Progressive Insurance Sales Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Consultant

Progressive Insurance Sales Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Mayfield Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training that Progressive provides its employees is amazing. They offer great work life balance with schedule flexibility, including work from home opportunities. The benefits are the best I've ever had. They actively encourage you to find your career path in the company, including interview prep with your manager. Everyone wants you to succeed and will go out of their way to help you. The culture is truly... the best.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a busy call center position.

    Progressive Insurance2019-07-06
  2. "Please spare yourself from the wolf in sheep's clothing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance

    Pros

    A paycheck that's always on time.

    Cons

    At Progressive, you'll get worked like a Hebrew slave with little to no regard from them for your actual well being. Sadly, the company says one thing ("we care about our employees," for example) and then does something completely different. In the call center, which involved customer service and sales (as well as other silly departments that basically do the same thing), you're watched like a hawk to make sure... you're "available" as much as possible (~80% with lunch and breaks) to take calls from irate customers who seek to punish you for simply doing your job. PSP (in sales) is by far the stupidest and most meaningless thing I've ever come across. Management is full of phony smiles and high fives as a way of "showing appreciation" and increasing retention, but thankfully some of us see through the cracks. lest I forget, management thinks they're completely untouchable (which unfortunately they are) and seem to get away with things that are, to say the very least, unethical and probably illegal. If you want to be treated like a human being and keep your dignity intact, I implore you to search elsewhere for employment. this company will promise you the world to get you in the door, just to rob you starting on day 1.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    your jobs are meaningless. you've turned what should be a good company into a social club with management and "leadership" bullying employees into forced overtime as well as using unethical practices to influence sales numbers.

    Progressive Insurance2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, good hourly pay.

    Cons

    Scripted phone calls. Treatment is based off your skin color/last name.

    Progressive Insurance2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unnecessarily hard phone interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Mayfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Once you're in you're in. Super easy tp move up in the company, especially right now in this time of huge growth. Most managers are really good, but if you get one that is lazy just to get your entitled raise will be a tedious task.

    Cons

    If you're in sales especially on the phones you are chained to a desk.

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to hire consultants to management positions. Not only the ones that have been perfect, but also the ones who have made mistakes and since have become remarkable consultants.

    Progressive Insurance2019-06-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for if you're higher up the ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Fast paced. Profit sharing. Bug company.

    Cons

    Inflexibility. Stagnant. Overloaded. No work/life balance. Corporate

    Progressive Insurance2019-02-20
  6. "Worked here for 5 yrs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Mayfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay was alright and benefits were good

    Cons

    Not enough room to grow. Very easy to waist time when trying to advance your career

    Progressive Insurance2019-01-13
  7. "Boring job, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay isn’t terrible, flexible time off options

    Cons

    job is boring and monotonous. Little to no brain power used.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of PSP

    Progressive Insurance2018-11-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Ok Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent company with good values. some good bonuses to look forward to

    Cons

    monotonous, boring work. Basically waiting for a call to come through so someone can yell at you about things you cant control.

    Progressive Insurance2018-10-25
  9. "Good environment and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and No Comissions

    Cons

    Hourly no commissions for high rate of sales.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Progressive Insurance2018-09-10
  10. "Pretty good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Mayfield Heights, Cuyahoga, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good. Benefits are good. Hours and good and I worked a set schedule.

    Cons

    Work was tedious. I didn't like being on the phones all day.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more entry level positions outside of the call center.

    Progressive Insurance2018-08-28
Found 23 reviews