Prisma Health Upstate Reviews | Glassdoor

Prisma Health Upstate Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 276 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
Prisma Health Upstate CEO Mark S. O’Halla (no image)
Mark S. O’Halla
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, nice insurance, organized(in 25 reviews)

  • "Many co-workers that have worked for GHS for decades(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have come across no downsides working at GHS(in 18 reviews)

  • "No one cares that nurses are carrying a 6:1 ratio for high acuity patients, most of the time with no CNAs(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are awesome and willing to help each other.

    Cons

    never work a full 40 hrs a week

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-01-22

    Prisma Health Upstate Response

    January 30, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition and Advancement

    Thank you for your review. We work hard to earn 5 stars and always appreciate it when people show we achieved it. While every situation varies, please reach out to your supervisor in regards to working more hours, or look for openings in SuccessFactors as a secondary job may be available for you to work a 40 hours week if there is not enough need in your current department.

    Show Less
  2. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Registered Nurse in Spartanburg, SC

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate

    Pros

    Great teamwork, great coworkers, great environment

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say

    Prisma Health Upstate2018-10-26

    Prisma Health Upstate Response

    January 15, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition and Advancement

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all you do for the organization. The best compliment you can give is to refer others to work here! If you know any other RN's you would like to work on your team please reach out to us. We would enjoy talking to them.

  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Organization is in the midst of change and so the environment that was a plus is now in turmoil

    Cons

    In the middle of change due to formation of new company with Midlands and turmoil is the environment for the next few years

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-09-21
  4. "Run, It’s a Trap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiologic Technologist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers for the most part

    Cons

    Management sucks, they don’t stand up for you at ALL! Certain people get to do whatever they want and there is discrimination against males and childleas females the department. If you are a single mother you will be GOLDEN

    Advice to Management

    Do better and get your head out of the sand

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-10-10
  5. "poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pleasant co-workers, good doctors, patient-first attitude shared throughout facility

    Cons

    the pay is terrible (less than any other local facility and FAR BELOW nation averages), and they have recently decided to suspend merit bonuses (yearly pay raises). Everyone is jumping ship. The turnover rate will definitely affect patient care.

    Advice to Management

    At minimum you should MATCH compensation other hospitals are paying Medical Technologists and MLT's because the laboratory is vital to patient care and throughput for laboratory testing could literally mean life or death. To be the best in the state, you should employee the best; to employee the best you need to compensate appropriately.

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-09-09
  6. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is very good for the area, many opportunities to grow, relatively good resources, and well respected.

    Cons

    Changes are made with not a lot of reason/logic, staff aren’t praised very often, low staffing leads to being overworked and burned out (but isn’t that just nursing, sadly?).

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-08-25
  7. "Admissions Counselor/Surgery Scheduler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prisma Health Upstate

    Pros

    Good health benefits and pay

    Cons

    Can be very political at times, will penalize for something small

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with employee concerns.

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-08-07
  8. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary. Feel appreciated. Co-workers.

    Cons

    Short staffed. Upper Mgmt not visible.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t expect staff to care for more patients than is safe.

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-07-31
  9. "They do not care about employees or patients, just making money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician Practice Specialist in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay once you have experience

    Cons

    horrible insurance benefits considering you work for a hospital.

    Advice to Management

    Let practice managers manage their practice. Quit making them go to all these leadership training and crazy meeting all the time. our manager was never at the office when we needed her because she was always having to go to a meeting for the hospital system.

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-08-14
  10. "Need better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PPS in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Prisma Health Upstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work family and patients

    Cons

    Pay, benefits, time off

    Advice to Management

    Pay your quality employees more money because they deserve it.

    Prisma Health Upstate2019-08-08
Found 276 reviews