Progressive Insurance "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Progressive Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    "Customer Service Analyst - Awesome job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here is so nice, and is more than willing to help you. I had 6 weeks of sometimes intense, classroom setting training and it was so great to start out and be apart of a job that actually cares. They very much rely on values here, which is so awesome. I love it here. The work/life balance is good too.

    Cons

    It can be tough at times, but you have all of your resources there for you.

    Progressive Insurance2019-09-05
  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. This company truly believes in it's employees having a work/life balance.

    Cons

    none what so ever!! Keep up the great work

    Progressive Insurance2019-11-18
  3. "Always changing, always challenging."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, training, people, locations

    Cons

    Work life balance is diffiicult to maintain .

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing.

    Progressive Insurance2019-12-18
  4. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Very good with work life balance, great culture

    Cons

    Had to work nights for a bit to get to a regular day shift

    Progressive Insurance2019-11-19
  5. "Get ready for no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Gainshare is nice when offered

    Cons

    - No work life balance - Management very poor - Slave-driving atmosphere - Understaffed and overworked

    Advice to Management

    The company as a whole has a great mission, however it is poorly executed at the office level. There is a lot of turnover and if you are an efficient employee, you can bet your workload is going to double every time someone leaves. My direct supervisor was very unapproachable and off putting. He constantly told us to talk to him if we need help, only to be ignored or told that he is busy and it will take some time. If your question was addressed, he would talk in circles to assure, if incorrect, nothing would come back on him. After working late and taking on other employees workload I went to my supervisor with concern. I was being efficient and staying late and could not catch up with the workload. His suggestion was “to think about my future with Progressive and if I want to excel I should stay late, work through my lunches and on weekends”. Sorry your company doesn’t care enough about me to spend all my waking hours there! Lots of tears shed from working there, glad to have moved on to a better place of employment!

    Show More
    Progressive Insurance2019-12-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic Environment, AVOID for your SANITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CGI in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are often told by management "be happy you have a job" so Pro is you have a job

    Cons

    This environment is very toxic! I am sure other offices are different but this Silver Spring office is horrible! The management micromanages disgustingly! It is a glorified call center here. -High micromanagement: the injury manager routinely walks by every 30-45 minutes to watch people - there is favoritism especially among tenure - no work life balance (even when you are off the clock you will get assigned work) -working from home is frowned upon -the district manager brings politics into the workplace and makes people feel uncomfortable -rules do not apply to everyone and are made up as you work -the company does not invest in their employees so don't expect any holiday parties, gifts, or anything (customer service week nothing is even given to the employees) -a lot of high school like gossip and cliques here -they are quick to write people up -raises are not given they are earned (they will avoid raises if they can) -in-office relationships are very common -if you speak about your workload to other employees you can get written up -if a favored employee fails to do their work then management will have other staff members do their work rather than have that employee work on it or report them -Managers have relations with regular staff members You are constantly judged for what you don't do rather than praised for any positives.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This environment is very toxic, there are tons of changes that need to be made. Free mental health care should be provided if you expect people to work under these conditions.

    Progressive Insurance2019-12-04
  7. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance GainShare Flexibility Advancement Opportunities

    Cons

    Fast Pace Constant Change Survey Base

    Advice to Management

    Always willing to help

    Progressive Insurance2019-10-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are really nice, and that makes the job cool, and welcoming. You get to work from home after being onsite for 6 months.

    Cons

    This place has so many things they need to improve on its crazy. My best advise for anyone considering this place ask yourself one question: is this place actually better than my current job? If you have a good job, and are thinking of leaving it to come here. DO NOT DO IT!!! this job and the management will stress you out. There is no work life balance because the schedules are bad, and at the end of the day you will be left hating coming here. And because you have to earn your time off it’s really hard to actually get time off without unpaid time or an occurrence. They aren’t here to help you like they want you to believe.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I can’t help y’all. Try doing an honest survey with your current employees. This place is not the best place to work, and people are not as happy as they seem.

    Progressive Insurance2019-11-04
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and work life balance are good overall

    Cons

    Fast Paced work environment overall

    Progressive Insurance2019-09-27
  10. "I love Progressive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster/Generalist in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Work Life Balance, Work Environment, Culture, CEO, Facilities, Time off, Career Development, Room for Growth and Development

    Cons

    There are absolutely no down sides to working for this company.

    Advice to Management

    NONE

    Progressive Insurance2019-09-24
Found 336 reviews