Professional Tutors of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Professional Tutors of America Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Robert Harraka
18 Ratings
  1. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Tutor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time

    Pros

    This company was awesome. The pay is great for part time, they provide you with assigned students in the areas of study you apply to teach, and they also provide you with the materials needed for teaching any subject. It is based off the students’ level. For example, if you have a 4th grader with a 3rd grade reading level, a 3rd grade reading handbook is provided for use. You call the parents to set up sessions each week...

    Show More

    Cons

    I really don’t have any cons. Some kids listen better than others, but they’re kids so that was no surprise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Professional Tutors of America2017-12-06
  2. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Tutor in Banning, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours. Work on your own schedule.

    Cons

    Not enough hours to work so your pay is not much.

    Professional Tutors of America2018-12-20
  3. "Trustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Tutor in Dana Point, CA

    I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time

    Pros

    You can trust them with your bank account information They pay really well and on time Well organized and easy to communicate with Great training and information

    Cons

    Boring, not my thing In strangers' homes in sketchy areas sometimes Not a steady income by any means-not many hours. I only had two students. I'd still give it a shot though because if I had been willing to work in people's homes (I requested to only work in the library) I may have gotten more clients.

    Advice to Management

    I would give the people you hire at least 20 hours of work a week, even if it means hiring less tutors.

    Professional Tutors of America2017-09-12
  4. "Billing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Professional Tutors of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly staff, always willing to help one another. Work capacity always kept you busy. Management supports higher education.

    Cons

    Turnover was very high, pay was pretty low considering the work load.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for employees who excel. By doing so you will be able to retain great employees and build a stronger relationship if they feel appreciated.

    Professional Tutors of America2017-08-05
  5. "Decent Part Time Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time

    Pros

    Decent hourly wage, quick payment, quick shipment of materials and info about each child

    Cons

    No training. I was sent a workbook related to the grade level of the student I was tutoring with no guidelines. They specified that no outside materials could be used, which was a little ridiculous since each child learns differently.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more stimulating teaching materials

    Professional Tutors of America2017-05-23
  6. "Cons outweigh the pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Professional Tutors of America

      Pros

      The students are wonderful to work with.

      Cons

      The only measure of a student's improve is their use of pre-testing and post-testing which may or may not truly reflect the tutor's efforts. The commute can be terrible, and sometimes students may not be available. It feels like this job is only about meeting a quota. The parents/guardians may not be wholly invested in the tutoring since they don't pay for it out of pocket.

      Professional Tutors of America2017-05-19
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Tutor in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Professional Tutors of America part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Work on your own time, great pay, very nice meeting students and their family.

      Cons

      Not enought assingments in the are during my available time.

      Professional Tutors of America2017-04-07
    • "What a Joke"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brea, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Professional Tutors of America full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Had great, competent, hardworking coworkers who all eventually got fired. Tutors are ok here but read the reviews from in the office.

      Cons

      This place is TERRIBLE! The management is awful. The atmosphere is abysmal. If you want a to be screamed at, degraded, have every move watched, texts from management to see if you are using your phone to get yelled at, time logged when you go to the bathroom, and want to worry about getting fired daily, this place is for you.

      Advice to Management

      All I can say is wow. The fact you have been in business for this long is absolutely amazing. There is no caring about education or students, this place cares about money and Bob. You are the worst employer I have ever worked for and it is so disappointing how you lure talent in and beat them down until you either fire them or they leave. Sure you can claim that you have employees who have worked at the office for...

      Show More
      Professional Tutors of America2017-04-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Withholds pay from employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Math Tutor in Modesto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The passive manner of tutoring is easy, but that's really more a con, as the students gain so little from it.

      Cons

      They are withholding about $70 of my pay because I worked two hour sessions instead of 1.5 hour sessions. The scheduled sessions were approved by my coordinator, at two hours apiece, before I worked them. They told me at the end of that pay period that they would not be paying me for that time, and that they are going to credit it back to the school district. The only tutoring material you are permitted to use is a...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get out of education. You demonstrate no real care for the students' education. Quite the contrary, your workbook wastes the time they may be spending on actual homework or with actual tutors, doing work that is actually relevant to their educational goals. It is immoral to capitalize on the disadvantaged and poor families that depend on their district's wisdom in selecting a company to aid their children. These students...

      Show More
      Professional Tutors of America2017-03-26
    • "tutor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brea, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Professional Tutors of America part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      best tutoring company because they are very organized, send things out on time and pay on time

      Cons

      it would be good if they gave the students some sort of prize after they completd their entire contract

      Advice to Management

      all is good

      Professional Tutors of America2016-12-21
    Found 37 reviews