Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger Reviews | Glassdoor

Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Rewarding experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time

    Pros

    The Walk for Hunger is a fantastic opportunity to activate thousands of volunteers and walkers, helping hungry families in Massachusetts.

    Cons

    Would have liked to see additional investments in tech around user experience for our fundraisers. Overall, solid shop.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2019-10-08
  2. "Great Missiion, Poor Leadership at the time (2016)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Outreach Coordinator 

    I have been working at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time

    Pros

    Great mission and sense of community.

    Cons

    Leadership was horrible, but there have been a lot of turnover since that has been a huge improvement.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2019-05-14
  3. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger

    Pros

    Fun environment for a very important cause

    Cons

    Keep in mind that your spring weekends could be spent working leading up to The Walk for Hunger

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2018-11-05
  4. "A much better place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New leadership has changed everything from what this used to be like. There is stability now. You can feel things getting better. I'm happy I gave it a chance and didn't leave when I thought I would.

    Cons

    You're working harder than ever, but you actually feel like you're working towards something good.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2018-02-08
  5. "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef Educator in East Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Great cause My boss was great I wasn't in the office and worked satellite

    Cons

    Office seemed to have too many politics Attitudes of staff seemed pretentious at times

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2017-08-27
  6. "Campaign Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the staff I worked with were passionate, intelligent, and hardworking individuals. We built a solid team and felt that the walk was a success.

    Cons

    The organization has an unusually high turnover rate. It lacks institutional knowledge of best practices for managing the walk year after year. The campaign Associate is a full time, short term position. This forces the organization to rebuild the development team every 9 months or so. It's not sustainable. There appears to be significant middle and upper management issues. A high turnover rate and infighting... created a toxic work environment for some of the staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your teams. Provide stability and long term employment opportunities for the campaign staff. The organization needs to revamp the culture of the workplace. It has a beautiful and noble mission, the work environment needs to reflect that and keep focused on the mission, not infighting with management.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2017-07-19
  7. "Campaign Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger

    Pros

    Great people, great cause. It seems they are trying to value their employees with good benefits and typically flexible hours.

    Cons

    A lot of practices are in place simply because its the way things have always been done there. There also seems to have been a lot of turnover.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2017-04-03
  8. "Bread Project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Writer in Antioch, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people teaching awesome skills.

    Cons

    There were no job entiries set up.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2017-03-12
  9. "Failure of leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger

    Pros

    PB has a great mission. Great people, great work. The kind of organization you think you want to work for.

    Cons

    The leadership (ED) needs to change. The development of an organization's culture starts at the top and it needs an overhaul.

    Advice to Management

    Change the leadership. People are unhappy. Feeling undervalued. Morale is terrible. A lot needs to change to get this place back on its feet.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2016-02-26
  10. "Development Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger full-time

    Pros

    Great development team environment. Great grassroots history with loyal supporters. Opportunities for professional growth. Willingness to try new ideas.

    Cons

    Walk season is very hectic with a demanding work schedule.

    Project Bread - The Walk for Hunger2016-01-14
Found 15 reviews