Prince George's County Reviews | Glassdoor

Prince George's County Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Prince George's County CEO Rushern L. Baker, III
Rushern L. Baker, III
11 Ratings
  1. "Great Organization to work for and network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Largo, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prince George's County for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Direct focus on improving Prince George's County by providing job training, Entrepreneurship, and overall attracting and retaining wealth in the county.

    Cons

    More on the job training

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive and have more sense of urgency

    Prince George's County2017-08-11
  2. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Prince George, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Prince George's County full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fast pace, easy to learn but you need to adapt

    Cons

    benefits are bad and harsh hours.

    Prince George's County2019-01-26
  3. "Once you work there it is a great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Prince George's County part-time

      Pros

      The programs are engaging and the community is supportive. The staff is friendly and seems to enjoy the work they are doing.

      Cons

      Working for the government means it takes a long time for things to process. It took me months to get my resume through HR even though I knew that my current boss wanted to hire me. We have also had trouble getting requests satisfied in a timely manner.

      Advice to Management

      Streamline the HR process so that things can be processed in a timely manner; continue to update the website so that it can reflect the plethora of offerings given by the county.

      Prince George's County2018-05-29
    • "Stability"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Prince George's County full-time

      Pros

      Pensions is great! Constantly learning new things

      Cons

      Upper Marlboro location is not very accessible to the residents and community life

      Prince George's County2018-04-23
    • "Emergency Dispatcher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Prince George's County

      Pros

      Job security, plenty of overtime, rewarding to help people

      Cons

      long hard stressful hours, standards constantly changing, underpaid

      Prince George's County2017-12-18
    • "Emergency Dispatcher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince George's County full-time

      Pros

      Free Water at work. secured parking

      Cons

      Very Long and Stressful Hours.

      Advice to Management

      Stop Playing favorites

      Prince George's County2017-12-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to start career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Prince George's County

      Pros

      The County is a dynamic fast paced environment that is a great place for someone who is just starting their career because you will learn a lot and be exposed to a lot.

      Cons

      The salary is not very competitive compared to other County governments.

      Prince George's County2017-09-09
    • "Morale is as low as the pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Health Educator I in Springdale, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince George's County full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very Stable, hard to get fired from. decent benefits if merit employee, able to take time off easily, coworkers are good to work with,

      Cons

      Underpaid, little to no room for advancement, very clique-ish, not flexible, morale is as low as the pay, hostile work environment caused by leadership, overall not a great work environment

      Advice to Management

      Invest in leadership, build a rapport with you employees

      Prince George's County2017-08-02
    • "Great training, terrible pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Emergency Dispatch Operator in Bowie, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Prince George's County full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Paid for international licenses and accreditations from IAED, APCO, Meters/NCIC, etc - all huge assets to other agencies 3.75 day weekends (after four 12-hour days over 5 days)

      Cons

      Less pay than adjacent municipalities and counties Much higher work output required than adjacent agencies Very weak union Poorly managed by untrained "professionals" from outside of public safety who have little to no knowledge about most aspects of the job. 12 hour work days, changing from two consecutive mornings to 2 consecutive nights; you're constantly changing sleep cycles. Pay periods are inconsistent because...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire from within. Retain employees by securing more funds; most new employees quit within 6 months, wasting +$30,000 on background investigations and training periods to lose employees to a job paying $3000 a year more.

      Prince George's County2017-05-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Emergency dispatcher/call taker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Emergency Dispatcher in Bowie, MD
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Prince George's County

      Pros

      It's a job I guess.

      Cons

      Unless you really want to be an emergency dispatcher, I would advise you to explore other careers. The hiring process is entirely too long for a $32,000 salary. You have to pass an exam, do two background checks, interview with a panel, submit high school and college transcripts, etc. You'll probably have to work weekends, evening or night shift and through holidays once hired. You can apply for a Security Officer...

      Show More
      Prince George's County2017-05-20
    Found 27 reviews