Progressive Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 554 of over 4,954 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO

What people are saying about Progressive Insurance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are great and 401k is unbeatable(in 524 reviews)
  • "Pretty good pay for taking calls all day and having a license to take with you.(in 422 reviews)
  • "Great people; I genuinely like the people I interacted with throughout my time w/ Progressive.(in 234 reviews)
  • "Work from home position is flexible with scheduling(in 220 reviews)
  • "Great culture and very family oriented(in 169 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Progressive Insurance and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Company

    Nov 25, 2021 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work options. Servant leadership model. Company as a whole encourages honesty and integrity.

    Cons

    Salaries could be more competitive with more market, but flexibility and work/life balance make it worthwhile.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Caring leadership and great work environment!

    May 28, 2021 - Customer Service Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Gainshare (a.k.a. profit sharing). Work from home. Great pay and benefits. 17 days of PTO in first year. 8 paid holidays. Metrics matter but you never feel as if your job is in jeopardy. Coaching and professional development time is always available. Tons of ways to earn or win extra bonuses and prizes.

    Cons

    Very high stress dealing with customers all day long on back to back calls. A typical day of call volume you'll handle between 50-70 calls of all different natures with only 5 seconds in between calls. You don't sell home insurance but you are required to offer it to customers when the system indicates they are eligible candidates and you have to talk them into being transferred to a home insurance sales person to get a quote. Home insurance transfer metric is the most coached and talked about metric. You will also deal with a high amount of customers who are angry or upset because of their rates and take it out on you. Customers also think they know every facet of insurance and all the laws and they all believe they should have a lower rate, so you will be talking them down off the ledge or off their pedestal a lot. You also have to bid for your shift every year in March, so you're not guaranteed the same shift continuously.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic company to work for

    Nov 13, 2021 - Commercial Lines Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved every minute of working there, and I worked from home. Even though I struggled a bit to learn the insurance information, and am trying to get back there. I loved it all, from training all the way to being on my own on the phones. The people there are amazing and the positive way the company works is by far the best experience that I ever had. They treat you like adults, letting you handle your work/life balance.

    Cons

    None as far as I could tell, other than the information itself. Hard to learn unless you have an analytical brain. But still worth the work.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Ehhhh

    Jul 5, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gainshare, Training (some parts), Culture Diversity, Friendliness of coworkers and trainers, benefits, and work/life balance The CEO is also AMAZING!

    Cons

    First off, let me start off by saying Progressive is a Good company. Training was a bit mediocre but great trainers. Nesting supervisor was NICE but lacked encouragement of growth. I was suppose to have a one on one every week, I would be lucky to get one one time a month. Upon being hired there were things disclosed DURING training was not told to some, such as shift bids. Shift bids are based on tenure and metrics. How well you do in this role is based on the support of your Nesting Supervisor. The sales philosophy is the WORSE! This was the biggest con for me. I felt like a robot. I wasn’t able to be my authentic self. Also pushing HO/ renters. I know selling takes a bit of push but not being able to be myself and being forced to push a product on a customer felt WRONG. I had no problem offering and educating bit I had a MAJOR ISSUE with PHA being a part of metrics.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor work-life balance

    Oct 20, 2021 - Claims Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Gainshare (bonus)

    Cons

    No work-life balance Unrealistic workload Overall negative industry-you are not dealing with people in good moments in their lives, and no day is really a "good day". Outdated methodology and industrial/organizational outlook on employees,

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Almost A Great Company

    Jul 18, 2021 - CRM Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most Progressive Policies, Work-From-Home Opportunity, Profit-Sharing, Discounts, Job Progression, 401k and Stock Option

    Cons

    Health Coverage, Pay Too Low for Workload, Work Life Balance, Work Disruption Policy (i.e. Weather Related Disruptions & Technology Failures) for WFH Employees

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Salary but Over Worked

    Dec 1, 2021 - Claims Generalist Associate in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary Pay Annual Bonus Equipment Provided for Work From Home

    Cons

    4-6 new claims per day, average rolling workload of 80-140 claims at any given time. There are not enough hours in the day to complete work as assigned, leading to "incentives" to work 7 days a week to complete tasks. Work life balance is hard, but individuals who stick it out past a year say you get used to it and make it work. Customer vehicles are totaled more frequently than other insurance agencies from experience with similar damage and no one is ever satisfied with the amounts Progressive is paying.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Underpaid, micromanaged, high expectations

    Sep 3, 2021 - Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, you can take the day off if there is enough reps. They pay for your licenses Work from home

    Cons

    You have to follow a stern sales philosophy that makes you sound unauthentic No commission! You can make twice as much selling cell phones if you are a top performer! (70-90k) Lots of customers struggling during pandemic. Most quotes i had were over 200 (200-400) average. Everyday I would have multiple ridiculous quotes around 600+/mo Customers would tell me they pay half or less with their other company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company, Office Culture can be Toxic

    Aug 23, 2021 - Claims Adjuster Intermediate in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, gainshare, lots of growth and opportunities for careers advancement

    Cons

    Office Culture can be toxic. The Milwaukee, WI office tends to hire recent grads/ young employees who are unattached (unmarried, no kids) A- type personalities. Thereby, creating an environment where employees work well beyond their salaried shift (upwards of an extra 4-5 hours a day) in attempts to get work done. They say they care about work/life balance to the office as a whole, but when speaking privately to employees, will tell them that they are salaried and should work until the job is done, regardless of how long it takes. When you're working claims the job is never done. There is always something to do. Additionally, there is a lot of pressure in the Milwaukee office to be the best in state, so there are double standards in how the Milwaukee reps are evaluated versus reps in other offices in Wisconsin. It is very clear who the managers like and dislike - who they put more pressure on in attempts to push them out to quit.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great culture

    Nov 17, 2021 - Progressive Claims Adjuster in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility with work times , allows time to pick up kids from School

    Cons

    Work life balance suffers with working from home and excessive amount of claims

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 554 Reviews

Popular Careers with Progressive Insurance Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Progressive Insurance? Share Your Experiences

or