Profiles International Reviews | Glassdoor

Profiles International Reviews

Updated May 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Profiles International President & CEO Joseph "Bud" Haney (no image)
Joseph "Bud" Haney
19 Ratings
  1. "This is an outstanding company with great products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Profiles International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best products of their type in the industry with a sales/customer support team that is the best I have ever worked with. If you want to sell the best go with Profiles.

    Cons

    This is commission only job that requires a front end investment and training/travel you must pay for in Waco Texas.

    Advice to Management

    More advertising in business magazines would be useful. Not enough managers know who Profiles is and how they can contribute to a firms bottom line.

    Profiles International2014-01-30
  2. "Always enjoyed it there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Support in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Profiles International for more than a year

    Pros

    Small group of people so we all knew each other. Always had the freedom to do my job without micro management. Management gave the flexibility to do my job as I saw fit.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't the greatest, but the benefits weren't too bad for being a local company. Staffing took a hit with layoffs after the buyout was completed.

    Profiles International2017-10-13
  3. "Strategic Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Manager in Waco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Profiles International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Industry, Products, Training, Coworkers, Website

    Cons

    Salary, Location, Management, Facilities, Lack of advancement

    Advice to Management

    Management by intimidation and threats

    Profiles International2017-09-06
  4. "Great benefits - unsure future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Profiles International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Profiles was purchased by John Wiley & Sons which brought the employees really great benefits. I mean really great.

    Cons

    They have "restructured" several times since the company was purchased - which is normal when a company is purchased. The moral is low and their future in Waco seems uncertain.

    Profiles International2017-08-14
  5. "Assessment Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Profiles International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere Family Atmosphere Family Atmosphere

    Cons

    Silos between depts Silos between depts

    Advice to Management

    Communication was lacking Communication was lacking

    Profiles International2016-09-10
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Profiles International

    Pros

    Smart and friendly people to work with, not a bad place to work

    Cons

    work can be redundant, very silo'd environment

    Profiles International2015-10-04
  7. "Video Production Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in The Colony, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Profiles International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to create videos that were both business, but creative. Equipment was up-to-date and software was too. I had many exciting projects that I put my creativity into.

    Cons

    No room to grow and I was promised that the video side of marketing was going to get bigger and I would receive help. My creative privileges were decreased when company was bought out.

    Profiles International2015-10-08
  8. "Profiles International"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Waco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Profiles International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're looking for a small company this is the place for you.

    Cons

    There is very little chance for a pay raise.

    Advice to Management

    President Bud is very accessable for an upper level exec.

    Profiles International2014-09-25
  9. "Awesome company with multiple opportunities for driven individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Profiles International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great working environment Awesome products Senior Management has a passion for what they do and care about making the company and the people that work for it successful. Great opportunities for those that want to succeed Care about having a world-class client experience for their clients Great potential for the company

    Cons

    benefits could be better, especially sick time. Don't see to be in line with other companies the same size. The environment is not for everyone. Being a sales organization, people who are not driven to succeed could be put off by the management style.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the passion to make the company successful get in the way of developing employees. These employees are the reason the company will be successful.

    Profiles International2014-02-17
  10. "Growing in the right direction - with the typical "growing pains""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Working With Clients in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Profiles International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent product and services. Customer-centric approach to business on the sales and services department. Loyal and dedicated employees with long term experience. Opportunity to learn and grow as you go even if your education level is just a high school diploma; they will train you and train you! In sales and services, several key players are market savvy and others are internally made, a good mixed of experience to offer our clients a range of experience. On going cultural transformation; working hard to move from the traditional family business to a performing organization.

    Show More

    Cons

    Top management internally made; most with limited executive or even management experience. This makes very hard the cultural transformation because some times (even with good intent) they don't see the tree from forest; or worst they stay on the tree and miss the forest! Ego-centric culture at its best! However, they are trying to work on this Family or "brotherhood" blood kills performance. Thus, some key players are not called to give their share while others are hammered with numbers. No problem with numbers here, if everyone is subjected to the same standards. Personnel actions are not well thought out - at least not to the receiver; maybe because of the way they are carried out. i.e. announcements are made before employee has been properly communicated; open about terminations, and hard feelings, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train on cultural transformation and strategic communications. communication is not delivering a message like "broadcasting" Watch your tone when talking in meetings; it something needs to be corrected or improved, be assertive but do not lecture -- you have adults, and most are professional people highly educated -- not your children. Unfortunately, the best intentions are killed when the message is not delivered properly. Treat people with respect - let them know what you think (don't tell others - it is supposed to be confidential) Look at you! your body language needs works - if others notice what you think about other managers, people will be smart enough to take sides (the side they feel is convenient); thus, you will be creating "clicks" instead of building a cohesive team! Especially, avoid gestures such as "rolling your eyes" or "shaking your head" regarding other executives, managers or employees.

    Show More
    Profiles International2014-02-12
Found 29 reviews