health care but it isnt great, lots of food, curriculum already in place

    Cons

    too many kids in too small of a space, terrible terrible communication. Teachers didnt really have a chance to communicate with parents, it was all done at the front desk. often times management would tell parents things but would never mention it to the teachers, like when kids would move up rooms. Teachers are constantly getting moved around the place when their training was only for a specific age range.

    Primrose Schools2020-03-03
  9. "Decent Place to Work Short-term"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Primrose Schools part-time

    Pros

    Had an awesome management team!

    Cons

    Very low pay for the work.

    Primrose Schools2020-02-19
  10. "It is a nice opportunity if gain experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-K Teacher in Athens, GA

    I worked at Primrose Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer benefits after 3 months

    Cons

    Since everything needs to documented on the Ipad, meal times, curriculum, any special notes throughout the day, and you are technically juggling a lot of balls all at once, there was almost no time to have conversations with the co-teacher about what worked and what didn't in the classroom...

    Primrose Schools2020-02-17
Found 701 reviews