Professional Educational Services Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Professional Educational Services Group Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Professional Educational Services Group CEO Scott Van Lente (no image)
Scott Van Lente
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "not applicable to me but others who work with pesg as Substitutes or Instructional Aides have said that the pay is not much and their are no benefits)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, easy to start, simple to use(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no way to contact PESG and speak to a person for human resources or administrative assitance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Low pay and unappreicated on the job(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work if you're looking to stay busy while kids are in school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They are always willing to work with your schedule. Very professional!

    Cons

    Pay is not great but the rate is set by the county you work for. Other than that, there is absolutely nothing negative I can say about PESG.

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-07-08
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, benefits offered, 401K

    Cons

    No guarantee of daily job.

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-08-01
  3. "Great Opportunity with this Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Milton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diverse interaction with students Excellent experience for potential teachers Local supervisor cared for subs Make your own schedule

    Cons

    It would be nice if the pay was better, but that's how it goes for most jobs in education

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-07-21
  4. "Decent for Interim Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Professional Educational Services Group part-time

    Pros

    Connected with widely used system for substitute teachers Flexibility Relatively simple process to get involved with company

    Cons

    Communication was inefficient Had insufficient funds to pay paychecks on more than one ocassion

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-05-31
  5. "Good entry level job for new graduates or people changing careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, worked with your schedule, make your own hours, choose days and places you are available to work. Great opportunity for entry level employees entering the workforce, changing careers, new teachers getting experience, or people who have other means of income.

    Cons

    Cannot survive on the wage.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-01-08
  6. "Sub teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Gladstone, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The ability to help children in an educational experience. The fact that the job sounds meaningful when people ask what you do for a living. Each day is a new day. You can pick and choose work. Great job for a stay at home parent, retired person, or second job.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for what you do. Sometimes the children are not kind and lie. Hours are not guaranteed.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier for workers to find work. I could check for days and not find work. Then in the end lots of jobs at the schools went unfilled. It would be nice if there was a chance to advance and make more pay as a sub.

    Professional Educational Services Group2019-01-09
  7. "Sub Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group

    Pros

    great people to work with here

    Cons

    there are no cons to this job

    Advice to Management

    nothing at this time here

    Professional Educational Services Group2018-10-23
  8. "It varied on a day-to-day basis."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I didn't have to do much work, I didn't have a boss over my shoulders, I was new in every school.

    Cons

    The kids are bad, some people feel like your stepping on their toes (especially teacher aids)

    Advice to Management

    Give teachers more options kids start clowning.

    Professional Educational Services Group2018-06-19
  9. "Sub Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Lake Orion, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can choose your own work schedule.

    Cons

    Sometimes the teachers you cover for don't prepare sub materials.

    Professional Educational Services Group2018-06-13
  10. "Sub Teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Sault Ste. Marie, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Professional Educational Services Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training is quick and easy, the online site is easy to access and maneuver, I have full control of the jobs I accept, I have been doing this for about 4 years now and have gotten to know plenty of people in my district.

    Cons

    I have not had any significant issues with this company.

    Professional Educational Services Group2018-05-05
Found 99 reviews