Progressive Change Campaign Committee Reviews | Glassdoor

Progressive Change Campaign Committee Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Short term campaign hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee

    Pros

    - Passionate co-workers who believe in the cause of building progressive power - Exposure to people who are experts in their field. A great place for veterans campaigners looking for stable work or those new to politics. - Holistic approach to their work through building grassroots power, electing candidates, championing issues and lobbying policy makers.

    Cons

    - Remote work is not for everyone, especially if you need human interaction that is not over the phone.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2017-04-16
  2. "Short term/Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Progressive Change Campaign Committee

    Pros

    Passionate coworkers, flexibility, working across different departments

    Cons

    Lack of contact with upper management, lack of communication (due to remote work)

    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2018-03-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Severely lacking good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee

    Pros

    You get to work toward some good causes and candidates.

    Cons

    Everyone answers to one of the two co-founders who really don't have time to manage anyone. One in particular often has no respect for their employees' time, to the point where they are making requests at 11pm at night. In addition, many of the plans, ideas, etc. that I was tasked with coming up were never even looked at by management and yet they claimed I never had any good ideas. How is that possible if you never even read what I sent? The place could really use a strong senior management and a chain of command that doesn't leave everything hinging on the co-founders approval, because by the time they actually make the time to give their approval for things, the time to act has passed.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2018-01-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good cause but lacks clear communication from senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A virtual office so you can work anywhere in the world. The organization works on some pretty cool progressive causes. The people I worked with were generally really talented and their commitment to progressive politics was always refreshing.

    Cons

    Contrary to the name, there is no committee that oversees how this organization is run. Everyone reports directly to one of the two co-founders. As a result, their attention is divided. Their priorities changed on a whim and often seemed to contradict each other. Everything was a fire drill, usually scrambling to meet deadlines that were thrust on us sometimes hours before they were supposed to be met. The one founder I worked under gave inconsistent feedback on projects and would assign longer term projects and then would become unresponsive when seeking guidance on those projects until the deadline approached, often resulting in hostile interactions and hastily completed projects.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2017-07-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-paced, unpredictable, good intro to political campaigns/advocacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Fellow in Washington, DC

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Passionate co-workers -Collaborative team environment where it easy to reach most co-workers for help/feedback -You'll be working on diverse array of causes/campaigns, giving you great insight into the political process whether you're new or a campaign veteran -Fast-paced, energetic -- you never know what project you'll be thrown on next! -PCCC is welcoming of people who may not primarily come from a political background -- not a bad first job if you're looking to get your feet wet while bringing in a unique perspective

    Cons

    -While I personally like working from home, the virtual office set-up isn't a good fit for everyone. If you value verbal co-worker banter followed by a post-work happy hour at the nearest office bar, and are unsure about how you'd operate with minimal supervision, -Some things get lost in translation when communicating by chat/phone, and I would have preferred to have been able to ask some clarification questions face-to-face

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2017-04-14
  6. "Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organizer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Progressive Change Campaign Committee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PCCC is one of the most effective organizations in the progressive space. There is a lot of experimentation, both to ensure effective practices are used and to ensure a top-notch team. Unfortunately, some who are not the right fit are not happy to part ways with the PCCC. I've known numerous people who wanted to stay, but ended up leaving after a trial period was over. That can be reflected on sites like Glassdoor. But we are a team with many high-impact people who move mountains together and have a strong track record of changing what's seen as possible. Many say we punch above our weight, and often win. The organization also has great benefits, such as unlimited vacation and great health care and retirement.

    Cons

    The virtual office is a blessing and a curse. Frankly, some people thrive and other very smart and achieving people do not thrive in a virtual office place. Working at a genuinely progressive office place also means that some establishment Democratic offices may be skeptical. (So if you want to work for Joe Manchin, working at PCCC is likely not a good resume builder.)

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2017-02-17
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Big Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee

    Pros

    The perceived pro is working from home. Strong connections throughout democratic circles, well advertised organization. Strong tech team and some travel for certain roles.

    Cons

    Where does one start... Firstly, the perceived pro of working virtually is only as good as the communication is from co-workers and leaders, the Co-Founders. With working virtually, the expectation is that a staffer is constantly working and there is no separation between one's work and their life. Secondly, they absolutely lack an organizational chart and co-founders deliberately resist hiring a leadership team. From this standpoint alone, one should stay far away-- cofounders have no management or leadership experience of their own. One, as stated in various reviews, is outwardly rude, disorganized, and aloof. He lacks the maturity, commitment, and basic ability to lead the organization. Don't bother, really... Thirdly, though the staff come from strong backgrounds, they are unfortunately held back from performing and their creative ideas are not well respected. Turn over is high, pay is low, and happiness/personal confidence is the lowest I have ever seen in the political space (and that's bad, considering politics is tough by nature).

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2016-12-01
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee full-time

    Pros

    * Great, smart coworkers * Usually working for good causes * Paid health care

    Cons

    * Cofounders are toxic employers. The worst managers I've ever experienced but insist on micromanaging every little detail. They do a terrible job of communicating and blame everyone but themselves for the problems that inevitably arise. * One cofounder in particular is aggressive and churlish, one of the least pleasant people I've ever met. * No work life balance, cofounders expect employees to drop everything and attend to their every whim, regardless of time or day. Politics can be like this, but no appreciation is shown for this extra effort and work completed after a series of badgering texts at 11pm on a Friday can go unreviewed for days or weeks. * Leans heavily on underpaid and overworked staff - it might be a working business model, but given their public stances I think most donors would be appalled to hear what it's like to work there. * High turnover leads to huge wastes in training and regaining lost institutional knowledge.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2016-11-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Campaign Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Campaign Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee

    Pros

    Working at the PCCC was one of my most successful experiences in my non-profit, progressive career. The management has high expectations because that's what leads to results and lasting change. I feel like my experience at PCCC changed the way I think about organizing campaigns and helped me learn how vast my skill-set really is. The management has a can-do attitude which really helps a campaigner think about what is truly possible. Unfortunately, there are too many "status-quo" non-profits in DC that stay in the same box for decades...leading to nothing.

    Cons

    Because it is a virtual environment, you have to create your own structure. It's not necessarily a "con" unless you are not used to that kind of environment.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2016-05-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Important work, great people, fast pace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Progressive Change Campaign Committee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting Projects: They range from long-term ones that span election cycles to short term projects that follow the news cycle. The people are great and truly care about the work. The company has a lot of different avenues to pursue-- from digital and/or field organizing to press and lobbying. Upward Mobility: It definitely exists and I saw multiple people jump between or adjust roles/titles to fit their situation. I held 3-4 different titles over 3 years as I worked my way up the ranks. If you can join this organization and work your heart out, you can go from being a seasonal fellow to a field organizer helping a small local race to someone who is trusted with running a six-figure ad campaign or jump start a congressional campaign. Compensation: Good and increased with longevity and experience. They are willing to pay for trainings and fly staff out to events such as Netroots. Training isn't just tactical, and the organizational structure of the company had shifted a couple times while I was there in its attempt to incorporate best practices that management gained from training programs. They encouraged directors/section managers to attend management trainings as well. Entirely remote-office: This allowed for flexibility in living situation and allowed for workers to live around the country. Co-working is encouraged for people who live in the same city, and rent-stipends help pay for home-office space or signing up for membership at co-working offices. Last but not least the organization has great people.

    Cons

    Remote office isn't for everyone, and if you're not located in DC or a city with other co-workers it can get lonely. While there are definitely measures in place to account for the non-normal work hours, there can be prolonged periods when 9-5 flies out the window. If you're someone who thrives on face time with coworkers, Gchat, email, and conference calls are your closest approximation of that until the quarterly or semi-annual retreat.

    Continue reading
    Progressive Change Campaign Committee2016-05-16
Found 14 reviews