ProctorU Reviews | Glassdoor

ProctorU Reviews

Updated February 27, 2017
66 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ProctorU CEO Scott McFarland
Scott McFarland
15 Ratings

66 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • But the company is growing rapidly and I am sure in the coming years there will be a great deal of opportunity for current and future employees (in 7 reviews)

  • Flexible hours, usually has food in break room, management is friendly, not a hard job, diverse employment, pet friendly work place (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Business levels can be seasonal, more part-time than full-time opportunities at the entry-level (in 7 reviews)

  • The company may not be profitable enough, as they push too many 'test takers' at once and pay a low wage (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Manager on Duty"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Birmingham, AL
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProctorU full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, good company culture after leadership change.

    Cons

    Communication from the top down could be improved

    ProctorU Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. We have maintained great focus on providing information to the organization from all levels of leadership. That will continue this in 2017 and beyond through a number ... More


  2. "Hard to stay positive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ProctorU part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful people to work with for the most part, flexible hours, lower management is understanding and truly help keep morale up, helping people, can pick up hours if desired

    Cons

    Upper management micromanages, the fun pillar has all but disappeared, employees do not feel appreciated, less room for growth than before, low pay for the amount of work you are expected to do, outsourcing leads to less hours for the US employees, stressful busy season and very few hours during slow season

    Advice to Management

    This is particularly for upper management:
    Don't deny that things are changing within the company.
    Part-timers are getting less hours in favor of our overseas offices. Part-timers who had been promised the possibility of full time, then eventually management positions are not able to get anywhere because of the outsourcing. Communication is key.
    Bring back the fun pillar and make sure your employees know they are appreciated for their hard work. There are jokes about the fun pillar being replaced by the professionalism pillar, and they're not wrong.
    Don't reprimand employees for being human and having lives outside of work, even if we're busy. Don't place blame on people who have no control over situations. Ease up on the micromanaging of lower positions. Lower management is there to manage them.
    Forecast for more exams than expected during possibly busy times and give us other jobs to do during the slow times. People leave because of the stress of the busy season and/or not having hours in the slow season.


  3. "Stepping Stone Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Exam Proctor in Hoover, AL
    Former Employee - Exam Proctor in Hoover, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ProctorU part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The hours were flexible, friendly atmosphere, decent hourly pay. Great for college students & those looking for flexible hours.

    Cons

    Going without hours for two to three months can do a toll on you mentally. You use this as a primary paycheck and you could find yourself not able to pay bills.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to play favoritism with the employees. I recall the evening shifts being treated horrible when most the black people sat by each other. Constantly being nagged about simple things.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "OK place to work if you want to be out of a job soon"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ProctorU full-time

    Pros

    Not a hard job (proctoring)

    Cons

    New CEO took over roughly 6 months ago and pretty much killed the"fun" culture. Also closed one of the offices to move operations overseas even though promising otherwise just a few months before.

    ProctorU Response

    Feb 21, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We have received tremendously positive comments on the success and climate of ProctorU and see many employees staying longer in their roles and growing within the ... More


  6. "Little to No Hours"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proctor in Livermore, CA
    Former Employee - Proctor in Livermore, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProctorU part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice office & break room, some of the managers & most of the employees were nice and easy to get along with, training staff was very helpful and fun to work with

    Cons

    Start up environment, sometimes you could get down to 4 hours a week, it's not uncommon to arrive to work to start your shift only to be sent home due to lack of TT's (test takers), very much a quantity over quality way of working. Rather than being personable with the TTs management always pushed for double, triples, sometimes even helping 4 test takers at once. This was stressful and didn't allow for quality customer service.

    Advice to Management

    Hire less so you can give your employees more hours, push quality over quantity when it comes to picking up TTs from the queue,

    ProctorU Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback from your ProctorU experience. We are very glad to receive favorable comments about the things you enjoyed with the company. December is typically our busiest month ... More


  7. "Good for college students"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProctorU part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible hours
    - Ability to become proficient in a multitude of different positions
    - Opportunities for advancement
    - Fun work environment
    - Good pay for college students

    Cons

    - Some opportunities were made more available to others due to nepotism and politics
    - Job can get repetitive
    - Job can get stressful if understaffed

    Advice to Management

    - Make sure not to neglect the 'FUN' pillar of the company pillars!
    - Provide equal advancement opportunities for all employees, not just select employees
    - Make sure staffing is appropriate

    ProctorU Response

    Dec 16, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and recommendations. We had some tremendous growth and opportunity this year. In fact, 127 employees were promoted or changed position titles in 2016. We will ... More


  8. "A great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Proctor
    Current Employee - Part Time Proctor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProctorU part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flex hours, Sick time, Reasonable and Understanding Management, Open door policy, Dogs allowed, and a fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Communication can sometimes be hard, Technology sometimes breaks, High stress during busy times of the year, and Low hours during slow times of the year (to be expected though).

    Advice to Management

    I can see that the company as a whole is trying harder at communicating but at times it is still rough around the edges. Continue the path you are on and continue to remind new and old that management is there to talk no matter what. Be a little more open-minded about how a proctor does the job. If they are close to, meeting, or exceeding the goals for the position they are in what does it matter how they do it? I am not talking about protocol like the security aspects. More about the doubles that weren't supposed to be company standard seemingly becoming the unofficial standard especially when we are in the busy parts of the year. I also would advise that it feel a little less like the proctor's faults if we are backed up. I get that we want the customer happy but it isn't the proctor's faults that there are issues, delays, or not enough bodies for the volume coming in.

    ProctorU Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We continue to build on our momentum with communication. Our entire leadership team is committed to keeping an open mind to suggestions, ideas and vital ... More


  9. "Meh."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Watcher in Hoover, AL
    Former Employee - Watcher in Hoover, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProctorU part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pretty chill and relaxed atmosphere. Sometimes the test takers are entertaining to watch. Definitely a really easy job. Nerds will definitely feel at home here, lots of gamers.

    Cons

    Low pay, but that was expected.
    When you're hired, you'll be told that the training schedule is as follows: 1 20 hour week, 1 40 hour week, another 20 hour week, and another 40 hour week (and then part time from then on). This is not true. My 2nd week, I got 8 hours, and my 3rd, I was scheduled for 20. Adding insult to injury, I was asked not to come in one of those days. I don't know how upper management can sleep well at night knowing their staff is trying to live on an $80 work week. I realize it's part time, but it is CRUEL to tell someone they're working 40 hours and then take 32 of them away.
    Another annoyance is that they make the schedule weekly (only a couple days advance), so you're at their mercy as far as that goes. It makes it nearly impossible to coordinate with another job.
    Also, the managers spend most of their day goofing off on google hangouts and get irritated when trainees ask for help.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with new hires. Create bi-weekly schedules. Managers- pay attention to your trainees.

    ProctorU Response

    Dec 5, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. Since September of this year, our goal was to hire and train several employees in preparation for our busiest period of the year. The training process was modified to ... More


  10. "decent job for tech savvy or young person"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exam Proctor in Hoover, AL
    Current Employee - Exam Proctor in Hoover, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ProctorU part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    easy to communication with management and co-workers.
    nice office
    good amount of freedom
    flexible hours, great if you have another job or in school

    Cons

    after midterms and final exams the next month hours with will be REALLY LOW, like 20 a month.
    favoritism
    they hire weird people sometimes and the desks are kinda close together.
    uncertain on direction of company things happening and management not telling whole truths
    downsizing of departments which overloads other departments

    Advice to Management

    increase pay for proctors or have pay incentives
    if your going to hire seniors for a tech heavy job PLEASE provide adequit training, it makes it harder on everyone when you done

    ProctorU Response

    Nov 18, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for all your comments. We are pleased to see the favorable aspects your enjoy about ProctorU. We have taken major steps this year to improve transparency and clear communication in all ... More


  11. "Great place to work!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Livermore, CA
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProctorU full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing company, #1 online proctoring company, fun place to work, positive atmosphere, comfortable dress code, excellent management, no day is exactly the same so there is never a dull moment, you can advance and move up quickly

    Cons

    Have to start off at part time, have a lot of video driver issues, computers need to be updated. I was let go for not meeting my numbers, though my customer Service was outstanding. Management did try to work with and help me, but I was unaware that I had to meet a quota 25% above company average in SPH (starts per hour).

    Advice to Management

    As CSR II it should have been made clearer about these expectations. Also, if you're on a PIP, you should be meeting with the same floor manager weekly and through to the end of the PIP. My numbers dropped and the last 2 weeks of my PIP, the floor manager didn't even bother to meet with me, until the PCM did and I was let go. That felt unfair, though I know several managers were trying to help me achieve my SPH goals.

    ProctorU Response

    Nov 18, 2016 – VP, Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear all the positive comments from your ProctorU experience. Over the past several months, we have invested significantly with ... More



Showing 66 of 66 reviews
Reset Filters