Prince William County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Prince William County Schools Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 126 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Steven L Walts
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Supportive of Teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Listens to the teachers needs

    Cons

    Some schools can be overcrowded

    Prince William County Schools2019-03-31
  2. "CAFETERIA WORKER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools part-time

      Pros

      Good worker with experience in the area.

      Cons

      My English is not perfect.

      Prince William County Schools2019-05-11
    • "Don't work here."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The students will get an amazing education.

      Cons

      LONG hours, unrealistic expectations, low pay compared to other states, bad communication, and scare tactics instead of real management.

      Advice to Management

      Think about why you're having teachers do something before they have to do it. I have put the same data on 4 different spreadsheets several times this year. Why? I don't know. Also, principals need to communicate with staff within a reasonable time frame. We would receive major schedule changes to our days with only an hour or less notice. How are we supposed to create a safe and predictable learning environment for students...

      Show More
      Prince William County Schools2019-06-08
    • ""Site Based Admin" makes all of the difference"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits and salary are good, most schools are very good.

      Cons

      If you get a bad principal, it affects the whole staff. We had 25 people leave in one year.

      Prince William County Schools2019-04-24
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Administration is very supportive and insightful

      Cons

      class sizes are large and need a longer lunch time

      Prince William County Schools2019-02-28
    • "Elementary School Teachers are Worked to the Bone."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - First Grade Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Stable job, decent pay, great community

      Cons

      You will never get a break, ever, not ever.

      Advice to Management

      You need to balance the secondary/ single subject teachers and the elementary teacher's work load. You will never keep anyone at the elementary level with such outrageous demands.

      Prince William County Schools2019-02-04
    • "Wonderful colleagues and supervisor support, however transient area can make it difficult"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Educator 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Prince William County Schools for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Colleagues were on board with collaborating and working together to make a difference. My administration was always receptive of new ideas and promote a positive school culture. CLT/PLC meetings are a great idea.

      Cons

      Being in such a transient area it made it hard to adapt to a constant flow of new students from other countries. Also the math, reading, and science curriculum was changed at least 1 time in the 5 years I worked there. This made it difficult to fully master teaching concepts. CLT/PLC meetings were not run as effective as they could have been.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to use the same curriculum for at least 10 years to see student growth. Have administrator sit in on CLT/PLC meetings to facilitate and provide immediate feedback. Not every "quick check" needs to be analyzed for 45 minutes during a planning session. Though it is necessary to reflect on assessment results, It is more important to have a strong plan in place going forward with remediation tactics and personalized...

      Show More
      Prince William County Schools2019-01-04
    • "Facility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manassas, VA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Teh pay is good for the area

      Cons

      There are a lot of callback and overtime

      Prince William County Schools2018-11-28
    • "Substitute Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Prince William County Schools part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great teachers and staff Always a job available

      Cons

      Once students get to know you as a regular sub, a lot of the behavior issues decrease

      Prince William County Schools2018-11-15
    • "Great County School"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Prince William County Schools full-time

        Pros

        Many schools within PWCS to find employment with.

        Cons

        Not all administrations are really there for you.

        Advice to Management

        Principal's don't stay in your office's - get out and know your teachers and students

        Prince William County Schools2018-11-09
      Found 126 reviews