Principal Financial Group Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Principal Financial Group President and Chief Executive Officer Daniel J. Houston  (no image)
Daniel J. Houston
264 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Des Moines is not an ideal place for young people and foreigners(in 35 reviews)

  • "There are no cons as from my personal experience(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Product Owner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great FTO program, flexible work schedule, generally dedicated co-workers, interesting work, genuinely cares about employees

    Cons

    Its an old, big finance company. Things are slow to change, lots of senior people riding their way to retirement that cant be bothered to drive meaningful change. Pay below market.

    Continue reading
    Principal Financial Group2020-05-16
  2. "Accounting Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good documentation on tasks, a good internship program, great networking opportunities

    Cons

    Pay is low for most similar internships, Not much say in the work you get or department you are placed in

    Principal Financial Group2020-04-27
  3. "Great!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Principal Financial Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay with great people and they offer very nice training that makes it easy to learn the ins and outs of the company

    Cons

    -None that I can think of

    Principal Financial Group2020-04-22
  4. "Bad management. Thankless job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, culture, coworkers

    Cons

    Management is bad. If they don't like you for any reason they will micromanage you until you quit. Was personally picked apart by management-- that had nothing to do with the job. Got tired of it and left. Working at a much better company. Glad I left. Your experience here will depend entirely on your manager. I know people who have had great experiences here- but unfortunately for me I can't even drive by the place without feeling sick to my stomach about how terrible I feel like I was treated by my manager here.

    Continue reading
    Principal Financial Group2020-05-04
  5. "Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-I in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, lots of nice people

    Cons

    Sometimes you work on out dates systems

    Principal Financial Group2020-04-17
  6. "Infrastructure engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible time off

    Cons

    On my team, leaders are promoted within the team which can cause some stagnant leadership because there is not an influx of new ideas coming in.

    Continue reading
    Principal Financial Group2020-04-15
  7. "Okay job"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist in Cedar Falls, IA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, good insurance, 401k match, amount of PTO

    Cons

    You work in a call center. The job is poorly described in the job description when applying. PTO is hard to use without falling on blackout dates

    Principal Financial Group2020-04-13
  8. "Culture shock"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are fine. Employees on the ground are generally good.

    Cons

    Culture in Raleigh office is toxic. Failing leadership. Technology.

    Continue reading
    Principal Financial Group2020-04-02
  9. "Pretty Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contact Center Representative in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good co-workers, great management

    Cons

    Changing to a "One Principal" mentality may not be for everyone, especially those not too keen on putting their own work on hold to help other departments when unexpectedly busy

    Principal Financial Group2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the stress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life & Disability Claim Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to work remotely, flexible work schedules

    Cons

    Worked to death. Expectations are unrealistic. Caseloads are unmanageable. The phone rings nonstop so you feel more like a call center employee rather than a claim analyst at times. You are expected to take your own calls plus everyone else’s. You are expected to work your own claims plus everyone else’s. The turnover is high, leading to “abandoned caseloads” which must be absorbed by those remaining. It’s not realistic to keep up with. There is no such thing as a 40 hour workweek although you’re expected to be able to meet expectations without overtime. Claimants are often disgruntled because of timing and communication issues - the reason behind that is no one has the time to do everything we’re expected to do in an 8 hour workday. I work nonstop just to maintain and it’s a vicious cycle. It’s exhausting and anxiety inducing. Everyone is burnt out, including management. You are also “feedbacked” to death. There is endless scrutiny over every single action taken on a claim - and feedback/direction is often subjective depending on who happens to review a claim at any given time. Impossible to take PTO without working around the clock nonstop to get caught up afterwards.

    Continue reading
    Principal Financial Group2020-03-20
Found 809 reviews