KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Proofpoint

Engaged Employer

Proofpoint

Add a Review

Proofpoint Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 705 of over 705 reviews
4.0
77% Recommend to a Friend
Proofpoint CEO Ashan Willy
96% Approve of CEO

Found 19 of over 705 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Proofpoint CEO Ashan Willy
Ashan Willy
28 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Proofpoint and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Proofpoint - A great place to be

    Jun 22, 2015 - Sales in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Proofpoint has a proven technology and it is very nice to have a product that sells itself. There is no competitor out there today that holds a stick to the technology behind Proofpoints various security solutions. The engineering team on staff also knows the products inside and out, and at this point I haven't had a customer stump an engineer. I've been selling technology solutions for many years, and honestly, this company has it right. I do like the direction the company is heading, and the management team takes a hard listen to advice. There are growing pains at Proofpoint, but nothing outrageous, and you can see a vested interests in the success of the employee's at Proofpoint. I can see the vision and direction that management has in place, and with each quarter that passes, many small steps have been taken to assist in not only the success of the company, but the success of the individual employee's. I've worked for many companies, and I have never seen the dedication to the employee that I have seen within this company. I have also made more money at other companies, but I see a career here, where other places that offer more money, are only a job or perhaps a stepping stone. I really enjoy working for Proofpoint.

    Cons

    There are a few tweaks that need to be made, but upper management is aware of these issues, and have a roadmap to fix them. Typical growing pains of a successful company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Proofpoint just screwed their employees by selling the company to Thoma Bravo. Thought they cared.

    Apr 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It WAS an amazing company. Great people! I thought upper management cared.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn’t care and sold the company to a heartless investment company who will layoff 10% of our employees - like they have done with every company they bought. Google Thoma Bravo and get the facts yourself.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Order Management Specialist

    Nov 1, 2019 - Order Management Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, the only positive thing honestly.

    Cons

    Hours during EOQ are ridiculous. So much turn around, not only with OMS but with management. PTO is supposedly unlimited but upper management will put a limit on how much time you can take off. Very poor automation for a tech company, a lot of manual work. Raises are OK. Upper management is not great on giving positive feedback, it feels like they are only focused on negative feedback. CFO referred order management as “picture yourself starting in the mailroom”. Supervisors are nice but do not stand up for their employees; I feel like they are frightened for their own positions if they mention anything that the directors do not want to hear. New director is all about “metrics/calculations”. A “do as I say” style and does not like to be questioned. Very controlling as well. Manipulative in a way that he will come off as being nice but will have a reason to find something negative on how you respond. He watches everyone like a hawk! He will walk around the department to make sure no one is on their phones or web browsing!

    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Abyssmal culture

    Nov 18, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Has good work life balance

    Cons

    -parking situation is a mess -comically frugal company. 6B company that spends money like a 6M company -during team outings YOU have to pay -little to no raises or perks -upper management is clueless to the needs of their employees and detached from them -way better companies out there

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Product but Company has Management/ Sexism Issues

    Aug 30, 2018 - Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Proofpoint has great products, good pay and excellent stock. Most employees are collaborative and solutions oriented. Flexible work schedules and freedom to work from home.

    Cons

    Sexism, abusive behavior and incompetence are tolerated - especially in employees who were with the company pre-IPO. There is a lot of in-fighting and agendas in upper management that is not addressed or resolved. No 401K matching. Company is very no frills with spending and office environment.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Management with poor EQ / ethics and too political

    Oct 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not much to share especially with stock diving down

    Cons

    Management (especially some execs) have no EQ whatsoever and need a lot more training / coaching on how to lead teams. Upper Management (some execs) are too busy micro-managing projects, looking good to their bosses etc, when they could be doing a better job at hiring better people especially at the VP level. The recent VP hires would not even cut it as first line managers at mature companies that have a good culture

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Account Executive

    Aug 20, 2018 - Account Executive in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO knows you by name, fun creative people who work hard together to achieve a better process and culture. company happy hours, availability to travel and visit clients. Located in the heart of the strip district.

    Cons

    Upper management. People have left due to the lack of support and vision among a few select senior leaders. You will leave meetings feeling personally attacked, negative and sad. It appears that some are only worried about protecting their positions instead of working together to get more sales. Just be prepared to truly understand your own role- if you need to fight for deals and territory work with your direct manager and stay on top of it. compensation should be higher compared to industry standards. Reps from parent company sell the same product and make more.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Disappointing

    Sep 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really good technology. Competitive wins against competition. Strong market share

    Cons

    Leadership team is insulated and unapproachable. Upper management too focused on putting money in their own pockets. If you disagree with anything you are out. Too much control put in the hands of Finance. Suffocates the rest of the company.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Account Manager

    May 10, 2017 - Mid Enterprise Account Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Products work as expected, industry leader in email and data protection. Ease of evaluations and quick to deploy make it easy to show the value.

    Cons

    Upper management only focuses on becoming a 'billion dollar company'. Majority of clients have the core products, not many clients need the peripheral services. This was a sales job hidden behind an account manager title. Clients are becoming more price conscious, while PFPT is extremely expensive, getting tough to justify value.

    14 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Sales

    Sep 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome product- cutting edge! Exciting industry to be in. Some really talented folks work here. Decent benefits, people here are very nice and over all the atmosphere is fun and positive

    Cons

    No loyalty to tenured employees. Way too much politics involved with middle and upper management. CFO has too much control over the sales organization which makes for low salaries, in frequent raises and too much red-tape or unneeded hoops to jump through to get things approved. "Unlimited time off" feels like a bait and switch.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Proofpoint Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Proofpoint? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Proofpoint

70 days ago

Culture
Proofpoint recognizes and celebrates our LGBTQIA+ employees. We support them in being their authentic selves. In celebration of #PrideMonth, hear from some of our LGBTQIA+ employees and allies and the diverse skills and unique perspectives they bring to their role and our company in our inaugural blog series during the month of June. #PrideAtProofpoint2022 #LifeAtProofpoint #Proofpoint #Pride #DiversityEquityandInclusion #Belonging
Shared image - Proofpoint Celebrates Pride Month 2022 | Proofpoint US
Proofpoint Celebrates Pride Month 2022 | Proofpoint US
www.proofpoint.com
Logo

Proofpoint

147 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
On #InternationalWomensDay, we joined Dr. Freda Lewis-Hall, a pioneer and leader in medicine, for an inspiring fireside chat. Her story of perseverance and breaking biases was one that resonates with all audiences and backgrounds. #IWD #BreakTheBias #LifeAtPFPT
Shared image
See all

Proofpoint Photos

+ Add Photo
Proofpoint photo of: Shecurity SF Summit 2019
Proofpoint photo of: Thanks to our interns who raised $ for school supplies for Bay Area kindergartners!
Proofpoint photo of: Our Finance and Operations team enjoys a BBQ and picnic!
Proofpoint photo of: Our Operations team enjoys a team BBQ and picnic!
Proofpoint photo of: 2020 New Year Kick-Off Celebration
Proofpoint photo of: Our 2017 Interns enjoying the warm CA weather!
Proofpoint photo of: Proofpoint celebrates its 15th anniversary!
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 705 Proofpoint reviews submitted anonymously by Proofpoint employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Proofpoint is right for you.