Progressive Insurance Claims Supervisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Progressive Insurance Claims Supervisor Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Excellent Culture and Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ethical workplace, embraces diversity. Top woman CEO. Proud workforce.

    Cons

    High stress workplace at times.

    Progressive Insurance2019-07-09
  2. "Love working with the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Supervisor in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people and office are great! Feels like another family.

    Cons

    No balance in claims load between different offices. Senior management seems to only care about the offices in the larger cities. Can't seem to get the claims volume and employee ratio balanced.

    Progressive Insurance2019-04-09
  3. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, casual environment, supportive, wonderful amenities to make work/life balance easier; gym, health clinic, convenience store, cafeteria.

    Cons

    You must be able to work independently to be successful. Management support is there, but autonomy is expected

    Progressive Insurance2018-06-21
  4. "You can make it a career if you want to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in New Brighton, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay is good during the good years with the company

    Cons

    Growth of the company can lead to extra work until more employees are hired

    Advice to Management

    Try to stay ahead of the curve in staffing. Pay attention to the market for job pay and keep ahead of that as well to attract the best employees.

    Progressive Insurance2018-06-16
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Claims Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, gainshare for all employees, comparable benefits in industry. Growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Gainshare is part of your overall compensation plan and is not a guarantee each year, very heavy workload and at times very unreasonable performance expectations, senior leaders tend to be dismissive, very corporate and has lost it's employee value.

    Advice to Management

    Stop dismissing workload with a "claims is claims" position that you don't have to fix. Value your employees that are with you over 5, 10 and 15 years and focus on developing them versus all energy concentrated on new adjusters with high turnover.

    Progressive Insurance2017-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Family away from home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Newington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people, the pay, the constant development and challenges. I love my work family. I am compensated well for the work that I do. My contributions are valued.

    Cons

    Workload. The good and bad part about being the best is constant change and growth. I never have a dull moment.

    Progressive Insurance2017-11-05
  7. "Great place to work! Growing like crazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work environment. Supportive management team. Good benefits and fair pay. A place that you can make your own future

    Cons

    High paced job is not for everyone. Dealing with people at their worst time is difficult. It can be rewarding for the right person

    Advice to Management

    Keep realistic expectations. Trust your employees to do the right thing.

    Progressive Insurance2017-11-12
  8. "Great company to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people, the support I receive from not only my peers but my direct leader, and the pay is competitive!

    Cons

    Not too many- just make sure you pay attention to detail, and are task oriented! If you're not, this job will be a challenge.

    Progressive Insurance2017-03-17
  9. Helpful (4)

    "If you like stats, Progressive tracks EVERYTHING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Supervisor in Colchester, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging and engaging work, good compensation and benefits, competitive atmosphere, promotes almost exclusively from within, open and inclusive culture, offices in all 50 states make it easy to transfer

    Cons

    Organizationally a slave to this month's results which limits ability to see the forest from the trees. Talks a lot about work-life balance but puts it on the employees to find it themselves.

    Progressive Insurance2017-03-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Beware of Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Supervisor in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good health and PTO benefits.

    Cons

    No respect. The workload is unbearable and they expect new reps to work and unmanageable amount of claims with little to no training. Lots of favoritism and back stabbing. There are some really good leaders, but also some that will stab you in the back. All it takes is one thing to get a target on your back and then they start looking for creative ways to terminate you. Look out for yourself. When they suspect you... of doing something they do a half thorough investigation and then just make whatever decision they want.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Dismantle the environment of fear of Sr. Leadership. If you say your an open door company then be that. Stop assuming every employee has some opportunities and actually trust people with what you pay them for.

    Progressive Insurance2017-02-11
Found 20 reviews