Progressive Waste Reviews | Glassdoor

Progressive Waste Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Waste CEO Dan Pio
Dan Pio
22 Ratings
  1. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service in Hialeah, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Waste for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and holidays off.

    Cons

    Management lacks in holding employees accountable.

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up.

    Progressive Waste2015-11-23
  2. "Overall Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Waste full-time

    Pros

    Great people, solid ethics and strongly developing organizational management.

    Cons

    Not many positions available for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Be more Bold!

    Progressive Waste2015-10-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Probably the best company in solid waste out there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laborer in New Port Richey, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Waste full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being at Progressive for 2 years now I would have to say one of the best parts about this place is that your day is over when you finish the route. There's no waiting for the clock to strike a certain time so you can punch out. You show up do your job and go home.

    Cons

    On the other hand if you get too good at your job and finish early you'll often find yourself getting stuck helping other routes finish.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back help pay so that employees have some incentive to help each other out.

    Progressive Waste2015-10-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Could be great..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Waste full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent industry and a wide variety of positions within the company.

    Cons

    Extremely top heavy, lots of upper management. Very focused on profitability and cost controls but not very willing to provide field level resources to better these areas. Also mid and upper level managers tend to manage up the ladder only really worrying about how they look to "corporate".

    Advice to Management

    Don't spend so much time staring at the page - time should be spent at EVERY location as often as possible so that you may truly see what your employees are up against.

    Progressive Waste2015-09-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Bridgeton, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Waste full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work for.

    Cons

    Poor training, no process to close sales, not concerned with sales reps success. Not a great job if you are a true salesperson and have long-term goals.

    Advice to Management

    Don't manage new employees from behind a desk, assist in development of your people, their time is an investment as well.

    Progressive Waste2015-09-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible service, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Waste full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has a decent compensation plan. Other than that I have absolutely nothing else positive to say about the place.

    Cons

    Management is poorly trained and they don't know how to manage a department. Trucks are constantly broken leaving customers with no service. Sales is blamed for everything and operations is never held accountable for their screw ups which causes reps to lose accounts left and right. Everyone is micromanaged and treated like they are expendable. High rate of turnover. Everyone in the whole office is absolutely... miserable but nothing is done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start over. There is no hope for this company with the current management in place.

    Progressive Waste2015-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "good company bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Diesel Mechanic in Houma, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Waste

    Pros

    benifits and pay are good

    Cons

    night shift alway has more than they can handle. trucks are put on rood at bare minuim to pass dot inspection.

    Advice to Management

    get new shop managers.. upper managemant must not be worried about turn around.

    Progressive Waste2015-09-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Progressive Waste full-time

    Pros

    Can't think of any pros to this job..........

    Cons

    It's a waste of time to work for this company...

    Progressive Waste2015-09-11
  9. "residential driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Progressive Waste full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Management is not concerned with workers

    Progressive Waste2015-07-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trash collecoter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Progressive Waste full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am dedicated to my work very hard worker I'm also a fast learner work at any pace I have a good personality and work good with others never give up and a responsible worker

    Cons

    The only downside is when you do extra work it's no extra money

    Advice to Management

    Basically is to keep prescribing for the best

    Progressive Waste2015-06-19
Found 108 reviews