Productive Edge Reviews | Glassdoor

Productive Edge Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Joel Livet
37 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "A Caring and Collaborative Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time

    Pros

    People work hard for a common goal. Leadership is transparent. And the benefits are really good. Productive Edge is a great place to learn new skills and grow your career

    Cons

    Things are very fast paced and there are a lot of changes. Part of this is due to the industries served. You have to be on your toes and ready to adapt.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Bring in the best and keep fostering an atmosphere of creativity and teamwork.

    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  2. "Caring people, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with no drama... people are genuinely here to grow in their profession and become stronger players in the tech world. Dynamic social and PE Cares initiatives, at least once a week there is a way to get out of the normal work setting and have some fun or to help out a cause with a group of coworkers. Management is also sincere about taking employee feedback seriously and making improvements where needed....

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many cons, management does a good job listening to employee feedback and making adjustments when improvements are needed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting the Social Team outings and PE Cares activities!

    Productive Edge2019-03-28
  3. "Cutting edge projects and great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is super talented. Great culture with a lot of fun people and always social events going on. Management is genuinely concerned with their employees and have moved them internally to keep them happy. Projects are very interesting and always on cutting edge.

    Cons

    Consulting field means you have to get used to change. Cutting edge software means some projects have unique challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Company is outgrowing the current office and need a new one soon. Keep doing the PE Cares events to help the community.

    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  4. "Excellent Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment. Open loft-style office surrounded by smart minds that allows for frequent knowledge and idea sharing. PE expects consultants to quickly take ownership of their projects upon joining, allowing for rapid integration into the company and work. Many opportunities to socialize with team members through happy hours, weekly social activities and volunteer events.

    Cons

    With PE's rapid growth, hoping to seeing more enthusiasm from leadership in investing in existing employees and promoting from within along with the push for recruiting outside talent.

    Productive Edge2019-02-12
  5. "Down to earth, hardworking coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flat hierarchy, engaged employees, casual company culture, hard-working and smart employees,

    Cons

    Lots of growth, and change, but that isn't necessarily a negative

    Productive Edge2019-02-08
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A Technology Sweat Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Architect in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to (occasionally) work from home.

    Cons

    Leadership within the company is inexperienced, and at times unethical. The company is constantly understaffed, and relies heavily on outsourced employees to handle much of the heavy technical lifting. The benefits are abysmal to say the least. Compensation is sub-par, awful health insurance options, and no 401K match is offered.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more experienced, ethical, and hardworking leaders.

    Productive Edge2019-02-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "No Clear Plan, Lack of Company-Wide Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Productive Edge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - In-office snacks, beer on tap - Regular semi-annual events - Very talented people working below leadership level

    Cons

    - No functional sales organization means that the company is totally dependent on existing clients for new work - This leads to dramatic swings in benefits, staffing levels, and overall mood (based on whether a large existing client is asking for more work, or not) - Leadership is reactionary and uncommunicative, so unless you are in a leadership meeting you do not know what things will look like more than...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop a long-term plan, communicate it out to employees, and try to stick to it. Invest in employees, and don't treat them like a commodity (replacing merit-based bonuses with a beer tap doesn't count). Ask employees to contribute to the long-term health of the company, not just the short-term. You have lots of talented people who could help solve your systemic issues, but you have to ask for help first.

    Productive Edge2019-01-22

    Productive Edge Response

    January 25, 2019

    Thank you for the feedback and for recognizing the many talented people who work at Productive Edge. We’re extremely proud of our team and we strive to create a workplace that enables people to grow and be challenged. We’re happy that the majority of reviews here reflect our thriving ...

    Show More
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment and atmosphere, healthy culture, smart colleagues, and strong leadership!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Productive Edge2019-01-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "On the edge of something great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked here nearly a year, and I have nothing bad to say. For me, what makes a quality workplace is threefold, a place that: 1) has quality people of both heart and mind, 2) encourages people to flourish in their craft, and 3) hires people who are down to Earth. Productive Edge excels in all of those qualities, and I've truly enjoyed my time here thus far. I'm looking forward to many more in the future.

    Cons

    I'll keep this short since there's not too much bad to focus on. The coffee could better. I love good coffee. The office is stocked with not-bad coffee, but it could use an upgrade.

    Advice to Management

    Splurge on quality coffee.

    Productive Edge2018-12-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Productive Edge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Emerging technologies, interesting projects with AR/VR, AI/ML, IoT, automation, etc., great clients and ability to dive in to many different industries, no travel for most positions, cross team collaboration on projects with the chance to gain exposure with a variety of different technologies. The culture is humble, laid back, and have really smart people running projects. Many opportunities for career advancement and...

    Show More

    Cons

    On occasion, people work over 40 hours on certain projects (not frequently), but the for the most part management puts emphasis on work/life balance and focus on culture and providing interesting and meaningful work.

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow, try to keep the same great culture.

    Productive Edge2018-12-05

    Productive Edge Response

    December 11, 2018Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for the review, and we are really making an effort to continue making Productive Edge one of Chicago's top places to work.

Found 51 reviews