Princess Cruise Lines Reviews | Glassdoor

Princess Cruise Lines Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 331 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Princess Cruise Lines CEO  Jan Swartz
Jan Swartz
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 work week is a nice option to have(in 36 reviews)

  • "Offers fair salary and benefits with extra perks such as a 9/80 work period, business casual dress, cruise benefits etc(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working long hours without a whole day off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Low Pay (lowest in the cruise industry for IT Professionals)(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cruise benefits, you get to work from home.

    Cons

    Calls are nonstop.

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-04-05
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Santa Clarita, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits, forward-thinking, creative individuals.

    Cons

    A long commute to Valencia, some senior levels of management are set in their ways but this is changing.

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-06-19
  3. "Nice people, could be more diverse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst in Santa Clarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every other Friday off (in my department), friendly peers and management, spacious parking, located next to a mall, free coffee and tea on every floor, newly established Toastmaster's Club

    Cons

    Minimal meeting spaces, icky filtered water, too much reliance on email for documentation, 401k match not fully vested until some time with the company, sick and vacation hours are accrued from Day 1 not just handed an allotment

    Advice to Management

    Offer exercise incentives, build open meeting spaces (couches), listen to the data/market, get internet on all the ships, focus on younger people/new to cruise, ban smoking in ships

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-06-14
  4. "Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Great community involvement

    Cons

    Difficult advancing and pay increases are limited

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-06-10
  5. "The craziest summer of your life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Trapper Creek, AK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can make awesome tips in Alaska.

    Cons

    All of the employees including most of the management party all night long creating an interesting work and unprofessional environment.

    Advice to Management

    The management picks favorites which i know is hard to avoid. Maybe just don't make it so obvious.

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-06-08
  6. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job was really easy.

    Cons

    Boring, endless calls, obnoxious entitled customers, outdated software

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-05-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "JOB DESCRIPTION NOT ACCURATE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative & Compliance Coordinator in Santa Clarita, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Company overall has many events (lunches, holiday parties, and promotions celebrations) to keep the work days a little more interesting and depending on who you work for the days can be micromanaged or be by the honor system. The Admin & Compliance Team works with the Accounting team from Supply Chain. meaning that although you are an administrator you will be doing accounting but not making the salary.

    Cons

    Admin & Compliance Team works with the Accounting team from Supply Chain. meaning that although you are an administrator you will be doing accounting but not making the salary. The Admin team always gets the short stick and promotions aren't frequent nor are pay raises. This team is constantly having team members leave at least every 6 months due to responsibility given but pay not changing, as well as to leaders...

    Show More
    Princess Cruise Lines2019-04-11
  8. "Work from Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent 

    I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, great medical/dental, frequent training opportunties

    Cons

    Communication to employees feels disconnected at times from management

    Princess Cruise Lines2019-03-27
  9. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Reservations Agent 

      I worked at Princess Cruise Lines full-time

      Pros

      Nice co workers I guess

      Cons

      Take away the point system

      Princess Cruise Lines2019-03-26
    • Helpful (2)

      "Decent Work From Home Gig, Internal Management is Awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AU Reservations WFH 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Princess Cruise Lines full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working from home No dress code. Company provided equipment Talking to Aussies Decent ability to transfer to different departments as long as your all important stats are up to par.

      Cons

      We are expendable and treated as such. Promised benefits during the hiring process were not actually for AU reservations - only north american reps. The "free" cruise doesn't exist - in addition to jumping through all of the company hoops to get the time off and cruise at the same time-you have to pay hundreds in taxes, fees, port expenses, and auto gratuities. Reaching anyone in HR is a joke. Reps located in AK but,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn to value your employees. Give us a voice and actually LISTEN. Those above cons are numerous. The reason I stick it out is because I work from home and I think you TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THAT AND US. Deliver what is promised. Do not be consistent in how employees are treated.

      Princess Cruise Lines2019-03-21
    Found 331 reviews